We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“See Old San Juan in style”
Review of Hotel El Convento

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel El Convento
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Atglen PA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“See Old San Juan in style”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We had an unfortunate stay at El Convento last week- unfortunate in that it only lasted 1 day. We had a flight change that necessitated a single night's stay and there was an opening for us! We took a cab from SJU ($23+tip) and were there in 20 minutes. While we were early for check-in they were more than happy to take our luggage and cell #. They called us within the hour and we were happily ensconced in a lovely room. Everyone we encountered was both nice and efficient. We enjoyed a bite and beverage in the courtyard, we had wine & cheese at the complmentary "happy hour", and the service was top notch all around. Walking distance to everything in OSJ- shops, bars, restaurants, and historic offerings. We'll return for a long weekend soon and wouldn't look any further.

Room Tip: Try the third floor, that's where the wine & cheese is, as well as the complimentary water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dmglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,928
    504
    134
    76
    28
See reviews for
421
1,537
98
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orleans, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

We had looked forward for years for a chance to stay here, and had heard such generally fine reviews. It is not at all what we expected. Our room was cluttered and out of date and a bit shabby, frankly. Unclean rug, smelly hard pillow, messy details. The food in all of the restaurants was in some cases almost inedible, never more than mediocre. (I think these are franchises, but they reflect badly on the hotel). Staff were great. Location superb. What's wrong here? No competition?

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank patricia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

It helped that a colleague lives in PR so when she recommended this hotel I knew I should book it! We weren't disappointed: it has a marvellous Caribbean charm, and was a great stop prior to a weeks cruise around the Caribbean. The old world charm extends beyond the hotel into the cobbled streets, this place is so worth exploring by foot: it is steeped in history. They had a re-enactment weekend while we were there (celebrating the defeat of us Brits!) with loads of actors dressed in period costumes and mock skirmishes being staged which added to the atmosphere. The hotel is far nicer than the modern glass offerings on Isla Verde, it is a jewel in San Juan. Well done to the staff who were always helpful and friendly, the rooms whilst not large were well looked after and of a high standard. it is a popular Hotel for wedding receptions so always a good atmosphere and and huge swathes of fresh flowers. All the people we met enjoyed their stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gingerwizard5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
444 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We stopped in for drinks in the courtyard. It's a hidden oasis in the middle of the city. Pricey but so relaxing! Worth it if you need to get out of the sun and put your feet up.

I've never seen the rooms but the entry, public restrooms and courtyard are lovely.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Fl
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Old world luxury and charm. Beautiful rooms, superior staff. Personal attention second to none, The property is filled with nooks and terraces where you can curl up to get away from it all. The entire experience is dreamy! This is was my second trip to the hotel. I will be returning. I absolutely adore this place!!! The staff is almost like family. Their love and kindness for each other translates throughout the property. It makes for a great experience. The art and decor make you feel like you have been transported back in time.

Room Tip: The rooms are not uniform. The Third floors hosts wine and cheese in the afternoon. The 4th floor ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GGPatterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

This was a 3 night break after a busy few month's to recharge batteries. The staff were extremely helpful. However the hotel itself is desperately in need of some TLC. We were on the 5th floor in a suite with a terrace. The terrace was lovely but unfortunately there wasn't any shade so it wasn't for me. Trash lorries woke us up every morning as their hotel collection area was next to but below our terrace area. The room itself was small and the small sitting area was windowless. The cheese and wine at 6 til 7pm on the 3rd floor was good and we met some lovely people. Security was good as you had to use your key for the elevator and there were gates on each stairway which you also needed your key for. Altogether a lovely hotel but in all honesty I probably wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
150 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Stayed at El Convento in Sept 2013 (see previous review) and just returned from a girls getaway. This is absolutely the place to stay to get the flavor of Old San Juan. Perfect location, lovely rooms, nice restaurant and friendly staff. You can't beat that! Well, you can ...because they have extra amenities that make you feel at home, like the 6pm to 7pm Happy Hour with wine, cheese, crackers and grapes, and free ice water and coffee round the clock, lounge areas to relax, friendly bartenders and right outside the hotel a lovely little plaza where a man with a guitar serenades you every evening. The historic church is across the street, as is the taxi stand with van taxis that can take large parties so you don't have to take separate cabs. Just down the steps a block you come out to the Wall with its Guard turrets along the bay,and down half a block is the Old Gate which leads to a promenade.
The crowning jewel at this hotel is the friendly staff eager to help from the first morning greeting to the last goodnight. Just an example, we had bought a bottle of wine and a cheap corkscrew at Walgreens (just a couple of blocks away) for a nightcap in our room. When we tried to open the bottle, the handle of the corkscrew broke leaving the metal screw imbedded in the cork still in the bottle. We called the front desk and asked for a corkscrew and they immediately sent the young lady from the wine bar to open it for us. She took our bottle down and within five minutes brought it back, magically opened with a clean cork in it and wished us Cheers!
Highly recommend this place, with its historic rooms, open air patio restaurant, GREAT location and excellent customer service. Don't miss this delight!

Room Tip: Stayed in 504 with two double beds. Corner room with window facing the pool area. Not as quiet as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bostonqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
2.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
2.2 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,878 reviews
12.0 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
2.0 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
20.0 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Convento

Property: Hotel El Convento
Address: 100 Cristo St | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Juan
#1 Business Hotel in San Juan
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel El Convento 4.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Old San Juan, Hotel El Convento has set new standards of luxury, comfort and service while preserving the rich character of this former 16th century convent. This landmark treasure, a member of Historic Hotels of America and Small Luxury Hotels of the World, has earned four diamonds from AAA each year since its opening. This is the exclusive hotel experience to indulge the most discriminating of travelers, and is a hotel like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelClick, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel El Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Convento San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing