We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picture perfect!”

La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina
Book In Advance
More Info
$62.00*
and up
Walking Tour of Old San Juan
More Info
$40.00*
and up
Old San Juan Walking Tour
More Info
$103.69*
and up
Old San Juan Segway Tour
Ranked #49 of 204 things to do in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors can take guided tours through this World Heritage Site, a 40-room mansion completed in 1540 that was used to defend against foreign invaders.
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Picture perfect!”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is the governor's house in PR. Is located in Old SJ close to Capilla del Cristo and el Morro. Places that can't be missed if you are visiting the island.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Pajarillos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    55
    16
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clemson, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
440 reviews
257 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Only viewed from outside”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We did not take the inside tour but the outside of the building is attractive. Overall I think this is a nice area to stroll to as you wander the old city.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank imdarkside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,454 reviews
861 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 858 helpful votes
“Interesting walking”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Great walking around and looking at all the colours, buildings and architecture. Very interesting. Heaps of shops, small boutique hotels and restaurants. Very quaint and charming. Take time to explore all it has to offer without rushing.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tweetcoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Impressive!”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I lived here for over 20 yrs before someone talked me into taking the tour, and boy was I surprized! The grounds, fountains, tapestries, elegantly appointed great room were truly impressive, and the tour was friendly and informative. Do it!

Helpful?
5 Thank SanJuanExpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great fort!”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We were there on MLK Day and it was free! The fort is truly amazing and what piece of history. Best part of our trip by far!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Thebeachiscalling45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina also viewed

 

Been to La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing