We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I agree with Victor of New York” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel El Convento

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel El Convento
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“I agree with Victor of New York”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2005

The hotel is absolutely beautiful and the location cannot be beat! Everything you could possibly want or need are right here, practically on your door step. One word of advice, if you need directions - ask the bellmen instead of front desk.

I am still here with my husband at El Convento on our last night. We have been here for 4 days and all 4 days have had periodic downpours throughout. Our room also leaked. After informing the front desk of this problem, we were disappointed that the staff tried to pass it off as condensation from the air conditioning. The leaks are so bad that at one point it soaked the bed on one side! We have since pulled our bed from the wall to avoid sleeping on a water bed and placed towels on the floor (by the way, housekeeping keeps replacing our towels even though we hang them up daily to show that we would like to keep them).

Having said all that, we were moved from a standard room to a junior suite on our second night here even though we booked for a deluxe room (which is a really nice bonus). Unfortunately it is the suite that is leaking but wild horses wouldn't drag us out of here for the space!

The Tapas bar at the hotel is very good and has great ambience. We have not tried Cafe Bohemio.

You can visit the Barcardi Rum Distillery by catching a ferry from Pier 2 at the waterfront (5 minute walk from El Convento) to Catano ($0.50) and take a taxi to the Distillery ($3.00).

All in all a great experience with few disappointments.

Stayed November 2005
Helpful?
8 Thank FlashPackingIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,886
    493
    130
    76
    27
See reviews for
403
1,507
96
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (524)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2005

My husband and I just returned from a trip to Puerto Rico, staying 6 nights at the Hotel Elconvento...October 10-16th. After booking our room through Travelocity, we had a bit of a problem when we arrived in that the staff stated our room was a superior instead of the deluxe booked. Upon showing them proof, we were happily given room 501. During our first night, San Juan experiened more than average rainfall and our room had a couple leaks (one in the bathroom and one from the ceiling); Also we were unable to make telephone calls to the US mainland through the telephone system from the rooms. We informed the desk of our problems of leakage and were cheerfully transferred to room 510, which had a better view of San Juan Bay. This room was very satisfactory and nicely appointed with it's decor. Our CD player did not work, however. The room was clean and comfortable.

Dining at The Elconvento was a bit 'iffy' as the Bistro was closed for refurbishing. We enjoyed our breakfast each morning in the inner courtyard (when it was not raining)..however, breakfast was a bit high-priced ($39 for two of bacon and eggs, toast, juice and coffee). There were a few times the lift did not work as well. We are assuming that the heavy rains were responsible for the malfunction.

The pub, El Picateo was lovely and offers not only drinks but light snacks such as tappas and sandwiches. In the evening dinners are available as well. Rich Puerto Rican music wafts through the bar and restaurant sitting.

From 6-7PM is free wine/cheese offerings. The cheeses were nothing special, however, the many wines were lovely.

The corridors are lovely and the terraces are beautifully lit. Many different plants, flowers, and trees line the hallways and terraces, giving a romantic air to the hotel.

The swimming pool and hot tub are very small, but clean and there is ample area for sunning. There is a lovely view from the swimming area as well as the terraces.

There is free internet access in the library.

Hotel Elconvento is centrally situated nicely in Old San Juan and in convenient walking distance to all attractions. The city is very hilly, so wear comfortable footwear! Just a few blocks away from the hotel is a trolley (small bus) that will transport you throughout the city for free. There is no need to rent a car if Old San Juan is where you are going to stay for the entire trip. We hired a driver for one day to take us on a tour, visit the Bacardi Rum Distillery, and treated us to an authentic Puerto Rican restaurant for lunch. The cost of this was $120 for 5 hours. There were other tours the concierge desk (same people as the front desk) offers, but dont hesitate to ask to make up your own package. They are most accommodating.

All in all, we found the Hotel Elconvento staff very helpful and friendly. For a 350 year old building, it is well maintained and has more than enough staff to meet your needs. We were a bit disappointed by the housekeeping staff. They made up the bed each day, but towels were not replaced as needed.

I think in the future we would not stay an entire 6 days in Old San Juan, but visit the beaches in Ponce and other areas of interest.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank shannyh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2005

The El Convento was an absolutely georgous hotel right in the best part of Old San Juan. It felt very authentic and sensual, and our experience there could not have been better. You are within walking distance of great restaraunts and shopping on OSJ and the beach is only a 10 min. taxi ride away. Our room was great- the bed was comfy- the plunge pool was just charming- all around perfect! Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rincon Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2005

I stayed at this beautiful hotel over the past weekend. The staff was friendly and helpful. Nice setting, relaxing and clean. My room was small but cozy. Complementary water is put daily in the refrigerator. And daily complementary wine and cheese is served on the third fl. A great way to relax in the evenings. The swimming pool is small but cute. Perfect when there aren't too many people. I used it at night, and it was great!!!
No need to use the car is staying for a weekend. You will find shops, clubs, bar and restaurant within walking distance. The Spanglish Restaurant offers great food and very inexpensive.
The Old San Juan is like being in another Country.
I highly recommend El Convento Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sookirincon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2005

One always takes a risk when booking a hotel, sight unseen, in an unknown town. Staying at El Convento made me look like an genius.

The hotel is a large, romantically lit facade set on a small plaza. The setting is romatic, relaxing, and a fabulous respite from the busy town, despite being a 2 minute walk from good shopping, art galleries and restaurants.
My wife and I particularly enjoyed the daily wine and cheese offering. It provides a unique opportunity to meet other guests, and watch the sun set before going out on the town.
The service was very good, without being obtrusive, and the rooms clean and comfortable, with high ceilings. Each room has a small cafe table outside the front door, looking out on the central atrium.

I'd highly recommend this hotel if you are more of a city person than a beach person, however the beach is a quick cab ride away. Definitely a great alternative to the cookie-cutter "resort" hotels.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank sahman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, FL
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2005

el convento has an excellent location for a city tour of san jaun -- walking distance to excellent shops, restaurants & clubs. the property is charming and historic, although could use renovation to bring it back to 4-star standards. we found the staff very friendly and able to answer our questions and give excellent advice on shopping, clubs, restaurants, etc.

el convento is no where near a beach. however, a $16 cab ride gets you to their sister property on isla verde -- which is a wide, clean, safe beach with lots of ammenities.

the pool at conventro is small, esp when any children decend and start splashing water into your adult beverage. the rooms and bathrooms nice. overall, convento is a better alternative to the Ritz Carlton. the Ritz was quite crowded and a little worn -- certainly not what I expected hearing it was 5-star.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MiamiBeach1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
enumclaw, washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2005

Bad experience first day--at tapas restaurant in hotel--we were ignored in an empty restaurant by the three or four young male waiters--we finally left without dining. The room was adequate, and the staff at the patio restaurant where we dined the rest of our stay fortunately made up for the bad staff upstairs. The location was good if you could figure out how to get through the maze of one way streets especially at night when police blocked certain streets off. Fortunately I didn't let the worst dining experience I'd ever had ruin a wonderful trip to Puerto Rico.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katyshay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
2.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
2.1 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,658 reviews
12.0 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
7.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,077 reviews
3.6 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Convento

Property: Hotel El Convento
Address: 100 Cristo St | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Juan
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#1 Family Hotel in San Juan
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel El Convento 4.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Old San Juan, Hotel El Convento has set new standards of luxury, comfort and service while preserving the rich character of this former 16th century convent. This landmark treasure, a member of Historic Hotels of America and Small Luxury Hotels of the World, has earned four diamonds from AAA each year since its opening. This is the exclusive hotel experience to indulge the most discriminating of travelers, and is a hotel like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TravelClick, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel El Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Convento San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing