We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Ranked #8 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Trumbull, Connecticut,
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great vacation”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We chose the Marriott for the brand and we were not disappointed. Located in the trendy Condado section of San Juan –South Beach’s smaller, less attractive and less pretentious little cousin, the Marriott turned out to have the best beach of the hotels that line the ocean in this section. Be aware the tides are heavy, and these beaches may not be a good fit for children. The room was small, and the bathroom smaller, but this was offset by an excellent bed, shower and towels. The location is great, boasting various shops and restaurants, and a Walgreen’s half a block away that could outfit you quite nicely if you arrived with only the clothes on your back and a charge card. It’s a one stop drugstore, discount store, food mart and liquor store. If you have splurged for an ocean front room with a balcony, request one on a higher floor in the tower building. The ones in the cabana building may have a view of the pool instead. My biggest tip involves the parking garage. Bring a flashlight. The garage is so pitch black, more so in the brightest light of day when the lights are not on, that you cannot even see the door handle to open your door and it’s impossible to retrieve items from the back seat without a light. The driving was not as terrifying as I had been warned, but you will need nerves of steel and to forego the delicious and plentiful rum drinks that start with a complimentary rum punch at check in. Signage and road conditions are poor and traffic from the hotel to the highway is congested – allow an extra 15 minutes to any road trip for this reason.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KarenK26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,169
    2,202
    573
    209
    129
See reviews for
1,772
2,345
177
484
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,928)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We had a 19th floor too with a beautiful ocean view. The room was a bit small, and the bathroom was entirely too cramped (though it had lovely finishes). Housekeeping started early and was loud, to our dismay. Is it really necessary to vacuum the hallway at 8:00 am? Great pool and beach, and a good Lobby bar. Staff was extremely gracious. Nothing to complain about, but I've spent less at other Marriotts (the Kona resort, for instance) and found the grounds and amenities to be superior.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LaVieEnCharmCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Helpful staff, lots of security and attendants, hotel was nearly full, yet staffed handled the crowds well and i never felt like i was waiting. The room service menu could be expanded a bit to include more options since the hotel restaurants do serve additional items. The elevators frequently had puddles of water (ocean? pool? little kids?), and could have used drying more often

Room Tip: corner tower room had 2 balconies -- excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

So glad I picked this resort for our getaway. Checkout was just a short wait. Santos Sanchez is fantastic. If you go, please ask for him . He gave us an ocean view upgrade, and almost immediate check in and we were hours early! He explained everything and really made us feel welcome . The Mariott should give him a raise. I would definitely be back. And it's because of his first impression he left with us. Clarimar the waitress at the isla restaurant was terrific too! She gave us many suggestions on where to visit as well as giving us tour papers! She was super friendly and I think again, wow Marriott really hired two gems!!! We went zip lining at Toro Verde, our guide Jerry was phenomenal. He really gave us a great tour. I had heard of him, and I am glad we were able to book with him, he's tops!!! All in all a vacation to remember!!! I m thinking of planning my next trip soon!! Thank you to all who helped us enjoy this trip!! Lisa P. 4/8-4/13/13

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Risaliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipersville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
156 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This hotel is in a great location. The Condado area is where to stay in San Juan. It is safe to walk around at night or day, lots of good restaurants and places to shop. The location of this hotel puts it in the thick of things and it is only a 10 minute cab ride from old San Juan and located close to route 26- a direct shot to the airport. Rooms are adequate but getting near time for a makeover. Beach is nice and the pools get crowded early- come late- good luck finding a lounge chair. Music can get loud later in the week so stay above floor 3. I like the cabana side on the lobby level. Easier to get to the parking garage and furthest from the music for a quiet night's sleep. However, if you like to workout stay on the other side as the elevator goes straight down to te gym. They have a great gym- very well equipped- so no excuse! Casino is OK- best is in El San Juan hotel in Isle Verde. You lose the sun by 4ish as the surrounding buildings block it out.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

The Marriott is in a great location with spectacular views, has an attentive staff and a vibrant night life. But they made the mistake of using carpet in ocean front rooms and the floor was damp from the balcony door being left open, even on the 8th floor. This wasn't a deal breaker, and the location and view really are ideal, but tile floors would have been the difference between Wow and What were they thinking.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BP77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2013

The staff at the hotel are really helpful and friendly. The room with a city view is ok, the bathroom has a nice shower, but it is quite small for two people. The swimming people is pretty big and clean. The beach is extremely awesome, good small waves if you are surfer, like I am.
I was super happy with the the different live bands at night, good music, pretty entertaining!
The best of all is the hotel location. Condado is a super safe, extremely pretty neighborhood.
I will definitely recommend this hotel, they even let us have a later check out so we could enjoy the beach for another hour.

Room Tip: Get a room with ocean or pool view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fernand01967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.4 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.1 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 48 in San Juan
6,937 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,172 reviews
3.2 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
0.2 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino

Property: San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Address: 1309 Ashford Ave, San Juan 00907-1324, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Juan
#3 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#4 Business Hotel in San Juan
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino 4.5*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only five miles from Luis Munoz International Airport, located in the prestigious Condado neighborhood of San Juan in a highly desirable beachfront location only minutes from numerous restaurants and bars.The property boasts 513 spacious guest rooms and 12 suites, most with spectacular Atlantic Ocean views; the 24 hour Stellaris Casino on site, two outdoor pools, two lighted tennis courts and Ocean Club Wellness Center that features a wide array of massages and treatments in addition to the health club.Food & Beverage offerings include La Vista Latin Grill, La Isla Beach Bar & Grill, La Isla Pool Bar, Wan Chai Noodle Bar, Coffee Merchant and the ultra chic Red Coral Lounge.Come and enjoy the comfortand atmosphere of everything this "Caribbean Cosmoplitan Beach Club" has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Hotel San Juan
Marriott San Juan Resort And Stellaris Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing