We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Venesa is awesome! !”
Review of Hotel El Convento

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel El Convento
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful brunch... setting was lovely - outside under the trees, cool breeze, great food. But the best part was our server Vanesa! Fun, funny and a great representative of the hotel and her wonderful city!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank tcpc90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,762)
There are newer reviews for Hotel El Convento
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,126 - 1,132 of 2,762 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2014

Second time staying here. We did a weekend with the whole family the attention to detail its incredible. One of the best managed hotels that i have seen. Its expensive but you pay for what you get. Its right in the middle of old san juan within walking distance of many ammenities. All 3 restaurants are delicious.

Room Tip: 4th floor makes it incredibly easy to go to the pool.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alfredoalv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights before setting sail at the pier. It is by far the most unique hotel we have ever stayed at. Our room was right off the court yard which at first scared us do to noise. That was not an issue here. Special soundproof doors block it all out. The room had a separate sun porch with a fountain and a place to sit and relax. By far the best ammenity! This is not the hotel if your looking for a resort beach vaca. This is a classy hotel enriched with culture. If you want to explore Old San Juan stay here! The best food we found close tothe hotel was upstairs at the hotel restaurant & next door at the pizza & beer joint. If our travels ever lead us back to old san juan PR we will stay here.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank adeliac06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Our stay at El Convento was nothing short of perfect. The staff is professional and extremely guest friendly. The room was lovely (small by American standards but we are spoiled), location was absolutely perfect, everything was as it should always be. We enjoyed the wine and cheese reception every evening with an excellent selection of very nice vintages. There is even entertainment but it is not what you would expect. Hint; watch the tree when the sun is setting. The tapas bar was lovely with Wilfred happily serving as bartender and offering excellent night life suggestions outside of the hotel. I cannot imagine ever choosing a different hotel when I visit San Juan again which I certainly intend on doing often. Thank You El Convento for a lovely experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloridaJ11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

One of the very best parts of our recent vacation. This hotel is a gem. Right in the middle of old San Juan, walking distance to shopping and many options for dining. We had Tapas on the patio and it was a magical experience. You truly do feel like you are in your own little world. Staff is gracious and the rooms have an old world (but very updated) charm. It was all I could do to keep my husband from going home with the pillows as the beds and bedding were amazing. I can't say enough about this hotel and would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel El Convento for 2 nights prior to a cruise. The location is fabulous, right in the heart of Old San Juan. You are within walking distance of both El Morro and Castille San Cristobal and the old city walls as well as many restaurants and shops. The hotel itself is very nicely maintained – our room was small, but nicely kept. We had reserved a queen/double vista, and had a nice room on the 4th floor overlooking the entrance to San Juan harbor. There are extra dark light blocking curtains, which allowed us to take a short nap the afternoon we arrived. The hotel has free wifi, which was fast enough for us to watch a movie on our ipad. The bathroom was small, but had Aveda products and decent water pressure. There is also a small refrigerator with some complimentary bottled water and a small coffee maker as well. The AC works fairly well, and there is an inside door to seal off the room, which kept it cool and restricted any noise coming from the courtyard area. They provide complimentary bottled water in a guest lounge on the 3rd floor and have a nice wine and cheese event nightly from 6-7pm. It’s a nice open area to sit with a good breeze, so we did appreciate it. There is a very small pool area on the 4th floor, but it’s more of a sunny area with a pool the size of a hot tub, so don’t plan on any laps! It connects with the guest lounge on the 3rd floor, so you can easily go down to grab some water if you wanted. The hotel has a relationship with 2 beachfront hotels in the Condado area, and if you wish a beach day, you can get a pass and take a cab over there. We overheard some people talking about it and they seemed to have had a good experience. The staff was extremely friendly and willing to answer any questions. There was a wedding reception in the courtyard and restaurant our second night, but once in your room with the door shut, we didn’t hear a peep.
Why not 5 stars? One reason, check in process. Official check in time is 4pm, we arrived about 1230pm and I had notified the hotel in advance that we would be arriving early and would appreciate early check in if available – they replied they would do their best, but it wasn’t guaranteed (which I totally understand) After checking in and storing our bags (because the room was not ready) they told us to come back about 230-3pm and our room “should be available” At 315pm, when we came back to check, no not ready yet, but only a few minutes, please check back again. Okay, waiting in the courtyard (and we are somewhat exhausted from our red-eye flight as well) and go back at 345pm. No, not yet, so sorry, we were full last night, please have these complimentary sangria coupons for our bar. Finally, at 415pm, went back yet again and they finally called someone to find out when it would be ready. Oh, it is already? Finally we got upstairs for a shower and a nap.
I totally understand the 4pm check in – but we were held beyond that AND I had to keep checking back. What would have been preferable, if they took our cell phone and called us when it was ready – and had a more effective process in determining when our room was ready, because who knows if it had been ready earlier. It just made the check in day much harder for us than we had hoped, and we could have done something else that afternoon if we had known the room was going to be so delayed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nerrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

I've been to San Juan twice now and both times have stayed at this hotel - I can not recommend it highly enough. Excellent customer service, clean with lovely fittings, overall good value for a wonderful stay. Highly recommended!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank penny7800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
2.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
12.0 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
20.0 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 47 in San Juan
962 reviews
2.2 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 47 in San Juan
7,192 reviews
2.8 mi away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 47 in San Juan
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Convento

Address: 100 Cristo St | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#1 Family Hotel in San Juan
#1 Business Hotel in San Juan
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: $203 - $598 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel El Convento 4.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Old San Juan, Hotel El Convento has set new standards of luxury, comfort and service while preserving the rich character of this former 16th century convent. This landmark treasure, a member of Historic Hotels of America and Small Luxury Hotels of the World, has earned four diamonds from AAA each year since its opening. This is the exclusive hotel experience to indulge the most discriminating of travelers, and is a hotel like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel El Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Convento San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing