We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Beach Where the Locals Go”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ocean Park Beach

Ocean Park Beach
Ranked #13 of 200 things to do in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The most popular of San Juan’s beaches is also the most lively.
Wewoka, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
381 reviews
179 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“Very Nice Beach Where the Locals Go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed on Ocean Park Beach in Hosteria Del Mar hotel. The beach is wide and clean and had very few people during the week, great waves but nothing this 50 year old couldn't handle. On Sunday all the locals bring their families for picnics, swimming, games and fun. We had a great time here and hope to come again soon. Would highly recommend a visit if in San Juan...very pretty!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pednurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    217
    66
    10
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“GREAT secluded beach location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Ocean Park is located in an interesting slice of the beach in between Isla Verde and Condado. We went in early September, so after the peak traffic hits the beach. I was a little concerned we'd find a partially trashed, 'well seasoned' beach, but what I found instead was a pseudo-Caribbean diamond in the rough. Super wide/deep beach, a little bit of seaweed, but otherwise a fantastically accessible location. It helped that we were walking distance to the water from our house, but we would have driven here as well. We spent several days of our trip just laying on the beach and, despite the occasional friendly unleashed dog, were very relaxed/comfortable here. We will definitely be back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
150 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“One of the nicer beaches in San Juan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

This public beach (all beaches in PR are public) is a very pleasant strip of white sand and warm Carib water (we went early Spt). The waves were mild (compared to Condado beach, where we could not swim) for more pleasant swimming. You can enjoy a beer (a man walks around selling beer/water/ice cream) and even bring a dog, there were quite a few. Some of the best empanadas ($3) are sold on this beach! Of course, you can bring a cooler with your own drinks and food. Go early to get a better spot because the locals come around in the afternoon/mid-afternoon. The beach is patrolled by the local police all the time and is safe, but of course it is advisable to protect your valuables. The locals are quiet and very respectable, no noise or craziness. The downside is that there are no amenities if you are not staying in a hotel nearby.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank blackslon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cidra, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Beautiful Strip of beach behind ocean front properties. With vendors providing food and beverages, there was no need to leave our paradise. We had a wonderful day.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hard2pickanick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Croatia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ocean park beach were totally amazing!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

The ocean park beach esp. the board walk was totally fun we njoy a lot of sun..white sand beach & crystal clear water...the restaurant by the beach offers a lot of fantastic local seafoods..

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sheky732013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Park Beach also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Ocean Park Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing