We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Only viewed from outside” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina

La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina
Book In Advance
$65.00*
and up
Walking Tour of Old San Juan
Ranked #45 of 184 things to do in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors can take guided tours through this World Heritage Site, a 40-room mansion completed in 1540 that was used to defend against foreign invaders.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
327 reviews
200 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Only viewed from outside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We did not take the inside tour but the outside of the building is attractive. Overall I think this is a nice area to stroll to as you wander the old city.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank imdarkside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    44
    12
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1,070 reviews
623 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 708 helpful votes
“Interesting walking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Great walking around and looking at all the colours, buildings and architecture. Very interesting. Heaps of shops, small boutique hotels and restaurants. Very quaint and charming. Take time to explore all it has to offer without rushing.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tweetcoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Impressive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I lived here for over 20 yrs before someone talked me into taking the tour, and boy was I surprized! The grounds, fountains, tapestries, elegantly appointed great room were truly impressive, and the tour was friendly and informative. Do it!

Helpful?
5 Thank SanJuanExpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great fort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We were there on MLK Day and it was free! The fort is truly amazing and what piece of history. Best part of our trip by far!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Thebeachiscalling45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, NJ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Combine with the other Fort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Go between the two forts and you will really get a feel for the historical significance of your location. The walk around the exterior of Old San Juan through the old city gates, and past the beautiful fountains. It is not to be missed

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing