We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”
Review of Tres Palmas Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tres Palmas Inn
Ranked #6 of 29 San Juan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Cute little BnB in Ocean Park. Perfect location, family owned and both heart and soul are going into the refurbishments slowly after these new owners took over a year ago! Cant wait to go back and see the changes. Perfect for beach goers as beach is literally 10 steps across the road. We enjoyed our stay. Only negative was breakfast, needs more on offer was very simple.

Room Tip: if your a light sleeper dont book room 15 as its right on the front of the property, also a communal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonimay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen Q, Guest Relations Manager at Tres Palmas Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
We want to thank you for taking of your time to share your review with us and others! We are happy to know that you are appreciating all the renovations that we are making to the Inn. It confirms to us that it was the right thing to do, but we do want you to come back and visit so that you can see the final look of Tres Palmas Inn! As for our breakfast options, we are looking for new items to add to it. It is a continental breakfast but we are working hard to modify it so that our guests can have a better start in the morning.

Once again thank you and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    168
    60
    19
    5
See reviews for
116
316
29
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Maarten-St. Martin
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Lovely small B&B. Customer service great which makes Tres Palmas stand out. Taxi - no problem Tres Palmas calls right away. Sight seeing advice- again no problem their staff actually listens to your requests and advises sight seeing etc. - your preference. We live on a neighboring island and visit Puerto Rico every few years for shopping at the mall and a few medical (non threatening - thank goodness) appointments. If you want a small place to RELAX this is it. A few years ago we stayed at one of the large franchise hotels and we were terribly disappointed..crazy busy, pool overcrowded, long waits for elevator etc. Tres Palmas is a place you can relax and swing contently on one their hammocks with the ocean only a few steps away. There is a road right in front of Tres Palmas but the traffic is quite minimal. Also we felt quite safe! Tres Palmas is not a 5 star hotel but definitely a 5 star B & B! We recommend room 15.

Room Tip: Room 15 or balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen Q, Guest Relations Manager at Tres Palmas Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank You for this amazing review! We are thrilled to read that our team delivered a great service for all your needs. Our staff is always learning about new places to go and things to do around the island, so that they can bring the best service to our guests. We are glad to know that you had a nice and relaxing stay!

We do hope to see you again on future visits to Puerto Rico! Remember that Tres Palmas Inn will always be a home away from home for you and all of our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The staff (Marlene & others) were delightful and extremely accommodating. The "Inn," which is more like a series of small villas (some with kitchenettes) connected together, was beautifully set - perhaps 10 meters from the Beach. A wonderful, rather plentiful self-serve continental breakfast was served on the patio each morning and it allowed us to relax and take in the ocean views and plan the day's activities. We rented a car as Old San Juan is perhaps 5 kilometers away, but an easy drive. If you want to be just outside of some of the more heavily tourist areas, love having beach access and enjoy the feel and charm of smaller, non-chain accommodations, I highly recommend staying at Tres Palmas.

Room Tip: Most rooms are located on the ground floor, and all are just steps away from the swimming pool. Ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen Q, Guest Relations Manager at Tres Palmas Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
We appreciate being the hotel of your choice during your visit to Puerto Rico. Thanks so much for taking of your time to share your experience. We are happy to know that your experience here at Tres Palmas Inn was so positive and great! Every time we read reviews complementing our staff it fills us with joy, because it means that their hard work paid off.

We do hope you keep on visiting the island and that you keep on choosing us for your stay!

Once again Thank You! You were a wonderful guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, Alabama
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This wasn't exactly what I expected out of a bed & breakfast-it was more of a mixure between a guesthouse and a hotel. We were in probably the smallest room (full bed and bathroom) which was perfect for us since we were on our honeymoon. The inn has a pool, hot tub, hammocks, beach chairs, pool towels, and a continental type breakfast. Our room did not have a fridge but we were only there for one night so we didn't need one. The inn is right on the beach and surprisingly quiet even though it is settled on a busy road in Ocean Park.
The only two downsides was parking and the beach across the street. There were several people in the ocean but it looked a little rough for swimming. Parking wasn't bad until later at night after dinner. The inn is in a great location, fairly close to everything around San Juan.

Room Tip: Ask to see a room first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hillary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen Q, Guest Relations Manager at Tres Palmas Inn, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Congratulations on your honeymoon! Looks like you had a good time here in Tres Palmas Inn. We just finished remodeling room #4, the room you stayed in, and turned it more cozy and also more comfortable. You can take a look at it in our Facebook page and see the difference your self. Day by day we take our guests opinions seriously and incorporate them into the Inn. This is why for us your reviews are so important. We want to thank you for taking the time to write about your experience and we wish to see you soon on future visits to the island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2013

After alot of research on places to stay in PR, and most of them not that great, we found this little gem, Tres Palmas Inn. It had great reviews. A few picky people complained about the pool being dirty. Wrong people, if you call a few flowers falling into the pool dirty, then you need the 5 star hotels. This little Inn is right across the street from the beach. The rooms were clean and cute, the staff is exceptional, you get continental breakfast and fee parking. We could not have been happier with Tres Palmas Inn. Greetings to Helen,Marlene, Eli, Luis and Issac. Our first visit to PR was very positive and we will return to Tres Palmas Inn whenever we return and we will tell our friends what a sweet and cozy place Tres Palmas is to stay. If anyone needs to ask any questions, i will be happy to answer them for you. I think that finding the best place to stay, is the hardest part of planning your trip. I also wrote to people that stayed at TP and felt very comfortable, that it was the place for us. It is perfect for small families. The pool, hot tub, continental breakfast, free parking and great little Inn, with amazing staff, what more could you want. Very happy with our decision.

Room Tip: I would suggest the virtual tour of the Inn, so you can make your choice of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen Q, Guest Relations Manager at Tres Palmas Inn, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
What an amazing review! We are extremely thrilled to read about your great experience. The staff is grateful and happy to know that you will be visiting us on future trips to Puerto Rico. It looks like you enjoyed all of our amenities to the fullest. We do wish for you to come and visit us again soon! We are remodeling the rooms, so we want you to have a new and even better experience!

Once again thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We found our stay at Tres Palmas relaxing and enjoyable. The owners and staff at the Inn were friendly and most helpful. Since this was our first visit, the desk staff provided some great suggestions for some unique excursions in the Puerto Rican counryside. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2FrumButler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen Q, Guest Relations Manager at Tres Palmas Inn, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this great review! We are always on the look out for fun activities and all types of adventure. We also work hard to find the best prices for tours and the best dinner options to make sure that our guests can make the most out of their visit. The staff is happy to know that you had a wonderful experience!

Once again thank you, and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weehawken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Incredible experience to say the least. A very easy 5 stars in all aspects. The location is barely 10 meters from the beach and cannot be beaten. Jacuzzi in the terrace with the turquoise green sea in front of you is a once in a lifetime experience. Hosts were very gracious and attended to every needs. There is a nice little swimming pool too. Comfortable rooms and generally a very nice feel about the place. If I absolutely had to point some shortcoming then it would be the fact that there is no attached bar or restaurant to this place and nearest restaurant is around 6-10 minutes walk away.

Room Tip: Try and choose an ocean view room. You cannot beat the proximity to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akshay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen Q, Guest Relations Manager at Tres Palmas Inn, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
We are thrilled with your review! Thank you for sharing the experience you had here at Tres Palmas Inn. We want the best for our guests so it makes us happy to see that we have achieved that goal. We do hope you visit us again on future visits to Puerto Rico!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
2.1 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
2.8 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,866 reviews
1.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Acacia Boutique Hotel
Acacia Boutique Hotel
#30 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,692 reviews
1.5 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tres Palmas Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tres Palmas Inn

Property: Tres Palmas Inn
Address: 2212 Calle Park Blvd, San Juan 00913-4542, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tres Palmas Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tres Palmas Inn is a quaint and charming 20-room beachfront guest house built in the 1940's. We are located at Ocean Park Beach, which is the best beach for vacationers and locals alike in San Juan. Our rooms are mid-to-small sized but they have all the amenities you will need during your stay (air conditioning, LCD TV's with Dish, free High Speed Wi-Fi, refrigerator, private bathrooms, toiletries, etc.) We also have a secluded outdoor pool and a wonderful rooftop terrace with a hot tub overlooking the ocean, where you can have a drink while watching the sunset. Tres Palmas Inn is located in a residential area between two major tourist zones: Isla Verde and Condado. We provide daily complimentary Continental breakfast from 7:00AM to 10:00AM in our breakfast area overlooking the beautiful Atlantic Ocean. Tres Palmas Inn doesn't have a restaurant but there is a wide variety of them within walking distance-anywhere from 10 to 15 minutes away. Check out our website for our local Restaurant Guide to find your new favorite place to eat! At Tres Palmas Inn we also provide our guests with complimentary beach chairs and beach towels, please ask for them at the Front Desk. Additionally, we have a Water Sports Center, Sotavento Watersports, where you can take Windsurf or Kiteboarding lessons and also rent kayaks, paddle boards, and snorkeling gear... At Tres Palmas Inn we will do our best to make your stay a memorable one, so give us the opportunity and we will show you why Puerto Rico Does it Better! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HRS and Priceline so you can book your Tres Palmas Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tres Palmas Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing