We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nicely preserved and worth a look!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Juan National Historic Site

San Juan National Historic Site
Book In Advance
More Info
$135.00*
and up
El Morro Jetski Tour
Ranked #2 of 195 things to do in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Constructed to defend the San Juan coastline during the 17th and 18th centuries, this dramatic fortress rises 140 feet above the sea on a rocky promontory, and is composed of six huge levels of ramps, barracks, dungeons, turrets, towers and tunnels.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
176 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Nicely preserved and worth a look!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

The admission may be $5 but it's well worth the price. I spent almost an hour there but what I saw was a real treat. The signs explaining each section was a worthy history lesson, with the artifacts on display adding to the value.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank woodulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,879 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,361
    1,342
    161
    4
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A must see for history enthusiasts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

If you are interested in Puerto Rico's history and fortresses, you should definitely leave the beach, take a taxi, and explore the castles and fortresses. When the cruise ships docks in you can see this monolith on the cliffs looking over the ocean. The tour guides will give you a thorough history lesson about the purpose of these fortresses and it's pivotal role in winning the wars for King Phillip. Make sure you pack some water, and if you do not have any, they have stores where you can purchase some. The view on top is amazing. A definite thing to do if you are in San Juan, Puerto Rico.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank seekatsworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Summer 2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

Heavenly! I kicked backed and sat on the lawn and enjoyed the breeze. We toured the both Castillo Morro and Cristobal. We toured the tunnels, even though I'm a little claustrophobic.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank LaTanya J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
141 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A day for kite flying :)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

After a week cruise to the Virgin Islands, we decided to stay for couple of days in Old San Juan. The ship arrived Sunday . After eating lunch, we decided to check out the nearby attractions. The place was walking distance from Sheraton Hotel and it was a gorgeous day. Temp was in the 70s, windy and view of the port and sea were gorgeous. You can see that the culture is about spending time with family. Lots of kite flying and family picnics, soccer playing and kids playing.We took a lot of pictures and started visiting the shops nearby. We also stopped to try their ice cream in small carts and just spent some time sitting in benches in front of the fountain.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ciennalexa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Ok
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Loved this site!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

We loved visiting this site. Not only is it interesting, but the park service hasn't made modifications like fencing, railings, etc., to get in the way of the original look. This was awesome!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank sfranklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Juan National Historic Site also viewed

 
El Yunque National Forest, Puerto Rico
 

Been to San Juan National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing