We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Numero Uno Guest House
Ranked #11 of 28 San Juan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We were thrilled with our experience at Numero Uno Guest House. The staff is incredibly nice, helpful, and accommodating. The hotel is cute, private and charming, with lots of beautiful plants on the grounds. The location is excellent, right on a great beach and a short taxi ride from Old San Juan, and the hotel restaurant is extremely delicious. We loved our experience here and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    114
    40
    17
    15
See reviews for
34
205
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Very clean. Staff are very helpful. Loved the beach and restaurant. Great to come home after a day and have wonderful dessert. Pizza Cono (the crust is folded into a cone shape) and great bakery within walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CS-KS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

We spent 7 nights at the Numero Uno for our honeymoon, and it could not have been better! All of our hopes and expectations were exceeded. We had initially planned on spending 6 nights at the guesthouse, but after discovering bugs in our bed at our hotel in Ponce, we came a day early. Upon finding the bed bugs (a different long story) we called Numero Uno at 9:00 PM and the night clerk was so accommodating and understanding and booked us a room for that night. After the drive from Ponce we arrived at 11:00PM and David the clerk checked us in, gave us a short tour of the property, showed us to our room and walked us through its amenities. He explained to us where we could park and offered to help us with our bags--it was such a welcoming experience after such a terrible one in Ponce.

His hospitality was echoed by the rest of the staff for the duration of our stay. Even though we came a day early, we did not have to move rooms the following day. The room was small, but why come to Puerto Rico to sit in your room? We never had any problems with the hot water, nor the cable. The staff was always ready to please. The property does have an eating area outside with beach chairs and umbrellas and small tables, but if you prefer to sit closer to the water, the staff will move chairs, umbrellas and tables anywhere you ask. While we were on the beach, the staff would wait on us, bringing us towels, drinks, and any food we wanted to order. Breakfast was great every morning, but yes, it was heavy on starch and low on protein, however there was always fresh fruit and juices.

We ate lunch at Pamela's one day and had two dinners there. It is expensive, but it is some of the best food we have ever eaten. The churrasco is especially great. In order to afford the expensive dinners we went to a local grocery store close by and bought groceries to have for lunch and stored these in the fridge in the room. This worked out really well, especially when we set out for day trips and could take a lunch with us. There are also restaurants within walking distance, if you prefer.

I cannot speak highly enough about this property. When we return to Puerto Rico, we will return to Numero Uno!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MiasmaFury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester, ny
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

My wife and I wanted to go to San Juan for our honeymoon but we didn't want to stay in the city. Numero Uno was perfect because it was just a short bus ride from Old San Juan. Of course you need to talk to he staff to find out what bus to take since the bus schedule and lines are completely unorganized.

The staff was very friendly even when we arrived to checkin at 1am (our flight was delayed a lot). Breakfast was minimal, mostly sugary pastries and fruit. The coffee was very good, i was pleased by that. The best part of breakfast was taking it out onto the beach and eating while watching the sunrise!

The room wasn't huge but it was perfect for two people. We had a beautiful view of the beach. The bathroom was small but everything worked and was always clean.

We had dinner at the restaurant in the guesthouse. It was very expensive but the food was amazing, there were no complaints! We went late and there were not many people around so our water glasses were never half empty. Some people chose eat outside but we stayed in the main eating area.

The other thing to note is the neighborhood around the guesthouse is gated after dark. We walked around in the evening after it got dark and still felt safe. Everyone was very friendly giving us directions to local places to eat.

Room Tip: get a room with a beachside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spilatm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

My husband and I just returned from 4 fantastic nights spent at the Numero Uno Guest House in Ocean Park, San Juan. What a gem it was! We arrived on a very hot Wednesday afternoon and were greeted by the owner at check-in. I just now realized that I didn't get her name. :( She was just lovely and so welcoming.
Our room was cool, and cozy and clean with all the amenities included; fridge, iron, ironing board, tv, alarm clock and a very very comfy king sized bed.
The best part about the Numero Uno is its location. It is ON the beach. Less than 10 steps took us from our front door to the sand. The hotel provides loungers, umbrellas, towels and beach-side drink service.
The staff was super attentive, and so friendly.
Within walking distance were an array of eateries; from splendid sandwiches, soups and pastries at Kasalta's, to upscale local fare at Mango's. A couple of liquor stores, a Walgreen's and a laundromat rounded up the spots available for access to anything you'd every need during your stay.
The restaurant at the hotel, Pamela's, is one of the top rated restaurants in San Juan, but it was a tad pricey, and we were more interested in the places that the locals went to rather than the places the tourists ate at.
Our only complaint about the Numero Uno was that we had very very limited hot water for showering. It really didn't matter since cool showers felt great after spending the day in the hot Puerto Rican sun. :)

Room Tip: We stayed in room #6, and decided that we'd take that over any of the other rooms any day. It i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

One of the best beaches near San Juan. The restaurant is very good, and to dine with the feet in the sand makes the entire experience unforgivable. We had a little crab living in a hole underneath our table, and still laugh about.
Ask for a room on the first floor since the ground floor one are a little humid.
If you look for a relaxed vacation in Puertorico... this is the place

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stubbornmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

I just returned from 7 nights at the Numero Uno Guest House on the beach. What can I say about such a fantastic place? The rooms are gorgeous, the grounds are well maintained, secure, and beautiful. You are steps from the beach (try sitting on the balcony during a sunset - its an amazing sight.) Perhaps the very best thing about Numero Uno Guest House (and there are so many to choose from) is the people they have working there and at Pamela's Restaurant. Everyone was exceedingly friendly, helpful and a joy to be around. I have never been treated so kindly and like an honored guest than I was at these establishments.

Speaking of Pamela's - you must eat here. The food is beyond good. We managed to eat there every day we were there and were never disappointed. Some highlights on the menu are the wontons and calamari (on the appetizers and tapas list), the manchego and plantain crusted NY steak, and the three cheese serrano chicken sandwich. Trust me - eat here and you won't be disappointed.

Overall, staying at Numero Uno Guest House was a wonderful experience. I have traveled to San Juan many times (it happens to be my favorite place to visit) and my stay at this amazing Guest House will not soon be forgotten. In fact, I'm already planning my return trip!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RyanColumbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
1.4 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
2.2 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
2.1 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 47 in San Juan
7,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Condado Palm Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Acacia Boutique Hotel
Acacia Boutique Hotel
#32 of 47 in San Juan
628 reviews
1.0 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Numero Uno Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Numero Uno Guest House

Property: Numero Uno Guest House
Address: 1 Santa Ana Street | Ocean Park, San Juan 00911, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Numero Uno Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Numero 1 Guest House features a sun terrace with swimming pool, free continental breakfast and free Wi-Fi throughout. It is located directly on Ocean Park Beach and 3 km from Condado Lagoon.Decorated in a contemporary style, the air-conditioned rooms offer garden or sea views. Each room has a ceiling fan, safe, private bathroom and flat-screen cable TV with HBO. Rooms also feature an alarm clock and wake-up service.The on-site Pamela's restaurant offers tropical décor, beachfront dining and award-winning Caribbean cuisine. Breakfast buffet, special diet menus and room service are also available.Activities such as canoeing, diving, fishing, hiking and horse riding can be arranged by Numero 1 Guest House. There is also a concierge service.This property is 10 minutes’ drive from Old San Juan Historic Centre and from Las Américas Shopping Centre. Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport is 7 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Numero Uno Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Numero Uno Guest House Hotel San Juan
Numero Uno Guest House San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing