We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Private Getaway”
Review of Palomino Island

Palomino Island
Book In Advance
More Info
$182.00*
and up
Sunset Sail and Snorkel Adventure from San Juan
Ranked #8 of 201 things to do in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A private island where Wyndham El Conquistador guests are often ferried for more water activities.
Centerburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
150 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice Private Getaway”
Reviewed March 9, 2012

My husband and I just returned from the El Conquistador which is now a Waldorf Astoria Hotel. On our first day while we waited for our hotel room, we took the hotel catamaran to the island. The staff on the island was very friendly and supplied us with beach towels and there were plenty of lounge chairs waiting. The beach was nice and white and the water was tourquoise blue. Occasionally, an Iguana would wander by. We brought our snorkeling gear but found that this was not a good place to snorkel as the water was a little cloudy and there was not a lot of marine life to be found. The island is equipped with a restaurant and bar, nice bathrooms, a giant chess board, corn hole, horseback riding and wave runners (for a price). The El Conquistador is a beautiful hotel and very much recommended. Bring water shoes if walking in the ocean.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank ScenicWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    412
    122
    34
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
peabody, ma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“And Palominito is even better!!”
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We grabbed a local fisherman that took us to Palominito early AM. We camped in the island for 2 nights. The fisherman was nice enough to bring us coffee and warm bread+pastries every morning! Talk about trust. We gave him cash every day, and he would show the next am. Anything we needed he would go to mainland to get. The experience was amazing. We were the only ones on the island.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
9 Thank velozm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabela, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One boat ride!”
Reviewed February 14, 2012

This an amazing little island,in sea a chain of islands thats keep going till Venezuela.

Helpful?
1 Thank Aralex_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, Delaware
Level Contributor
183 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Nice time had by all!”
Reviewed February 14, 2012

The weatehr and lack of tourist made the visit great. Must have been an off time as we had no competition for anything. How can you argue with perfect weather on a carribean beach and no one to get in your way.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Raymond A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A great beach”
Reviewed February 9, 2012

While it is somewhat of a pain to have to take the ferry over from the El Conqustador Hotel in order to relax on the beach, it is tempered by being a great place with everything needed to have a good time.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank YL-vanisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palomino Island also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Culebra, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Palomino Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing