We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cute photo op”
Review of San Juan Gate

San Juan Gate
Book In Advance
More Info
$80.00*
and up
San Juan Sunset Sail
Ranked #11 of 202 things to do in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Four centuries ago this gate was the main entrance into the city.
Redding, California
Level Contributor
239 reviews
163 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“A cute photo op”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

A cool gate, but not much else to see. The large quantity of pigeons near the gate proved more entertaining and photogenic.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank AmyWren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    459
    304
    126
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eureka, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Red Gate”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Sometimes also called the San Juan Gate. It is the last of the original 6 city gates that once had huge wooden doors that were closed and barred at sundown to protect the inhabitants from invaders. This gate is set in the famous city wall - huge 15 foot thick stone and masonry walls that went around many parts of San Juan. This was where so many sailors entered into the city along with so much cargo. Standing back on the Paseo del Morro, the walkway on the seaside of the city walls, it is amazing to think back at what it must have been like to disembark from the ship and enter into the city from that point. Tradition often has it that sailors often went straight up the Calle to the Cathedral (itself well worth the visit) and thank God for safe passage.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
261 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Large Doors”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

This was the entrance to San Juan when the Fort was build, now they have a walk around the fort and this is one of the stopping point for pictures, nice view of the bay, either you can continue an the El Moro Paseo about 1.5 mile long or enter the city via the gate.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rob O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havre de Grace, Maryland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“The Gate Takes you back in history”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

My wife and I were just in Puerto Rico and we happened to be there during the San Sebastian festival days. We are not much for crowds so we tried to stay of the outskirts of the massive celebration. (I have never been to Mardi Gras but I imagine this was similar)

We walked along the San Juan water front where the cruise ships come in and then started to skirt the outside of Old San Juan along the city wall. This took us to San Juan gate. We read the history of the gate and its uses and could picture the area two hundred years earlier. We felt seeing this structure really added to our appreciation of Old San Juan

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rykman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very unique place”
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Visited the San Juan Gate on an Archtour. Karen, our guide, was very informative. The gate is something that should be seen when you visit San Juan.

Helpful?
Thank BT_Mich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Juan Gate also viewed

 

Been to San Juan Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing