We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ocean Park - Beautiful Beach!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Park Beach

Ocean Park Beach
Ranked #14 of 195 things to do in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The most popular of San Juan’s beaches is also the most lively.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
236 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Ocean Park - Beautiful Beach!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Ocean Park Beach is a beautiful beach just a short ride from Old San Juan. The beach is clean, but can sometimes be too windy to sunbathe. Great waves for surfing, but can be a bit rough if you're just wanting to get in the water to swim and cool off, especially for children. You'll find local vendors selling boogie boards and lounge chairs to drinks and snacks and souvenirs! We were told to keep an eye on our belongings, especially if we left them to get into the water!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank edenl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    212
    66
    10
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
litchfield
Level Contributor
108 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Wide sandy beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

In Isla Verde there is a section of the beach called ocean park. This area provides easy public access. The sand is fine grand and off white. The water slopes gradually into deeper water. The waves offer some possibilities for some body surfing. In this area, the adventurous can take some kite surfing lessons.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank cleo1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gause, TX
Level Contributor
234 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Average Beach”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

Ocean Park beach is probably a couple of miles long but not very wide. In fact, it is only about 10 feet wide at high tide at its narrowest point. The sand is not white, but was clean. Lots of rocky outcrops in the water - some you can see and some that come as a surprise. Take your beach shoes!

Overall, very pleasant, but nothing out of the ordinary.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great beach for the day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Found Ocean beach to be delightful. Great strong waves, walking vendors who are offering cold water or beer and Spanish delights.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mythoughtscount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Very laid back - just as I like it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

I spent a night at the Numero Uno Guest House and ate at Pamela's on the Beach. I really do wish I could have stayed for longer! As I recall, Ocean Park Beach is a great beach set back in a rather residential area - its absolutely lovely

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TeddyN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Park Beach also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Ocean Park Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing