We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely a must see! ”

Chapel of Christ the Savior (Capilla de Cristo)
Book In Advance
More Info
$45.00*
and up
Fountain of Youth Tour of Old San Juan
Ranked #23 of 201 things to do in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A small 18th-century chapel with a fascinating history.
Level Contributor
120 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Lovely a must see! ”
Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

Pretty little chapel. I've never seen it open. You'll see it at the end of the street, nice walk. As you approach the front, to your right is the famous Pigeon Park. Give the guy there a buck or two for cracked corn and feed the birds. My wife loves this.

Helpful?
Thank Critic53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    109
    43
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San German
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The smallest in the world”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Quaint little chapel constructed as paiment to a life saving promise from a Spanish horse rider. Close to Fortaleza and Parque de las Palomas.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank A2Tiempos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
96 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Since I was young I have never seen it open, only the outside but this year during Holly weekend it was open. It has a beautiful collection of small silver pieces and the chapel inside looks like it was a portion of a painting in the Sistine Chapel and placed a top the wall of the city overlooking the bay.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ladydemona2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellfleet, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Make your way to this.”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

After 4 visits to Old San Juan, it had the gates open. I've been there when I thought they were to be open, but no luck.This time it was Sunday around 2pm. and there was a carnival ship in. Inside has framed history and a silver alter with kneelers in front of it. I purchased some things to help support the small chapel and kicked in a little more into the collection box. I hope more people can experience this special place as well.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank kayshal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
104 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A "must see" in a "must see" city”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The Chapel of Christ the Saviour (Capilla del Santo Cristo de la Salud) is one of the must see in Old San Juan. FIlled with history and legends, it is one of the most emblematic monuments in this historical city. If you are lucky enough, you might be able to visit a day when the chapel is open and will appreciate up close the silver-covered altar.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MiguelLVargas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chapel of Christ the Savior (Capilla de Cristo) also viewed

 

Been to Chapel of Christ the Savior (Capilla de Cristo)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing