We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!”
Review of Tres Palmas Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tres Palmas Inn
Ranked #6 of 29 San Juan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

After thoroughly searching for a nice, cute place to stay with a friendly staff, Tres Palmas caught our eye. My girlfriend and I stayed for four nights here and we loved it! We stayed in room 15, which has a great view of the ocean and has two hammocks right in front of it. The location is great (being right on the beach), and a short ride from the airport. We were able to find the excellent restaurants in the surrounding area just minutes away with ease. We used their bikes a number of times to go out to dinner or just to go exploring! It was very convenient having a continental breakfast with bagels, fruit, meats, juice, coffee, etc. The ride from the airport was pretty quick and easy. The staff was very helpful in suggesting tasty restaurants and was quite friendly. This was a very cute place at a great location. I would absolutely suggest staying at Tres Palmas!

Room Tip: Room 15! A/C worked very well, we had a great view, and the bed was so comfy! The only thing was the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen Q, Guest Relations Manager at Tres Palmas Inn, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Reviews like this one makes us extra happy! This shows that our hard work paid off. We appreciate the time you took to write this review. Thank you for letting us know how your experience at Tres Palmas was. Our staff works hard to find the right tours and restaurants for each of our guest. We also do our best to achieve the guests expectations and needs. By reading the review it shows that you took full advantage of the hotel amenities and that is what we want for our guests.

We hope to see you in a future visit to Puerto Rico. Once again thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    168
    60
    19
    5
See reviews for
116
316
29
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Tres Palma is a nice little Inn. It's quaint and very friendly! They have a complimentary continental breakfast of bread/toast, croissants (YUM), fruit, yogurt etc. We were only staying one night but we were given stellar service and appreciated our patronage! I'd recommend to others!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JennyNTimT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen Q, Guest Relations Manager at Tres Palmas Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write this review! We are happy to know that your experience here at Tres Palmas Inn was a positive one, and with the stellar service. We appreciate the feedback and hope that you will visit soon. We hope that the next visit is longer and even better.

Once again Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Great location! The rooms are small but comfortable. Tile floors and bath that is common in hot climates. The room had a TV, & cold AC. Parking is on street, but we always found a spot in front. Free continental breakfast (cereals, coffee, juices, cheese, meats, bagels). They also have beach equipment for use (bicycles, boards, chairs). Small pool, ice and soda machine. Roof top patio with great views.

Room Tip: My room was in front, facing the water and the road. Once the traffic stopped it was quiet and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wjbroome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen Q, Guest Relations Manager at Tres Palmas Inn, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for choosing Tres Palmas Inn! We hope that your stay was everything you desired. We like to think as our self as a second home four our guests, one were you can relax, enjoy the views and nature around. That is why we do our best at providing extra amenities for our guests.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed the details that we have to offer, and we appreciate the fact that you took the time to write this review. It means a lot to us and we hope to see you on your next visit to Puerto Rico!

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We were torn between a package resort deal or taking the time to find a local boutique hotel on the beach. So happy we did the latter. From the airport, the cabs knew right were to go and it was literally 8 minutes away. All the staff was fantastically nice. Spoke English better than some Americans I know and were happy to suggest local restaurants, call cabs and what ever else we asked for. The location is beach side with only a quiet road separating you from the sand. You can swim right out front of the hotel or walk 1.5 minutes to a larger public beach filled with locals, tropical fruit smoothy carts and a great park where everyone works out especially at sun down.

Besides the hotel residents, the hood was all locals whom we found very warm and friendly. Amazing, modern residential houses flank each side of the hotel. Besides the hotel residents, not many tourists around which we loved.

We took full advantage of the well rounded breakfast every morning. Its especially nice if you're taking an early morning tour/boat ride and have a 7am wake up time. The shaded hammocks saw our butts several times a day. We loved the free boogie boards, beach chairs and large umbrellas the hotel lends out to first comers. The hot tub was more a luke warm tub but the jets worked. The pool was small but nice. New age music jetting out behind a small waterfall. A few leaves to swim through.

I've traveled a lot and stayed in many hostels, hotels and bnb's and this was as charming as they come. The rooms were just right. Not fancy but had all the comforts of home. The beds were very confortable. Little TVs with some english language channels. The showers were hit or miss. Could use a shower head upgrade and if someone flushes in the room above you, be prepared to wait a few minutes otherwise scalding burns or ice baths are in your future. Cute lizards everywhere and tree frogs chirp all night so bring ear plugs if you're a light sleeper.

Next time we jet down to PR for a week, we know where we'll stay.

A few restaurants in the hood we highly suggest from two self proclaimed foodies:

El Estribo!!! Great small, home-y spot. Puerto Rican
La B de Burro. Cheep mexician/PR fusion. Small joint with locals and gringos.
Kasalta. A local institution. Bakery, sandwiches, soups, and local hang out.

Avoid Rosalia's. Food was ok but not cheap. the staff was strange and unfriendly to travelers.

Room Tip: get room 15. largest windows and first dibbs on hammocks. ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoshSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen Q, Guest Relations Manager at Tres Palmas Inn, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Looks like you made the best choice for your lodging in Puerto Rico! Thank you for letting Tres Palmas Inn be at your service for your stay in Puerto Rico. This review brings us a lot of joy, because we love to know when one of our guests expectations is reached.

Our goal is to make our guest feel at home and to give them the best service possible. The staff is very passionate with their jobs, that is why reviews like this one motivates them to keep giving a 100% on their shifts.

We thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review. It help us know that we are on the right track and it also lets us know which areas need improvement. We hope to see you soon again on your future vacation to Puerto Rico.

Once again Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmingdale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We were surprised by how nice the Inn was considering the extremely reasonable cost. The room was small but clean. There is a roof-top patio with a beautiful view of the ocean; a wonderful place to spend the evening. The overall layout of the Inn was charming, with the rooms arranged around small "plazas" giving the feeling of a villa. Breakfast was simple but had options for everyone. One of the best features of the Inn, besides being across from the ocean, was the ability to borrow beach chairs, umbrellas, beach towels and bikes free of charge. We walked to a few local restaurants for dinner. The Inn is in a residential neighborhood, so the local restaurants are for the residents, not tourists. That being said, we had good experiences and good food at all of the ones we tried. If you are looking for a more formal dinner, you will need to drive or take a taxi to another part of San Juan.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen Q, Guest Relations Manager at Tres Palmas Inn, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing Tres Palmas Inn for your stay while visiting San Juan, Puerto Rico. We thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are pleased to read about you wonderful experience and to see how much you loved it.

We try our best to give the best experience possible to all of our guest. Once again thank you, we value all of our guests opinions.

Hope to see you in your future visits to Puerto Rico!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed for 7 long days and I just don't get it. Our room was spartan at best, the breakfast was a joke and it was in walking distance of nothing. The hotel has no services. No drinks, no food beyond the lame breakfast. The only saving grace was Luis. The man was wonderful and very helpful. I wouldn't go back though. I guess I've come to expect more.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeniceBravo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
etcruz, Owner at Tres Palmas Inn, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
We regret to read this review and learn how much one of our guests has missed of our Beach House. We have so many good things that we offer that weren't mention in this review. We have Punta las Marias Beach twelve steps in front of Tres Palmas that is one of the most popular spot for the practice of windsurfing, Kitesurfing and Paddleboard in the Caribbean and Ocean Park Beach 3 minute walk to the west, we have hammocks where you can rest while hearing the waves crashing on the beach, we have a Jacuzzi in the Terrace you can use to relax at night, we have a beautiful secluded pool surrounded by flower trees, we have a breakfast area overlooking the ocean where every single morning you can meet many wonderful people from around the world, we have excellent restaurants nearby that are 10 to 15 minutes walking distance from the property where you can enjoy all sorts of different types of food, we have free Wi-Fi so you don't have to pay extra for the service, we have bikes, beach chairs, beach umbrellas, paddles, morey boogie boards, surf boards and coolers that you can take anywhere and use for free, we have a beautiful view of the Ocean that you can enjoy every single morning when you wake up, we have Coqui Frogs which are a these little frogs that sings the whole night and you can fall asleep hearing them, we have many different flowers with different smells you can enjoy, but specially, we have big hearted people that every single day enjoy working here with a big smile on their faces and are ready to help you with anything you may need or ask. I really think that a lot was missed.

We include in the price of our rooms daily Continental Breakfast, In any given day we offer, Coffee, Tea, Bagels, Croissants, Bread for Toasts, Fresh Made Cakes, Raisin Bran Cereal, Corn Flakes, Boiled Eggs, Sausages, Cold cuts like Ham, Cheddar Cheese, Cream Cheese, Butter, Iced Tea, Orange Juice, Apple Juice, Grapefruit Juice, Pineapple and Strawberry Preserves and Fresh fruits like Apples, Bananas, and it is all you can eat. I don't know how that can be called “lame”. A definition of Continental Breakfast is just Coffee, Juice, Toasts and Fruits.

I wish that Tres Palmas Inn can be enjoyed for what it really is; a Beach House, not a Multinational Hotel Chain with Restaurants, Bars, Stores, Game Rooms and Casinos. That way nothing will be missed.

Edwin Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We wanted to go to PR but didn't want to stay at a boring hotel so we tried this B&B (Tres Palmas) & it was fantastic minus there was no hot water. The water was slightly warm alot colder than hot & that to us was a big deal waking up to a cold shower! The view was great, parking was easy & the staff were SO Helpful. I Don't think we will stay again because of the water situation & the hot tube was bearly warm aswell but It's very nice if you don't mind cold showers!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merelysr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen Q, Guest Relations Manager at Tres Palmas Inn, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on the hotel. We do appreciate and value your opinions. We will definitely work with our hot water situation. After all it is in our best interest to give the best service possible to all of our guests. We do apologize for the inconvenience that the hot water may have caused you.

The staff appreciates your complements, they love working which each guest. Hope you will give us a second chance on your next visit to Puerto Rico.

Kind Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
2.1 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
2.8 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,872 reviews
1.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Acacia Boutique Hotel
Acacia Boutique Hotel
#30 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,692 reviews
1.5 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tres Palmas Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tres Palmas Inn

Property: Tres Palmas Inn
Address: 2212 Calle Park Blvd, San Juan 00913-4542, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tres Palmas Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tres Palmas Inn is a quaint and charming 20-room beachfront guest house built in the 1940's. We are located at Ocean Park Beach, which is the best beach for vacationers and locals alike in San Juan. Our rooms are mid-to-small sized but they have all the amenities you will need during your stay (air conditioning, LCD TV's with Dish, free High Speed Wi-Fi, refrigerator, private bathrooms, toiletries, etc.) We also have a secluded outdoor pool and a wonderful rooftop terrace with a hot tub overlooking the ocean, where you can have a drink while watching the sunset. Tres Palmas Inn is located in a residential area between two major tourist zones: Isla Verde and Condado. We provide daily complimentary Continental breakfast from 7:00AM to 10:00AM in our breakfast area overlooking the beautiful Atlantic Ocean. Tres Palmas Inn doesn't have a restaurant but there is a wide variety of them within walking distance-anywhere from 10 to 15 minutes away. Check out our website for our local Restaurant Guide to find your new favorite place to eat! At Tres Palmas Inn we also provide our guests with complimentary beach chairs and beach towels, please ask for them at the Front Desk. Additionally, we have a Water Sports Center, Sotavento Watersports, where you can take Windsurf or Kiteboarding lessons and also rent kayaks, paddle boards, and snorkeling gear... At Tres Palmas Inn we will do our best to make your stay a memorable one, so give us the opportunity and we will show you why Puerto Rico Does it Better! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HRS and Priceline so you can book your Tres Palmas Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tres Palmas Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing