We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly Remarkable Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel El Convento

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel El Convento
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
191 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Truly Remarkable Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

Everything you read here that is positive about this remarkable hotel is true and then some. We stayed four nights exploring all that old Sal Juan has to offer and probably took more pictures of the hotel than all the others combined.

While the rooms are small (it is a former convent 350+ years old, so sisters did not exactly have spacious quarters) they are elegant and modern in every sense of the word. The high vaulted ceilings, period decor and ultra modern bathrooms, combined with the beautiful courtyards with outdoor restaurants and the chapel that is now used for receptions make for a very special stay, well worht the price.

This is not a hotel to just stay in on your way to or from a cruise, it is a destination to be expienced and enjoyed. Ask for room 106 or 107 which have a second enclosed outdoor sitting area that almost makes the room double the size.

Room Tip: 106 or 107 see above. At first we were bummed as these rooms are on the first floor but they are mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bankerchas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfredo A, General Manager at Hotel El Convento, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Charles -

As previously conversed; thank you for your visit and the positive feedback. I am also thankful for your recommendations and we are diligently working on them.

See you soon!

Alfredo Arroyo
aarroyo@elconvento.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,911
    501
    133
    76
    28
See reviews for
417
1,526
97
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

We love staying at El Convento when we stop over in San Juan en route to other Caribbean destinations. We love the old building and the incredible location. We have always found the rooms well appointed and love the wine and cheese hour. Our favorite routine is stopping for a glass of sipping rum as a night cap on our way up to the rooms. The bartenders are always able to recommend the best rums and the ambiance can't be beat. And I have to say - anyplace that serves the coffee with a carafe of warmed milk is a win in my book.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yellopepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
Level Contributor
174 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

This is a wonderful and unique hotel property. We stayed for four nights-- a quick long weekend vacation. The location is fantastic , but the best part is the customer service. They are a 5 star customer service property. My parents (age 84) joined us. They made a special effort to assist them, give recommendations on places where they could walk and enjoy without to much effort, and great restaurant recommendations within easy walking distance.
I especially want to highlight their patio and tapas restaurants. Great food. You have to try the flan--it is outstanding! Plus take advantage of the wine and cheese each night, then go to the 4th floor and sit in the pool and relax.
We will be back again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TallyHoNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

I highly recommend this amazing restaurant. I am a discerning traveler and I have eaten at many restaurants around the world, but the Hotel El Convento restaurant is truly special. The menu is amazing and we were served by a wonderful waiter, Matthew, who provided recommendations on the menu from the wine, to the appetizers, to the main course and the dessert. We took all of his recommendations and were truly pleased. The wine went well with the meal, and the appetizers were succulent. My sister had the red snapper as her main course, and I had the filet mignon, with a blue cheese sauce. It was probably the best steak I have had anywhere. A really cool dessert too...a basil panacotta, with basil grown at the hotel.
The service was great, the food was amazing and the setting in a middle courtyard, outside was also lovely.
If you are in San Juan, make sure you go to this restaurant. It will be a special, memorable, evening for you

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pajomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, AZ
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

Have already posted reviews of the three restaurants. For a place of this size and rating, thought that would be better. Learned that what they call a Veranda and what I call one are different. Thought I would be able to step out on it, but all you can do is open the door and look out. We had one overlooking the bay and all the buildings in between. Just not great like I was expecting.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akinken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfredo A, General Manager at Hotel El Convento, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Guest -

I appreciate your observations. The Hotel El Convento building is a historic structure with all of the unique characteristics of the Spanish Colonial era. I am disappointed that our Hotel configuration was not what you expected. If I may be of assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Regards,

Alfredo Arroyo
aarroyo@elconvento.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a 4 day trip to PR. I decided for us to stay at el convento for our entire stay, because we are not necessarily beach people and we wanted a mini-European style getaway. This place was perfect.

Our room, 516, was a deluxe queen and had a lovely view of rooftops and the bay. it was very clean, with a nice large bathroom. the room size was good, i think it could have actually held a king bed. The decor of the room is lovely with a pretty and colorful painting scheme of terra cotta and blue accents.

the public space of the hotel is truly the star. the courtyard is beautiful and just spending a few minutes overlooking the terrace was great. the wine hour at the 3rd floor was a great way to unwind everyday, and we enjoyed the atmosphere and view. we used the pool and jacuzzi one night, and it was awesome to look out over the city lights and see the ships go by. We loved the tasty free coffee every morning and seeing Trixie the hotel cat everyday was a treat!

even though it appeared as though the hotel was full, it was very quiet and had a relaxed 5-star atmosphere.

They offer a pass to 2 sister hotels with beach access, and we chose the La Concha, It was a very nice mod hotel with very nice pool and beach amenities, the day pass also gave us free beach lounge, towels and umbrellas ( a 20$ value). it was perfect for us to have one beach day.

the hotel is in the center of everything and it is really easy to get around from there. be warned, san juan is not for people who are not used to walking around, the traffic is congestied, and the streets and sidewalks are a bit rough. If you want some old world romance though, this is the place for you!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Inkylouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tecumseh, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

Our family of five rented two rooms for one night after a southern Caribbean cruise. We wanted to see Old San Juan's forts and tour the old walled city. El Convento was a real gem. It was about a 6-7 block walk from the pier. Pretty hilly and if you have a lot of luggage you'll want to rent a cab. We had backpacks and the walk was a delight. We arrived at the hotel at about 9:00am so of course our rooms were not ready. We left our luggage at the hotel and toured until our rooms were ready at about 2:00pm.

The swimming pool and hot tub were cozy (small) but the area had a sitting area and they offer free bottles of ice water and coffee. At 6:00pm they have complementary wines, fruits and cheeses. It was enjoyable.

The rooms were comfortable and quiet. Nice size with comfortable beds. The staff was helpful and friendly. There are two restaurants inside the hotel and many nearby. My wife and I had breakfast and it was quite good. The coffee was exceptional. This is a great hotel for a romantic stay. I'm not sure id stay there with small children.

I would definitely recommend Hotel El Convento. It was a great hub while visiting old San Juan's historic sites.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ericsrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
2.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
2.2 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,776 reviews
12.0 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
2.0 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
20.0 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Convento

Property: Hotel El Convento
Address: 100 Cristo St | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Juan
#1 Business Hotel in San Juan
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel El Convento 4.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Old San Juan, Hotel El Convento has set new standards of luxury, comfort and service while preserving the rich character of this former 16th century convent. This landmark treasure, a member of Historic Hotels of America and Small Luxury Hotels of the World, has earned four diamonds from AAA each year since its opening. This is the exclusive hotel experience to indulge the most discriminating of travelers, and is a hotel like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel El Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Convento San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing