We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem”

Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico
Ranked #19 of 201 things to do in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: More than just an art museum, Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico hosts concerts and festivals as well. The Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico (MAPR), a non-for-profit organization, was inaugurated on July 1, 2000, as a legacy for the Puerto Rican people. The mission of the Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico is to enrich the lives of its diverse audiences by making accessible and promoting the knowledge, appreciation, and enjoyment of visual arts from Puerto Rico and the world. The MAPR engages diverse communities to facilitate learning experiences about the visual arts through: the growth of a well-researched permanent collection exemplifying significant and representative examples of Puerto Rican art from the sixteenth century to the present; a dynamic program of exhibitions supported by engaging and exciting educational and cultural programs that collectively deepen the understanding of the role of the visual arts in the human experience and contribute to the creation of a curatorial legacy; documentation, research, interpretation, preservation, and conservation of the collection and the visual arts patrimony of Puerto Rico; and alliances with local, regional, and international museums and institutions to advance the knowledge of, access to, and understanding of the visual arts of the world.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Hotel checkout was at 1:00 and our flight didn't leave until 6:00, so we used the time to visit the Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico. The original part of the building was an old hospital, but the large addition is all modern with a towering ceiling on the main level and a wall of gorgeous colored glass. We loved the interesting collection of art which is creatively displayed. The interactive children's section is delightful. Outside is a sculpture garden and koi pond.

The museum was being prepared for a wedding when we were there - I am sure it was quite lovely.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    79
    22
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful Restaurant”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We visited these restaurant for my birthday. The service and the food was excellent. One of the best restaurants in San Juan.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Damariswilma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
449 reviews
143 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Excellent Museum”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This museum may be the best in the Island. They have permanent and new exhibits. Tours for
groops can be arranged and I reccomend doing that. Sometimes when you are in your own you
miss a lot of the action. A visit to this Museum is a must when you visit the Island. Beside Art Exhibits you can buy souvenirs in their shops. The best kept secret is Laurel, a restaurant located
in the premises with International food where you can taste food by Chef Mario Pagan. It is a
short walk away from Centro de Bellas Artes, so you can arrange your whole day covering the
museum, restaurant and Bellas Artes.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank 27Ruben27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A place you must see when visiting Puerto Rico”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is the best art Museum you can visit in Puerto Rico. It is centrally located, with a grand exhibition of Puerto Rican artists, a beautiful garden and a family gallery, which is the best in Puerto Rico. Employees are very friendly and provide an excellent service. If you like photography, ask for Hector Mendez Caratini work, beautiful photographs of the vejigantes. Don't miss this great place in Puerto Rico!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Annette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice place to go on a rainy day”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We spent a rainy day here. Some interesting work. I did like the 'barbershop' scene created on the second floor-

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank gloria73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing