We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The History Is Amazing”

Cathedral of San Juan Bautista
Book In Advance
More Info
$66.00*
and up
Old San Juan Deluxe Walking Tour
Ranked #10 of 201 things to do in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Built in 1540 and the site where the body of Ponce de Leon is entombed, the the Catedral de San Juan is an authentic and rare New World example of medieval architecture.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
1,040 reviews
579 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 429 helpful votes
“The History Is Amazing”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We wanted to walk around Old Towne during our shore visit from our ship and the Cathedral was a must see. It was a nice stroll up from the ship but, well worth the time. There is history everywhere you look. The statues on the side altars were amazing and just as I thought they should be from the period. Photo opps abound. Take the time to walk around and see all the sides altars. The wooden baptism font is incredible. Due to the age there is a lot of repair going on so you won't see a bright shining church. Just try to understand what's going on and what the parishioners are having to endure.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    606
    405
    154
    15
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chantilly, Virginia
Level Contributor
221 reviews
131 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Pretty cathedral”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This cathedral does not compare with the great European cathedrals but it is quite charming. It is worth popping into as it is close to the art museum. I would not go out of my way to see it but it is worth seeing if you are in the area. It is very small and you can see it all in about 15 minutes.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sushila N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, WI
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Silence was Not Observed”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

The cathedral was amazing...lots of artifacts and amazing history to soak in. Many locals seemed to be just hanging out with screaming children. Totally disrupted the beauty and sanctity of the cathedral. A nice stop if walking from one fort to another.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank W_MOshkosh_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice to see, if you're in the area”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Our hotel was within walking distance of the church, so we had to take advantage and see it. As we walked into the entrance, we were greeted by a woman who didn't speak English, but she pointed us to a table with some literature. Unfortunately, they didn't have mass while we were visiting San Juan, but we did at least get to see the beauty of the inside. Didn't know that Ponce de Leon was entombed there, until after the trip, but that is cool.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irmo, South Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We looked forward to seeing the cathedral due to its age and history. We were disappointed to see that the building was in disrepair: broken glass, broken windows, and pealing paint.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cathedral of San Juan Bautista also viewed

 

Been to Cathedral of San Juan Bautista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing