We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sailing from San Juan ... this is a fantastic place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Methuen
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sailing from San Juan ... this is a fantastic place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have now stayed at this hotel twice. The first time we were here, we stayed for a week and vacationed in San Juan. The second time we stayed for a couple of days in front of a cruise. The hotel is beautiful, the food great, the beach is on quiet lagoon-like water that (at high tide) laps at the base of the hotel. We found the staff to be particularly accommodating as they went out of their way to accommodate our group (there were 4 couples traveling together). The next time we are in San Juan, we will definately plan on staying here again.

Room Tip: If you can, book a room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anddragonsohmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,017
    2,140
    556
    206
    126
See reviews for
1,693
2,264
166
461
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,866)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel on our anniversary and were not disappointed. After researching town car service from the airport to the hotel (that would have been $75.00), we decided to take a cab. $25.00 (including tip) from the airport to this hotel. Easy peasy.

Upon arrival, front desk clerk (Eric) upgraded our room to oceanside overlooking the pools. 6th floor location. Tremendous view. Eric provided a very helpful packet of info to us regarding local restaurants (near the hotel as well as Old San Juan). Throughout our 6 day stay, the front desk staff and concierge desk were quite simply, wonderful. I'm a Platinum member for Marriott and the entire staff at this Marriott were exceptional - some of the very best we have encountered in our travels.

Our room: Our room had granite countertops and travertine stone in the shower. Balcony overlooking the pools/ocean had two chairs and a mini table. Perfect for my wife and I. King-size bed with mini-refrigerator and programmable safe. In room air conditioning worked great.

Outside Pool Area. The pools were excellent - one is geared for kids (it only gets about 1.5 feet to 2.0 feet deep) and the other pool has a water slide, goes to about 5 feet deep along with a swim up bar. Found the outdoor bars to have great lunch snack food (hamburgers, quesadillas, turkey wrap). Beers were a little pricey, but each day featured some type of special or Happy Hour. Service from the wait staff (Jessica) and the bartender (Joaner) was outstanding. Lots of chairs for sun and lots of chairs for shade.

Outside Beach Area. Loved it. The beach staff goes out of their way to make it easy by helping get your umbrella and lounge chairs set-up for you. The water breaks at the shore - plenty of action for boogie boarding and body surfing. Beverages and food are delivered to the beach. We did see some folks with coolers....

Outside Hotel Area. At least 15 restaurants of varying foods are within two to three blocks of the hotel (on Condado Street). Starbucks is across the street and a Walgreens (with Pharmacy) is a block away as well. Lively street scene and we enjoyed a few meals along this strip.

Outside Hotel Area - Old San Juan. Cab ride to Old San Juan for two people was $15.00 from the hotel and took about 10 mins. For $20.00 (including our $5.00 tip), it was very easy to get over to Old San Juan. Lots of great restaurants (see our reviews of two really good places for dinners/cocktails). For our next trip to San Juan, we plan to spend more time in this area (for all of the shopping and places to eat).

Overall, excellent marks across the board for this hotel.....amazing staff, wonderful pools, excellent beach area and tons of local access.

Enjoy your trip!

Iowa Travel Team

Room Tip: We thoroughly enjoyed a 6th floor room in the smaller building. We overlooked the pools, tops of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IowaTravelTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New Mexico
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We went to Puerto Rico in April 2013. Weather was great. Nice warm winds in the evenings. We are two young 50 yr olds. We stayed in 3 hotels, Marriott Stelarius, St Regis Bahia Resort and the Courtyard at Isla Verde. Our first stay was at this Marriott. The hotel is nice enough but what i liked most was the location and area.

GOOD - Marriott is right on the beach and in the middle of plenty to do, shop, eat, etc.

GOOD - about 100 yards away is a Walgreens or CVS that is open 24 hours! we liked that! we took our trader joe's foldable, insulated carry bag on this trip. So we walked to Walgreens picked up our adult drinks and were set for much of the trip. this helped cut down on our expenses. don't get me wrong we ordered some drinks when we went out to dinner, etc but while in the hotel this helped.

NOT SOOO GOOD - Service at this Marriott is not 100% up to par. In fact i was disappointed with most of my experience. it started right at the outset. we got in late, 11:00 p.m. after traveling all day. when we arrived they put us in a 3rd floor "something" view. It was an average room where the windows had a screen 3/4's of the way up the window - so, no view at all. I am a Marriott Gold member so i was actually expecting an upgrade. The guy at the front desk explained to me that b/c they were at 100% capacity that was all they had left. I thought that was what room assignment was for - for someone to look at guest coming in and then assign rooms accordingly. He was not apologetic and did nothing to try to remedy the situation. Sorry, but as a Marriott Gold member, i am used to being made to "feel" special and it usually starts with check in! Just have to compare this to when we got to the St Regis Bahia (which is another resort we also stayed at in Puerto Rico) i am also a club member and got upgraded to an awesome suite, even though they were at 100 % capacity also. Someone doing room assignment was doing there job! I did contact the manager on duty the next morning and he did move us to a room with a better view. He did seem like he cared and was a lot more customer service oriented. So if you have a problem i suggest you not stop at the service level, ask to speak to a manager. i wish i could remember his name.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank truestoneinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayreville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Me and my wife just came back from staying at the Marriott San Juan for 3 nights. While being a Platinum member, you get access to the Executive Lounge. Well, if you have visited other Executive Lounges, this one was a bit different - you have to pay for beer/liquor and it is not free! The hours are whatever they want to make it - I thought to have some coffee and since it says its open daily from 6a - 10pm, I figured I go there at 6:30a on a Saturday before heading out on our tour, and it was closed. - I ended up going to Starbucks across the street for coffee... the Executive lounge is useless...while the views on the terrace was amazing and top notch, there wasn't much options for vegetarians; they only had seafood for dinner and some nachos on the side (which we ate but wasn't dinner material so ended up going elsewhere). The Marriott itself is very nice - we had a partial ocean view room and the room itself was great.

Also if you plan to stay over the weekend, there is no breakfast on Saturday & Sundays in the Lounge and nor do you get discounts/coupons at the restaurant. For that, we went across the street to Starbucks and grabbed a quick bite before heading to our tours and adventures. There is restaurant that servers breakfast, lunch, and dinner next to Starbucks and there's a Dunkin Donuts nearby to the Hotel as well.

The pool is small compared to many others I have been to, but it was good in its own ways. The beach was okay, but I like Isla Verde beach much better as it was not rough.

There's not that many restaurants at the Marriott so if you want mexican, there is a restaurant not too far called Tijuana's that serves good mexican. The hotel location is perfectly centered with many food options and safe to walk neighborhood.

Overall, we had fun staying at the Marriott, minus the Executive Lounge, and if I do return to San Juan, I will look into booking with the Marriott again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high-floor room for amazing sunset views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hersh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

From the moment we arrived and were greeted with Rum Punch in the check-in line, to the moment we left and were offered a taxi, the service set this hotel apart. The staff went above and beyond to be accomodating and friendly. Even when my husband was accidently parked in a fire lane outside the hotel, the security officer was polite and apologized for asking us to move. Our room was clean and spacious with modern amenities and complementary water bottles provided daily which was a nice touch. The two pools and swim up bar offered a nice haven from the bustling city outside. The only drawback was the price of the drinks at the pool, be prepared!

Room Tip: I suggest a room on a higher floor as the bar downstairs has live music and is very lively.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAlayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel was excellent. You are greeted at checkin by a cool mango/bacardi drink to set off your vacation on the right foot!!! The hotel is very clean, extremely close to the beach, and has an excellent bar (with live entertainment). The casino is well stocked with all casino gaming and multitude of slot machines, and the location cannot be beat.

Room Tip: I chose a ground floor room which led directly to the swimming pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank izzy706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Good Hope, Georgia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was our first trip to Puerto Rico and we booked this hotel based on previous reviews. We were not disappointed. The location perfect, the food was great and the staff was awesome.

I ding one star for two reasons:
- The casino was very small and while we were there "on the weekend" less than 25% of the table games were ever available.
- The bar area in the pool- while the bartenders were friendly the drinks were way over priced and not good. $15 for a 12oz rum punch and they use a pre mix instead of fresh ingredients.

One note: this resort seemed a lot more laid back and relaxed than the Conch or El San Juan. So for relaxation stay here or partying and gambling I'd recommend checking those other resorts out.

Room Tip: We stayed beachfront and loved the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajpeppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.4 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.1 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,663 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,542 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
0.3 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino

Property: San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Address: 1309 Ashford Ave, San Juan 00907-1324, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Juan
#3 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#4 Business Hotel in San Juan
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only five miles from Luis Munoz International Airport, located in the prestigious Condado neighborhood of San Juan in a highly desirable beachfront location only minutes from numerous restaurants and bars.The property boasts 513 spacious guest rooms and 12 suites, most with spectacular Atlantic Ocean views; the 24 hour Stellaris Casino on site, two outdoor pools, two lighted tennis courts and Ocean Club Wellness Center that features a wide array of massages and treatments in addition to the health club.Food & Beverage offerings include La Vista Latin Grill, La Isla Beach Bar & Grill, La Isla Pool Bar, Wan Chai Noodle Bar, Coffee Merchant and the ultra chic Red Coral Lounge.Come and enjoy the comfortand atmosphere of everything this "Caribbean Cosmoplitan Beach Club" has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Marriott, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott San Juan Resort And Stellaris Casino
Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing