We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful little gem”
Review of El Farolito

El Farolito
Ranked #5 of 47 Nightlife in San Juan
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: El Farolito Is a small chill out bar where neighbors and local artists hang out regularly, we offer all sorts of mixed drinks, wines, beers and tapas. Its decorated exclusively with puerto rican artwork and features local artists projects. Its considered an alternative art space in the city and the best local bar. were located at sol street # 277 Old San Juan , Puerto Rico
Abbotsford, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful little gem”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

My boyfriend and I had previously read on trip advisor that El Farolito was highly recommended--and we couldn't agree more! We went to it on our last night in Old San Juan and spent around 5 hours there playing chess on the bar's counter. The bartender was also so sweet and very friendly. It was such a blast and I wish we'd gone earlier to it in our trip. Will definitely go back again!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank zanniepop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    1
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Best Little Bar You'd Never Find”
Reviewed January 12, 2012

El Farolito has the best mofongo in Old San Juan (get the yuca, so flaky and delicious!) The waitstaff is phenomenal - always ready with a suggestion and bawdy tale. For a nightcap, try their Chichaito - and be sure to ask for the name translation. Perhaps best of all, this locals-loved bar is overlooked by most of the cruise-goers, saving you the rampant rudeness from tourists.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Alyson_Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
1 review
“great place”
Reviewed December 11, 2011

My boyfriend and me stumbled upon this bar- and boy are we happy we did! It's a local bar that caters to ppl living/working/studying in old san juan. But when u walk in- the last thing u feel like is an outsider. The owner, bartender and regulars there embraced us like their own. It felt like we had been going to that bar for ages. The bartender ( Iguardo ) who was serving us at 6PM soon joined us on the other side of the bar once his shift got over. The owner is a young, ambitious guy ( Tony ) who happens to be an artist as well. He's got an interesting collection displayed in his bar. We had a fun filled night- full of story telling, hearty laughs and trying different kinds of drinks. We found our hangout place away from home.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank meera s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia, United States
1 review
“Great Local Flavor”
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Great local bar to get the flavor of Old San Juan. We started our night there every night and most of the time ended there as well. Owner is great. A MUST visit if in Old San Juan.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique & excellent!”
Reviewed August 10, 2011

I was walking down the streets looking for the seaport and I just pass near it. It was love at first sight, I couldn't miss the opportunity to enter. A bohemian style bar... Artistic & Intimate! (Good prices too!) It would be impossible for our inner traveler and poet not being inspired here.

Helpful?
1 Thank Maritere03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Farolito also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to El Farolito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing