We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky in a good way, great location, not exactly a luxury hotel”
Review of The Gallery Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Gallery Inn
Ranked #8 of 30 San Juan B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Starting witih the negatives: Our first room (the Patria room, in the basement) was a complete dump. It was damp and even running the noisy dehumidifier they give you the musty smell never went away. The room was filthy and had bits of the peeling ceiling paint all over the place, including on the bed and pillows. After the first night we reported the ceiling issue, then followed up again that afternoon and both times were assured it would be addressed by that night. We got back at bedtime and nothing had been done; with no more rooms available we had to live with it another night. My wife had to brush the paint dust off of herself in the middle of the night, and I almost stepped on a cockroach in the bathroom. That was the last straw; the next morning I asked again for another room, and this time to their credit the staff was much more apologtic, upgraded us, gave us some free drinks, and so on which made us feel much better (otherwise this would have been a one-star review). Our new room (like most of the other rooms we saw) was much nicer. Not perfect (mildew in the bathroom, slow sink drain, shower water temperature fluctuated wildly every few seconds) but nothing we couldn't live with.

The positives: This is a really interesting, unique, and fun hotel. The public rooms and courtyards are all open air and have tons of secluded nooks with couches and so on where you can sit and chat with your group while you enjoy the cool Caribbean breeze, perhaps also enjoying drinks from the 24/7 honor bar. They have a roof deck which is uncrowded and has probably the best panoramic view in San Juan. The staff was very outgoing and helpful with reservations, information, and so on. The hotel's parrots in the lobby are a fun attraction. We'll probably stay here again on our next trip. But for our issues with our first room we would have rated 4 or 5 stars.

In short if you're looking for a no-nonsense luxury place stay somewhere else. If you're looking for something fun then this inn is a great find.

Room Tip: Avoid the Patria room, and probably any other basement rooms as well.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (842)
There are newer reviews for The Gallery Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

335 - 341 of 842 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Being new to trip advisor this reveiw is long over due! We wanted a place to stay in Puerto Rico and stayed at this living art studio with bedrooms. Sexy , elegant, quiet, we talked about coming back to get married in the cannon room. Cobblestones and chameleons, flowers and plants. Gorgeous views, beautiful rooms.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Plumber68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Overall, a great experience if you are looking for something different, authentic, interesting BUT not for you who are looking for one of those bland, luxury hotel chains. Breakfast was adequate, happy hour fun, dinner delicious and the owner, since the early 1960's, Jan, is a very unique and talented lady and she makes sure you are enjoying your stay in 'her home'. Her artwork including paintings, sculptures, silks and screens are everywhere bringing to life the history and essence of this hotel.

The mattresses are divine and give you an excellent night's sleep - Tempurpedic.

Room Tip: Our king bedroom located as you enter through the gate of the property includes a view of the Atlant...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaxxC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

If you like quirky this'd be 5 stars - if not it might be very few. We did like the "stay in an antique shop" set up and while the room and bed were on the small side they were comfortable and clean and the place has a good atmosphere. It ls very convenient for the old town. That convenience means that over the four day San Sebastian Festival (typically the weekend before and Monday of Martin Luther King's birthday in January) you might not get a whole load of sleep and you could find it exceptionally difficult to get to and from the hotel except on foot. This would be true of any hotel in the old town at that time though. What may or may be true of other hotels was the somewhat "and so?" attitide to the inability to get in and out. So it's the relatively poor front desk service that gets this three stars overall. No restaurant but basic breakfast was OK and there are plenty of palces to eat in the town.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

You have read what has enthralled others about this "inn," so I thought I would tell you a few things to be wary of, since I stayed here with my husband in January 2014. First of all, I am no stranger to eclectic, different, "artsy" places so if you want to stay in someplace totally different, this is the place for you. Good luck.
1.) No sign. Yes, there is no sign on this inn, so, if you, like me, are not familiar with OSJ and your phone has died, you will drive around looking and then second guessing whether that is the place or not. Once you have rung the bell (in the rain) and they let you in, then you can drive around another hour looking for a place to park in OSJ because the parking spaces in the front are reserved for the maintenance person 24/7--and believe me, they need them!
2.) Do not bring luggage. Unless, you, like me, want to take your suitcase up two narrow flights of stairs, only to bring it into a room that TA DA--does not have any place to put a suitcase!!
3.) Do not plan on taking a shower. If you stay in the SCARY "Stevie" room, you will take a spit shower. Do not sit on the toilet, unless you want to be pushed off sideways because they can't replace a broken toilet seat. BTW, they left a scant roll of toilet paper with no replacement. The rug in there has sat on the same floor in the same place after hundreds of gross feet and whatever else has landed there.
4.) Do not plan on blow drying your hair or doing make up or charging phone. Again, the forenamed "Stevie." Perhaps all the other rooms are up to date on this. I doubt it. I unplugged the light source in order to charge the phone. The light, even during the daytime, was minimal, so looking in the old wavy mirror was useless. There is no source to use to blow dry your hair, but that didn't matter, since there was not even water pressure to do that.
5.) Do not be allergic to mold or mildew. Everything--and I mean everything, from what you think is "artistic" to the kitschy doll house crap--is dusty and full of mildew. That is because every nook and cranny is full of crap and the house is open to rain, etc. Took a week and a huge dose of Zyrtec to get rid of it all.
6.) The only good thing was that it has the highest vantage point of OSJ from its roof deck. Very beautiful view. Had to walk past a lot of the owner's "memory crap" to get there.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cate8717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

From the moment you enter the courtyard, the experience begins. Lush flora, exotic birds, sculptures, and stone invite you to a cinematic and timeless experience. Every room is its own art directed world. There a little spots all over the inn that two people can escape to with a beautiful view or a quiet corner and feel like they are the only two people in the world. The location is great. It's easy to walk all over Old San Juan from there. The staff is not only help but friendly in a genuine way. They want to share their love of the hotel, its owner and the city with you. Words don't do it justice. It's an experience I will never forget and always hold close.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sc0tt_Free
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Amazing, magical & unique inn. The winding courtyards, patio, pool, roof top terrace, tropical birds and the beautiful owner Jan. There can't possibly be another place like this in the world. The historical building, the beautiful assortment of rooms filled with unbelievable furniture and art. Great location in Old San Juan, a restaurant, honor bar, a continental breakfast provided and very reasonably priced.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,762 reviews
0.2 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 47 in San Juan
962 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#9 of 47 in San Juan
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
0.2 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 47 in San Juan
229 reviews
2.7 mi away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 47 in San Juan
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gallery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gallery Inn

Address: 204 - 206 Norzagaray St | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan
Price Range: $117 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gallery Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This sprawling 22-room ocean-view boutique hotel features lush gardens, tree-shaded patios and secluded and private nooks at every turn. The Wine Deck offers breath-taking, panoramic views from the highest point in Old San Juan. The newly completed sculpture waterfall pool meanders through ancient brick passageways, past fragrant gardenias. Six active art studios and world-class piano recitals are all open to our guests. Unique, elegant and exotic: the Old World charm of The Gallery Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Gallery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gallery Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing