We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“What I expected” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey city
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“What I expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Having went to high school in San Juan, I travel there about 2 times per year. However, this was my first time at the Marriott. We stayed over Thanksgiving and chose it because of the great reviews and I wanted to stay in Condado, we usually stay in Isla Verde.

Overall everything was what i expected. I did not find the hotel exceptional, but solid.

Staff: They were helpful, but no one went out of their way per say.

Room: The smallest I have had in PR. I have stayed in the Conrad, Hilton, El San Juan and InterCon. I could barely close the bathroom door, maybe it was just my room - 1022. I will say the shower was awesome and the bed was great. I also liked that we were given bottled water each day.

Pool/Beach: Were fine. There are no umbrellas at the pool, but it has good shade. One pool is shallow and the other is normal. If you are searching for quiet at the pool, just sit on the chairs near the beach.

Restaurants: We did not eat at the hotel. Our favorite is Jam Rum Bar (which I need to review as well) it is down the block on Ashford. We also had tapas at La Concha and ate in other places in San Juan and Lechonarias in the country.

Coffee Shop: Was great, liked it better than Starbucks.

Overall, solid trip. I do not think I would stay there again. Our friends stayed at LaConcha and we spent time there and loved it, so next trip to La Concha it is (unless too pricey) then El San Juan.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Melissa Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCT-DOM-PR, Manager at San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Melissa Y

Let me start by thanking you for choosing to stay at the San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino over Thanksgiving and for trying Condado for a change over Isla Verde. As you know San Juan pretty well, I hope that you found the proximity of restaurants and nightlife all within reach of your location.

Thank you also for your candid feedback on the hotel and it's facilities. It is very much appreciated and we will share your feedback with our associates.

I am disappointed that you don't think that you will be staying with us again but the upside is that you enjoyed the Condado area and spent some time at our sister property, the Renaissance La Concha which is another of the wonderful Marriott International portfolio of properties we have on the Island of Puerto Rico.

If I can assist you in any way when you return to Puerto Rico, please let me know by contacting me at 787 289 5036 or at julian.cable-treadwell@marriotthotels.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,970
    2,117
    549
    206
    123
See reviews for
1,664
2,231
162
459
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,839)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North, NJ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

I am staying here for a long weekend and have to say that this Mariott really "Rings the Bell" I have stayed at the Aruba Mariott many times and have to say that this place is top shelf. I have never met more attentive and friendly staff anywhere. The resort is in a fashionable section of San Juan SI lots of places to eat and shop within blocks. E ocean water is a little rough but the pool is great. The staff really goes out of their way to make you feel at home. This was my first trip to San Juan but I can promise I will be back to this resort.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank NJArubabound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
148 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed here prior to cruising. Perfect location, awesome pool, clean and friendly! I'd stay again. They served punch while we were in line! Great breakfast and coffee and good gym. Our room was a little dated but very clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betsy612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed here a night after our caribbean cruise. We arrived early and were offered to secure our luggage and proceed to the pool while our room was prepared. It took less than an hour for room to be ready. Beds were super soft and comfy, room spacious for 4 of us (corner unit in tower with same view as on the main picture). Pools were full of kids at daytime, but quiet at night. Beach around has waivy ocean influence, not the best beach at the island to swim, but good for walks along the shore. Plenty shops and restaurants around. At night you will hear singing frogs - like birdsongs, just beautiful!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GS3109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Just stayed here four nights. Ocean view room was superb. In-house restaurant was excellent. (Try the grilled Mahi-Mahi and Grouper.) Service was impeccable and the staff exceptionally friendly and willing. Location was perfect: a short taxi to Old Town and walking distance to many restaurants. Pool was fine and the beach was wonderful. But...the sea can be quite rough and the shore drops off quickly with currents that can be tricky. There is no lifeguard so while the sea can be enjoyed, one must be careful and keep a close eye on others in the water. I saw one woman struggling to get back ashore who had to get assistance to make it.

Room Tip: Take a beachfront room on a high floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rockvilleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, IL
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Our family stayed here for one night prior to a cruise at the end of November in a Partial Ocean view room. Very clean room with comfortable beds and access to restaurants in Condido. The front desk was very helpful in recommending restaurants and answering questions. We checked our luggage with the bell hop while we went to El Morro and then came back and used the pool before checking into our cruise even though we had already checked out of the hotel. We asked the front desk about this and they said it was perfectly OK. They really go out of their way to make sure your stay is a good one. My son really enjoyed the pool but the waves in front of the hotel make it impossible to swim safely. We walked down the beach 100 yards to a cove to calmer waters to swim and body surf. We ate breakfast at Pinky's just 5 minutes down the street... highly recommend! Great breakfast and won't break the bank.

Room Tip: Go to Pinky's for Breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lhdive1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia,CT
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Great hotel in Condado. Rooms were beautiful, clean and had nice perks like bathrobes, slippers, and Bath and Body toiletries.We had 2 16th story rooms with balconies and both city and ocean views, Loved being able to walk to many restaurants and shops, easy cab or bus to Old San Juan. Great concierge service and wonderful hotel staff. Everyone is happy to help make your stay enjoyable and always smiling. Beach area is beautiful but does not get much afternoon sun because of the location. Great beach chairs and umbrellas. Nice 2-for-1 happy hour at the beach bar. Otherwise, drinks are expensive as in all of San Juan. Only had snacks (very large) at the beach bar and were very good. Nice gym with good amount of equipment. Felt comfortable having my teenage daughters walk around hotel area alone. Great hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele0911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.4 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.1 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,560 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,481 reviews
3.2 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
0.3 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino

Property: San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Address: 1309 Ashford Ave, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Juan
#3 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#4 Business Hotel in San Juan
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only five miles from Luis Munoz International Airport, located in the prestigious Condado neighborhood of San Juan in a highly desirable beachfront location only minutes from numerous restaurants and bars.The property boasts 513 spacious guest rooms and 12 suites, most with spectacular Atlantic Ocean views; the 24 hour Stellaris Casino on site, two outdoor pools, two lighted tennis courts and Ocean Club Wellness Center that features a wide array of massages and treatments in addition to the health club.Food & Beverage offerings include La Vista Latin Grill, La Isla Beach Bar & Grill, La Isla Pool Bar, Wan Chai Noodle Bar, Coffee Merchant and the ultra chic Red Coral Lounge.Come and enjoy the comfortand atmosphere of everything this "Caribbean Cosmoplitan Beach Club" has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott San Juan Resort And Stellaris Casino
Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing