We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Numero Uno Guest House
Ranked #13 of 29 San Juan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed at Numero Uno for 3 nights and had no problems, staff was friendly and helpful and could give us great directions for getting around town. Right on the water, perfect beach get away, close to things but far away enough to be relaxing, fantastic restaurant. Would love to stay again at the Guest House

Room Tip: just ask, they will describe what they have. Have a nice first floor room with easy access
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TwoTravelers123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    112
    38
    17
    16
See reviews for
31
204
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Snohomish, Washington, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

The rooms here were comfortable, nice, and included all of the necessities for a hotel room. The service here is great! The atmosphere is so relaxed and yet you have great service when you want it. I love that locals are with you on the beach and that the Guesthouse only has 12 or so rooms. We will defiantly return. I would loved to been able to order breakfast from the Restaurant, maybe that has changed. Restaurant you can eat in or out side very good food for Dinners.

Room Tip: Room 7 is on 2nd floor and has a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I recently had an extended stay at Numero Uno Guest House. I was in house from mid June until mid August. The location is beyond compare. The Guest House is situated ON the beach in Ocean Park. The beach is a favorite of the locals, so you know you are in the right spot! Several ameneties such as restuarants, grocery, pharmacy and laundry are within close walking distance. I was able to experience Noche de San Jauan, a local custom, mixing with thousands on the beach, or from my perch on the balcony. It was an experience! Fourth of July on the island was also unforgettable. With the addition of Pamela's, a fabulous restuarant on site, it can't be beat. The entire staff from the approachable owner (Esther), to the front desk (Yahrianna & Robert), the waitstaff (Juan, Pedro, Adrianna, Jose, Billy and Michelle + others) not to mention housekeeping was professional, attentive and insightfull. Less I forget, the cabana service provided by David was also 5 star. If i forgot anyone I sincerely apoligize. I was able to easily mix business with pleasure in a comfortable, relaxed, secure atmosphere. The apartments which are adjacent to the property are also available with kitchenettes. #17 being my favorite. All of my future stays will be with The Numero Uno Guest House! No more visits to Ponce for me...

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Headk70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

The location can't be beat, right on the beach in the middle of Ocean Park. Locals come here, entering the beach from the street adjacent to the guest house. We saw families and young people, everyone respectable. Then neighborhood is a mix of restored 1940's art-deco casas and unrestored or abandoned homes. It felt safe within the neighborhood, though the main boulevard is kind of seedy. We felt safe enough to walk to Mango's restaurant (good food) and an exceptional bakery a few blocks away. There is also a Walgreens within walking distance, and we went there for beer, sodas, and chips for the beach.

When we first arrived I was a little concerned about the locked gate entry and the tiny reception hut inside, with no lobby. But then I discovered that the lobby is upstairs with a balcony view of the beach. I spent several hours there reading, drinking coffee, and watching the para-surfers.

The young lady working at reception was cheerful, polite, and helpful. The attendant at the beach was prompt about offering to set up chairs and umbrella for us, and was protective of our teenage girls, telling them "if any boys come bother you, tell me and I will make them go away."

Continental breakfast was provided. Choices were cereal, toast, and small assortment of pastries and muffins. No protein. I didn't check, but I think a full breakfast can be ordered.

The rooms were adequate appointed with typical 'Caribbean style' of tile floors and plaster walls. We had room #1, next to the entrance and pool, and #2 down a walkway. #1 is a spacious room, #2 is a little small, with the bed pushed against the wall, you can't walk on both sides. #1 has a spacious zero-edge shower which was cool, though the grout needed a good deep-cleaning. The bed was very comfortable. There are no views from the 1st or 2nd floor rooms, but this wasn't really a problem for us. The 3rd floor is a separate casita, and their large balcony is for their use only.

Our flight was not leaving until 5:15pm, and they were helpful by letting us to continue to use #3 until 2:30 pm, so that we could stay and enjoy the beach and shower afterwards.

We booked 2 months in advance, and got the last two rooms available. I chose it because it had a pool, was right on the beach, had a restaurant, and was a boutique style guest house instead of a large hotel. It isn't luxurious, but it was comfortable, safe, and convenient. We would definitely stay there again. I gave it a "5" rating because I thought it was an excellent value for it's price, not to be confused with a 5-star luxury hotel rating.

Room Tip: #1 is spacious, convenient to everything. Noise was not a problem. #2 has bed pushed against wall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ExcellentAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle, Minnesota
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

The rooms here at this guesthouse were comfortable, nice, and included all of the necessities for a hotel room. The service here is great! Juan made great recommendations, David gave great service on the beach! Thank you to everyone from the front desk to housekeeping for making our stay lovely! We hope to be back again sometime!

Room Tip: Take a room on the beach side...you'll be able to see the beautiful sunsets even if you not outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShellNuva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
129 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We looked long and hard to find a small hotel on the beach. Numero Uno was perfect. (Well almost perfect.) The rooms are clean and modern. The beach is big and wide and great for swimming or just people watching. At first I was concerned that there would be noise from rowdy beach goers, but it was never a problem. We had two room on the ground floor #5 & 6. They have a private courtyard in front of them so we had all the privacy we wanted. A big shout out to Juan. Everyone was attentive, but he was just great. He gave us lots of information and was always there when we needed something.

The only thing I would change is the restaurant. The first night we arrived we had dinner on the beach at Pamela's. It was a very nice restaurant and we had a good time. But the next morning was a let down. The buffet was very sparse and low quality. One would think that a gourmet restaurant at night could put out a better breakfast for it's guests. We stayed for 4 nights and would have loved to see some higher quality items on the buffet. Also, It would have been nice if the restaurant had a "Pub Menu" some lighter sandwiches, salads, or Snacks for Inn Guests that didn't want a formal dinner every night.

But overall Numero Uno is a Gem and the perfect place to unwind.

Room Tip: Room #5 & 6 are Queen King just steps from the beach. Upper rooms do not face the Caribbean exc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Snorkl3guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed at Número Uno from June 18 to June 25 and it was one of the best and most relaxing vacations we have ever taken. First and foremost is the friendly yet professional and attentive staff: Yariana, Billy, Pedro, Juan, Jose, Enzo and also the girls who clean the rooms, whose names unfortunately we don't remember (our apologies), all made sure everything was always taken care of and were always courteous and friendly. The location could not be any better - literally right on the beach at the end of a residential street in the Ocean Park neighborhood between Isla Verde and Condado. It was refreshingly quiet on the beach - quite a different scene from the beaches off the hotels. The exception was on June 23 when thousands of locals descended on the beach to party and then get into the water at midnight to commemorate Saint John the Baptist and bring good luck - it was a blast and the staff kept Pamela's, the excellent bar and restaurant located in the guesthouse, open until 3:00 AM. We usually stay at La Concha or El Conquistador or similar hotels, but we will be staying at Número Uno from now on. Saludos, Jesús & Kathleen Vázquez, Denver CO

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JManny68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
1.4 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
2.1 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,780 reviews
2.2 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,641 reviews
0.3 mi away
Acacia Boutique Hotel
Acacia Boutique Hotel
#30 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
1.0 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Numero Uno Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Numero Uno Guest House

Property: Numero Uno Guest House
Address: 1 Santa Ana Street | Ocean Park, San Juan 00911, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Numero Uno Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Numero 1 Guest House features a sun terrace with swimming pool, free continental breakfast and free Wi-Fi throughout. It is located directly on Ocean Park Beach and 3 km from Condado Lagoon.Decorated in a contemporary style, the air-conditioned rooms offer garden or sea views. Each room has a ceiling fan, safe, private bathroom and flat-screen cable TV with HBO. Rooms also feature an alarm clock and wake-up service.The on-site Pamela's restaurant offers tropical décor, beachfront dining and award-winning Caribbean cuisine. Breakfast buffet, special diet menus and room service are also available.Activities such as canoeing, diving, fishing, hiking and horse riding can be arranged by Numero 1 Guest House. There is also a concierge service.This property is 10 minutes’ drive from Old San Juan Historic Centre and from Las Américas Shopping Centre. Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport is 7 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Numero Uno Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Numero Uno Guest House Hotel San Juan
Numero Uno Guest House San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing