We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it again!”
Review of Hotel El Convento

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel El Convento
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Loved it again!”
Reviewed March 1, 2006

This was our second time staying at the El Convento Hotel for one night before our cruise.

The staff was very pleasant from the moment we arrived until the moment we left.

Our room was very clean and a very good size.

We ate in the tapas restaurant in the hotel and had a very good meal with very good service.

It is a little pricey, but we think it is worth every penny.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank CAG5563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,964
    509
    134
    76
    28
See reviews for
434
1,562
98
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2006

We stayed at the El Convento only one night, en route to Vieques. Although it was a bit pricey and not quite as plush as I expected, it was a real treat. A very classy place, with high ceilings and comfortable beds. The staff was excellent, the food was terrific, and we could walk to all the Old San Juan historical sites. The wine and cheese reception was so good, we took a pass on dinner and just had some tapas in the second-floor tapas bar.

If you go, be sure to check out the painting of Christ in the hallway just outside the restaurant area. I swear it looks like he's talking on a cell phone!!!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Getmearumpunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern NJ
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2006

El Convento is an exceptional hotel with a great location in the absolute center of all the action in old San Juan. We were a family of four who stayed there last week and loved it. Our room turned out to be a big suite right next to the rooftop pool area and a staircase from there led us down to the patio area where they serve wine and cheese each evening. The room had a plasma TV and another TV in the living room and a Bose cd/radio and had a really nice, quaint period feel.

The wine and cheese was a cut above what other places serve free. Excellent cheese selection and surprisingly decent wine, the Rioja was a $20 bottle retail!!

The courtyard and food in the restaurant were also very good.

Strongly recommend this place. One tip, don't miss ice-cream at the Ben and Jerry's up the street from the hotel. Trust me this is the best Ben & Jerry's you will ever go to!!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AKR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston,ma
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2006

El Convento is by far the best place to stay in Old San Juan, the interesting part of this large city. While the rooms are not large, they are quiet (internal glass door inside the corridor door)and full of superb amenitities. A large plasma TV, a Bose Wave radio and the strongest shower that we have ever experienced. Breakfast or lunch in the patio dining room is a wonderful oasis from the teeming outside activity and, unlike other hotels, El Convento is on a relatively quiet street. We found everyone at the hotel to be friendly.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank baskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2006

Is this the Ritz Carlton? No. Does it pretend to be? No. This is an absolutely charming hotel located right in Old San Juan. Wonderful architecture and character you cant get in most places in San Juan. Yes, the prices can be high, but we got a great deal and the room was clean, comfortable, and the service friendly and attentitive (if a big slow, but that is pretty par for the island). When you are looking for a distinctivly Puerto Rican experience, but dont want to trade off some of the luxuries of home, this is a great place to do it.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank princeton12321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2006

I made a reservation for four days. On arrival, there was no bellman, so I found room 217 myself. The room was next to an electrical generator which vibrated noisily --- and the air-conditioner was very loud. I asked for a room change and they put me in 321. I enjoy reading on vacation. There was no comfortable chair with an adjacent light. When I tried to read in bed, it slid away from the wall because it was on wheels. And the draperies were ripped. The third room had a chair, but no light next to it. So I shoved the chair into the entry area and read there. Overall, the rooms are dark.

I thought the breakfasts were poorly presented, more like a diner. In the lunch restaurant, the service was terrible.

The swimming pool is 6 x 10 feet and the lounge chairs there were taken most of the time. The bathrooms are very small. There was a nice porch where one could sit out and read or visit.

The hotel building has great charm. The people working there are friendly. El Convento seems to me more like a three-star hotel. It is not luxurious, but “generally pleasant. I thought $397 a night for a single was too much. I would not return.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank webwiz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Haven, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2006

We loved this place. It's in a beautiful section of a fascinating city. It's not easy to taxi to because the traffic is awful and the streets are so narrower. However, the hotel is lovely inside & out & worth the crazy taxi drive. Our room (Room 206)was quiet, cozy, & pretty. We had a great view of the cathedral across the way. We enjoyed the nightly manager's wine & cheese party (they need to include chocolate). The exercise room was well-equipped with machines that worked. One disappointment was the breakfast restaurant on the ground level. It was VERY expensive, not enough food, and SLOW service. The same could be said for the hotel's bar. We quickly learned to go to some local places for speedy, delicious, & cheap breakfast meals rather than waste our time & money eating at the hotel. The roof top pool and deck area was absolutely perfect for reading & people watching & sun bathing. We loved it!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank flosue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
2.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
12.0 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
0.3 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#6 of 47 in San Juan
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 47 in San Juan
7,050 reviews
20.0 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
2.0 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Convento

Property: Hotel El Convento
Address: 100 Cristo St | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Juan
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#1 Business Hotel in San Juan
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel El Convento 4.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Old San Juan, Hotel El Convento has set new standards of luxury, comfort and service while preserving the rich character of this former 16th century convent. This landmark treasure, a member of Historic Hotels of America and Small Luxury Hotels of the World, has earned four diamonds from AAA each year since its opening. This is the exclusive hotel experience to indulge the most discriminating of travelers, and is a hotel like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel El Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Convento San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing