We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you have to go!”

Castillo de San Cristobal
Book In Advance
More Info
$148.00*
and up
Private Old San Juan Walking Tour
Ranked #4 of 201 things to do in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This massive 27-acre series of fortifications is the largest the Spanish built in the New World.
edmonton
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“you have to go!”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Absolutely fantastic piece of history. I was blown away by this place it is beyond my scope of imagination that this could have been built so many years ago and still stands.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank darcitalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,794 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,659
    1,005
    123
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“This is the better of the two forts for kids/elderly”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This part of the fortification, as opposed to El Morro, is better for those who have a difficult time with stairs, as there are less of them. I would highly recommend if you have kids or have a disability that you come here and take in the views. I still would not miss visiting El Morro, but getting to level 6 or level 1 over there would be difficult. There is also more guidance and information present here than El Morro. I imagine this is the more commonly visited of the two, since it is a long walk to the second and this has the parking.

Don't forget to visit the outer fortification, where you will likely be greeted by iguana friends who have taken up residence all throughout the outer area. It is also less crowded and provides a great view of the city from there. You almost feel as if you're exploring on your own.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony_B_02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great for kids and adults alike”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Great site - definitely worth visiting. How often do you get to see an old fort that was used by Spaniards centuries ago and then by the US in World War 2.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An unforgettable Day!!!”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The beautiful atmosphere, the breathtaking views and The Ocean breeze together with the opportunity to learn about the famous Puerto Rican Painter named Oller made our day unforgettable! The learning experience began when we walked to The White House ( Museo Casa Blanca) to see where Ponce de Leon's Family lived while in office. We were amazed at all the artifacts that depict those times. We also went to a workshop, one of a few being conducted there. It was on art projects and We chose the hands on lesson on the famous Puerto Rican Painter OLLER. We recieved a book the bio. of the painter, some handouts and a backpack to put it all in. It was truely an unforgettable day.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Delma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I enjoyed the tour! My family & I walk through & then took the trolley to El Morro. You pay $5 a person to visit this & El Morro for the week. It was a great experience for us.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank MrsMas2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castillo de San Cristobal also viewed

 
El Yunque National Forest, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Castillo de San Cristobal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing