We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible experience! Waste of money!”
Review of Hosteria Del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hosteria Del Mar
Ranked #16 of 30 San Juan B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 29, 2011

(Take a look at the photos)
We are really sad in writing this feedback but it’s important to let people know in order to prevent them of having the waste of money of their life. We pay $180 to stay for 2 nights in a beachfront room. The room was small, smelly and the shower had only cold water. We complained about our need of hot water and the front desk lady told us that they had solar and electrical heating system and that they will check on that, which never happened because the next day another lady working at the front desk told us that the heating system was broke a LONG time ago, and that only a few rooms in the hotel had hot water. (They also told us that there was nothing they could do about). Later on we acknowledged that electric plugs didn’t work either so there was no way of blow drying hair, recharging cell phones, etc. After complaining a third time for all the things that went wrong in our room, we asked to be moved on another one (expecting it to be as nice as the one we pay for). This one had hot water and electric plugs worked well, but the room and bathroom were dirty and in need of an overhaul. The fixtures in the bathroom were rusted, even the bathtub. Definitively they gave us one of the worst rooms after paying that much for a beach front room. It was also very noisy and dark because it was located in a hidden area of the hotel were the only view you got was a huge dirty wall.

About the food we found it average. Waitress Maria was excellent and after knowing our entire situation, she took good care of us during dinner.
There was no parking area. We had to park the car in the street and there was no security at all.

We will never recommend this place. There are other more beautiful places to stay in the area of San Juan. If the hotel offers you to stay for $50-$60 per night, then go ahead and stay. The beachfront rooms are nicer but the whole experience was so bad that there is no way we want people to visit our island and live such a bad experience as we did. It’s saddest for us to have the worst experience by far in our own island. We like to travel a lot and this situation never happened before in any place we’ve been. (LOOK AT THE PICTURES)

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AmandaRivera147322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 409 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2011

Beautiful place from which you enter the hospitality shown to start at the check in very friendly Edgardo take care of everything and take are bags very gently . gladys at night sweetness helped us to choose a place to walk that night. Calvin then when we got late at night very kindly gave us ice. In the morning Karely was exepcional helped us by calling our airline to see if our flight was underway and was half an hour on the phone checking and did not care excellent service from front desk team. spectacular restaurant food thanks we spent a lovely stay thanks to this great team..I coming back this year and i hope to see you all.

Room Tip: 2nd room are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephanie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

My wife and I are from new yourk , and plan on getting engaged in San Juan. We found Hosteria Del Mar.We decided to travel to San Juan and see it for ourselves. We stayed at Hosteria is a realy nice place to stay in. the lady from de front desk (gladys) is realy nice she help me with everything also she speak realy good english. worth the money for the stay.

Room Tip: the oceans view are the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Beautiful beachside boutique hotel with great views and modern decoration. My favorite part about this hotel is definitely the restaurant, UVA. I recently visited UVA to attend a friend's birthday party. We had a huge party, about 15 people or more. The food was just phenomenal! I can't recall what everything was called, but we rolled out of there stuffed and happy. My husband had the rib eye dumpling as an appetizer and he said it was the best dumpling he has ever had. The plating was beautiful too. The service was quite good. We brought our toddlers as well and the staff was super nice about getting us extra napkins and utensils. They even made some chicken tenders that my children devoured! For a small seaside restaurant, the food and experience surpassed my expectations. I would definitely come back for more!

Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
2  Thank FLMomandAttorney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

My fiancé and I are from the states, and plan on getting married in San Juan. We found Hosteria Del Mar and a couple of other venues to choose from for our wedding. We decided to travel to San Juan and see it for ourselves. We stayed at Hosteria (The end of September) for our stay. The hotel is beautiful! Our room was one of their Ocean front rooms, and you have access and a beautiful view of the beach. We would wake up, and walk out to the beach front restaurant and have breakfast; it was so convenient and delicious. The bartender (Gabriel) makes great drinks; the staff is great and very attentive. I have no complaints about this hotel in fact we will be getting married here in March! I can’t wait :-)

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank msmarsha310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

My hubby and I stayed here for 3 nights to celebrate our 10-year anniversary. Lovely place with a great staff. Very eclectic and casual, quiet during the day, which is what I wanted. I was trying to avoid the hustle and bustle, and we found that here. It is right on the beach - I walked out my back door and took 10 steps to hit sand, another 20 steps to water. Great beach, not very busy.

The room was basic - good bed, nice TV, bathroom. Some reviews mentioned no hot water, and we noticed it was never "hot", but it was generally at least warm. It didn't really matter since the temps were in the 80s. Definitely not a fancy room, but charming and practical and met our needs.

The restaurant serves the best coffee! We had breakfast one day and dinner another, and the food was excellent. The bar made great drinks and offered great service. Speaking of service, Edguardo, the front desk clerk who apparently never gets a day off, was top notch. He arranged tours for us, called cabs, took care of beach towels...anything we needed. He is worth his weight in gold.

At night the place livened up quite a bit with the dinner crowd and loud Caribbean music, but I didn't find it bothersome at all. In fact, our room was right beside the restaurant, and even with the music and diners, never had a single problem getting to sleep at night. And I'm a country girl, who can't sleep with "city noise" in the background. This was "Caribbean Beach Party" in the backdrop, and it was just fine.

The trade-off here: cost of cabs. It was $10-$20 each way to get to downtown San Juan or Old San Juan, depending on the whims of the cab driver. We could have ridden the bus for $.75, but were more comfortable using cabs.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms give you easy access to the beach, but the back door opens up right into the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Gladys was very friendly and helful. Great customer service! The only thing that wasn't perfect was the shower temperature never got completely warm. Everything else was great!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miriam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
2 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
2.2 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#20 of 47 in San Juan
828 reviews
0.6 mi away
At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 47 in San Juan
974 reviews
4.4 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 47 in San Juan
232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#3 of 30 in San Juan
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Del Mar

Address: 1 Tapia St | Ocean Park, San Juan 00911, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan
Price Range: $145 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hosteria Del Mar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
**Due to Hurricane Maria, Hostería del Mar will be temporarily closed until 11/30/2017. However, our restaurant UVVA is currently open to the public!** Hosteria del Mar is located on the beach in one of San Juan's top touristic spots. Our ocean front rooms have an unforgettable view to the sea. All rooms have air conditioners, cable TV, Mini Bars and private baths. Try our breakfast, lunch and dinner at UVVA Restaurant where you may enjoy a unique gastronomic experience of local and International cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hosteria Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Del Mar Hotel San Juan
Hosteria Del Mar San Juan
Hosteria Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing