We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous, Intimate hotel”
Review of Hotel El Convento

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel El Convento
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2005

This is a great hotel in Old San Juan -- close to everything -- staff was more than accommodating. Great views of the inner-courtyard; and higher rooms have ocean views. Free internet use; great continental breakfast in the morning; wonderful restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank marham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,762)
There are newer reviews for Hotel El Convento
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,524 - 2,530 of 2,762 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Phoenix, AZ
532
Reviewed May 1, 2005

This hotel was so wonderful to stay at! The staff was OVERLY helpful with our plans and in getting a higher floor room. This hotel is located in the perfect part of Old San Juan. It was absolutely beautiful! We would for sure stay here again on our next trip. Thanks to TripAdvisor we stayed here rather than some of our other options! So thanks to all who write reviews.
This hotel is a MUST if your looking to stay in San Juan, Puerto Rico!!!

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2005

On the way home from our honeymoon in Grenada we had a stop-over in San Juan and missed our connecting flight, so the airline put us up at El Convento for the evening. What a gem of a hotel! The rooms are clean, the staff friendly, and the location superb, and best of all the place has such character and charm. Plus, the tapas restaurant is terrific - such yummy sangria! We loved this hotel so much we are considering a return trip for our first anniversary this coming summer -- one night at El Convento was not nearly enough.

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sar_tor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New York city
213
Reviewed April 28, 2005

thinking about it since I've been back home. I have a completely different view of old San Juan having seen it both at sunset and sunrise and I'll be going back vey soon.

If you'e looking for a slick style delivery like only what's ordinarily the product of one of the bigger hotel chains this place is probably not for you. I mean my TV remote didn't work and I also heard what might have been a neighboring toilet flush very early in the morning and to some of you those two things alone might be enough for a deal breaker but El Convento is so beautiful and interesting and soothing that frankly I didn't much care about either. So if you want something different but very upscale, literary without being snobbish, if you want to see how really beautiful and sleepy old San Juan is early in the morning or you would enjoy reading at the end of the day on the veranda underneath the shaded rawd iron gazebo enjoying an afternoon coffee or tea while overlooking the 400 year old pastel yellow Cathedral of San Juan you'd love the El Convento Hotel.

I'll be back . . . I loved the room, the food, the privacy, the tapas bar, the ambiance, how the palm trees and lush foliage played with the light all day long providing the most interesting spaces throughout the property. I loved the multi level terraces, the colorful flowers and that beautiful little square right outside.

If I could make one request it would be that maybe a few vegan or macrobiotic type dishes would be added to whats already a delicious menu just so people who really like to eat light or smart or vegan can find lets say a soy burger or veggie burger or mahi mahi burger or a seitan or tempeh dish. No need to make a big deal about it but it would be great to know its there . . . and I bet many of your guests would like to have a chnage of pace every now and then.

I think if you keep in mind what the El Convento Hotel is and more importantly what it is not, you'll have an unforgettable experience staying there.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2005

My husband and I stayed here in March when our flight to Guadeloupe was cancelled and we found ourselves stuck in San Juan for a night. Our stay could not have been nicer. From the moment we arrived we loved this place. Gorgeous hotel with soaring ceilings, Spanish arches and a stunning courtyard around which the rooms are built. This place manages to combine the best of old world elegance with contemporary style. And, the added bonus is that the service from all staff we encountered (including waiters in the restaurant) was efficient, warm and hospitable. We arrived about 10:30 PM starving and were delighted with the tapas restaurant. The rooms are a tad on the small side but the ambiance, service and sheer good taste more than compensate. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank EmilieV7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
West Caldwell, New Jersey
13
Reviewed April 10, 2005

We are big "Short Vacation" people and this was the best !

Our four days and three nights could not have been better.

The room, pool, wine & cheese parties, food, furnishings, art work, statuary etc. were all outstanding but the best part of all were the people--------- they catered to our every need and made us feel relaxed and comfortable.

Thank you all and we'll see you again.

Mary Anne & Bill

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
The T-Dot (Toronto)
18
Reviewed March 22, 2005

Wow,

This place was so pretty and charming, so much character. It's hard to find such places these days to stay in. The service was great - the conceirge (sp?) was so helpful in booking tours . . . we went with Rafeal to the rainforest - it was great !

We didn't eat at the restaurant but the courtyard and rooms were lovely. The free wine and cheese was awesome.

If you want charm, history, great hotel - stay here ! If you are looking for huge pools with swim up bars and slides - stay away !!!!!!!!!!!

One of the best i have stayed in - period.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
2.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
12.0 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
20.0 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 47 in San Juan
962 reviews
2.2 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 47 in San Juan
7,192 reviews
2.8 mi away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 47 in San Juan
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Convento

Address: 100 Cristo St | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Juan
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#1 Business Hotel in San Juan
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: $203 - $598 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel El Convento 4.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Old San Juan, Hotel El Convento has set new standards of luxury, comfort and service while preserving the rich character of this former 16th century convent. This landmark treasure, a member of Historic Hotels of America and Small Luxury Hotels of the World, has earned four diamonds from AAA each year since its opening. This is the exclusive hotel experience to indulge the most discriminating of travelers, and is a hotel like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel El Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Convento San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing