We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“maybe ok for college students on tight budget”
Review of Tres Palmas Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tres Palmas Inn
Ranked #6 of 28 San Juan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“maybe ok for college students on tight budget”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

I have no idea how anyone could rate this 5 stars. We were in room #5 for two nights. Maybe other rooms would merit a 3, a 4 would be a real reach, 5 impossible on this property, unless you think Coke is a premium beverage on a par with fine wines. I felt seriously misled by the reviews once I saw what Tres Palmas really was. It is a low-end B&B. The bed was uncomfortable (very firm) and the linens were coarse and of lower quality. The bathroom was tiny and cramped. There were hardly any places to hang things, like jackets, bathing suits, bags, or whatever. The A/C unit was noisy and we could not figure out how to make it not blow directly on the bed. The breakfast was the bare minimum for a B&B, nothing special at all. Only good part was the coffee was strong. The front desk help was cordial, but that does not compensate for the deficiencies.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank longshot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    170
    62
    19
    5
See reviews for
119
324
31
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Suwanee, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

My husband and I loved this boutique hotel with wonderful service and amenities. It's not fancy but we really enjoyed the proximity to the beach, the pool, the hammocks, the free bikes, the delightful staff, the rooftop hottubs with a marvelous view, etc. We'd highly recommend it and would go there again.

Room Tip: We preferred our second room near the back simply because we liked more privacy, but we also stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xanna2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We stayed there on our last night in PR because it was near the airport and rental car office, and of course because it was on the beach. We found it very clean and the service was good, as was the breakfast. They had beach chairs for us to borrow and take across the street to sit on the beach and relax. It was a very good choice and we enjoyed it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Stayed at Tres Palmas Inn for a week in February with my wife. After a long, tiring journey from the UK we arrived in the evening and found the staff and general ambience of the place to be very welcoming. The inn is not a resort, but as a base for a relaxing stay in San Juan it is excellent. Facilities are basic, but clean and well maintained, and all of the staff, from the management to the cleaners were friendly and courteous (special mention to Magui, always very helpful, charming and cheerful). This hotel seems to be a popular staging point for people joining cruises, so there was a bit of coming and going at all hours, however the unavoidable disturbances did not spoil our stay. Breakfast was basic but a perfect way to start the day, with as much coffee and toast etc. to get you going as you need. San Juan has a lot to offer as a holiday destination but appears to be considered mainly as somewhere to pick up a cruise ship, which is a shame. We would recommend Tres Palmas Inn and would definitely stay there again should we be fortunate enough to return to Puerto Rico.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanL-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2012

The place was a little difficult to find (mislabeled in our guide book). Front desk staff was nice. They have a nice little pool, and a great set of hot tubs on the roof. They are right off of the beach, which is lovely. The room was sort of motel quality, but had an air conditioner and a decent tv.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Venessa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Extremely helpful and nice staff, around the clock. Excellent jacuzzi and prime location on isla verde. Excellent. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2012

I can only agree with the positive reviews of this unique place. The hotel provided free use of the room safes, free use of computer at the lobby, free Wi-Fi and free use of bikes.  The evening desk manager, was one of the most delightful people we meet in Puerto Rico, happily answered a whole lot of questions, booked us a tour to El Yunque, and ordered delivery for us.

The beach directly in front of the hotel is a short walk away from Condado where you can find places to have lunch or drinks right on the beach. This Inn is about a third of a mile walk to nice Restaurants so you don’t need a car or taxi to go out and have dinner. If you go to the beach you can use beach chairs, towels, coolers, paddles and boogie boards that are available at no charge.

Go into their second floor terrace and get into one of the Hot Tubs and relax listening to the waves and the sound of the palm trees while enjoying the wonderful view of the Sunset over the ocean! I can’t wait to be back!

Room Tip: Try to get the one next to the hot tubs it’s got a private balcony and a King Bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
2.1 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
2.8 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 47 in San Juan
7,047 reviews
1.5 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#6 of 47 in San Juan
944 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,711 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tres Palmas Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tres Palmas Inn

Property: Tres Palmas Inn
Address: 2212 Calle Park Blvd, San Juan 00913-4542, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tres Palmas Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tres Palmas Inn is a quaint and charming 20-room beachfront guest house built in the 1940's. We are located at Ocean Park Beach, which is the best beach for vacationers and locals alike in San Juan. Our rooms are mid-to-small sized but they have all the amenities you will need during your stay (air conditioning, LCD TV's with Dish, free High Speed Wi-Fi, refrigerator, private bathrooms, toiletries, etc.) We also have a secluded outdoor pool and a wonderful rooftop terrace with a hot tub overlooking the ocean, where you can have a drink while watching the sunset. Tres Palmas Inn is located in a residential area between two major tourist zones: Isla Verde and Condado. We provide daily complimentary Continental breakfast from 7:00AM to 10:00AM in our breakfast area overlooking the beautiful Atlantic Ocean. Tres Palmas Inn doesn't have a restaurant but there is a wide variety of them within walking distance-anywhere from 10 to 15 minutes away. Check out our website for our local Restaurant Guide to find your new favorite place to eat! At Tres Palmas Inn we also provide our guests with complimentary beach chairs and beach towels, please ask for them at the Front Desk. Additionally, we have a Water Sports Center, Sotavento Watersports, where you can take Windsurf or Kiteboarding lessons and also rent kayaks, paddle boards, and snorkeling gear... At Tres Palmas Inn we will do our best to make your stay a memorable one, so give us the opportunity and we will show you why Puerto Rico Does it Better! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Tres Palmas Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tres Palmas Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing