We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, Pleasant and delicious!”
Review of Margarita's

Margarita's
Ranked #305 of 1,189 Restaurants in San Juan
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Puerto Rico's best authentic Mexican restaurant serving the freshest mexican food with only the best ingredients since 1984 in a festive environment. Come visit us with live mariachis on weekends and free valet parking.
Reviewed May 23, 2017 via mobile

I always go on a Friday and its always full but with no wait time. Free Valet is simple and quick. Menu has lots of interesting stuff and margaritas are very nice. Try a Clavadita which is a Corona headstand on a huge frozen margarita. (Non frozen are stronger and hit hard.) Tables are separated providing space to move comfortably which i appreciate. Prices are on the cheap side.
Dishes are big! Service can be from excellent to good. Tell your waiter to keep an eye on your drink. I always do that everywhere with great results. Great salsa and chips. Try queso fundido, refritos and guacamole. From tacos to chalupas to fajitas....everything is good.
Mariachis are top notch and lots of fun. If you like it quieter, keep closer to the entrance.
A place that is more than 20 years old and is still popular is a very good sign of consistency.
Enjoy!

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank Arturo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 110 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2017 via mobile

We went to this restaurant trying to go somewhere other than the chain restaurants. It was a good choice, very nice place on the inside. The food and service were also good.

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank Jose R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2017

For those who likes mexican food and mariachis as well this is the perfect place to visit. It is a cozy restaurant with a vast menu to choose from and with plenty of local and foreign beers and wines. All the plates we asked for were perfectly prepared and the guacamole dessert is out of this world. The prices starts from about $8.00 and up to $18.00, but there are plates for $30.00 to be shared by 2. Always remember that the drinks are the ones that makes the final price go up as any other restaurant. So, behave yourselves and try to drink and eat according to your budget. This restaurant is real close to Plaza Las Americas Mall at the same avenue, about 20 minutes from Old San Juan and the Isla Verde area hotels as well.

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank feliveli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2017 via mobile

Great food tasty, on time, really good Mexican ingredients, same flavor as in Mexico! Nice attention , great Mariachi , we got a great time on the restaurant, fast service and very attentive. Recommended 100 %.

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank HiramClaudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2017

To expensive, I like the Mariachi but they ignore us, we were two people:( I think this restaurant is for people who really wants to espend money.

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank Dorarjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Margarita's also viewed

 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Margarita's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing