We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel El Convento”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel El Convento

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel El Convento
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Hotel El Convento”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

This was a 3 night break after a busy few month's to recharge batteries. The staff were extremely helpful. However the hotel itself is desperately in need of some TLC. We were on the 5th floor in a suite with a terrace. The terrace was lovely but unfortunately there wasn't any shade so it wasn't for me. Trash lorries woke us up every morning as their hotel collection area was next to but below our terrace area. The room itself was small and the small sitting area was windowless. The cheese and wine at 6 til 7pm on the 3rd floor was good and we met some lovely people. Security was good as you had to use your key for the elevator and there were gates on each stairway which you also needed your key for. Altogether a lovely hotel but in all honesty I probably wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,914
    502
    133
    76
    28
See reviews for
418
1,527
97
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
151 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

Stayed at El Convento in Sept 2013 (see previous review) and just returned from a girls getaway. This is absolutely the place to stay to get the flavor of Old San Juan. Perfect location, lovely rooms, nice restaurant and friendly staff. You can't beat that! Well, you can ...because they have extra amenities that make you feel at home, like the 6pm to 7pm Happy Hour with wine, cheese, crackers and grapes, and free ice water and coffee round the clock, lounge areas to relax, friendly bartenders and right outside the hotel a lovely little plaza where a man with a guitar serenades you every evening. The historic church is across the street, as is the taxi stand with van taxis that can take large parties so you don't have to take separate cabs. Just down the steps a block you come out to the Wall with its Guard turrets along the bay,and down half a block is the Old Gate which leads to a promenade.
The crowning jewel at this hotel is the friendly staff eager to help from the first morning greeting to the last goodnight. Just an example, we had bought a bottle of wine and a cheap corkscrew at Walgreens (just a couple of blocks away) for a nightcap in our room. When we tried to open the bottle, the handle of the corkscrew broke leaving the metal screw imbedded in the cork still in the bottle. We called the front desk and asked for a corkscrew and they immediately sent the young lady from the wine bar to open it for us. She took our bottle down and within five minutes brought it back, magically opened with a clean cork in it and wished us Cheers!
Highly recommend this place, with its historic rooms, open air patio restaurant, GREAT location and excellent customer service. Don't miss this delight!

Room Tip: Stayed in 504 with two double beds. Corner room with window facing the pool area. Not as quiet as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bostonqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

El Convento is a top notch hotel. My sister booked a three night stay for the two of us to go away to celebrate my 50th birthday. She said that we were staying at El Convento and that it looked beautiful on the website. This place is magical. We were treated so well by the staff. They are genuine and caring and went above and beyond (including truffles in a martini glass left in our room one evening). The wine and cheese reception, which is held every evening is amazing. A never ending cheese board and an impressive selection of whites and reds. Needless to say, we made it to that reception every evening we were there :) The hotel is hard to describe - mostly it's a feeling - a feeling of being welcome, that makes El Convento so special. I would stay here again in a minute. Oh, did I mention the hot tub out on the roof - views of the water and town are unbelievable. LOVED IT HERE and didn't want to leave. Old San Juan is charming and this hotel makes the whole package complete.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scoopjackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

My wife and I stayed her for three nights on our honeymoon to Puerto Rico in August. We were hesitant to staying in the city because we wanted to relax, however we read great reviews about Old San Juan and thought we'd make the most of our trip to the island. I can say that this was the best decision. The hotel was beautiful. The location is perfect for seeing Old San Juan (which is a great area). The staff was amazing and on top of everything. They knew it was our honeymoon and gave us a larger room (which our other hotel on the trip did not do). The hotel had great character to it, and the happy hour did not disappoint. My wife and I are looking forward to coming back on an anniversary one day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dhollis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EROSA, General Manager at Hotel El Convento, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Mr/Mrs. Dhollis 1,

Congratulations on your honeymoon. I am so glad that you chose to stay with us. Thank you for your positive comments about our property and staff. I truly hope that you have the opportunity to visit us again next year for your anniversary or before if possible.

Best regards,

Efrain Rosa
General Manager
erosa@elconvento.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reston va
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

One of best hotel experiences we've ever had. The historic charm of the location along with wonderful service, and well appointed rooms were near perfection.

One day we hope to get back to old San Juan just to stay here again. BTW, old San Juan was an unexpected charm as well. Feels like Europe close by USA -- well, technically is USA.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agent1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

We were lucky enough to get a reservation at this Old San Juan location. We could walk everywhere. We loved the wine and cheese in the afternoon and enjoyed the hot tub on the top floor open to the moon and the sky.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmetto, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay! It was perfect from start to finish! I highly recommend this lovely hotel - for the location, the ambiance and the food. Old San Juan is filled with great shops and wonderful food!

Room Tip: Room 519 has a private terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Deborah I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
2.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
2.2 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,780 reviews
12.0 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
2.0 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
20.0 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Convento

Property: Hotel El Convento
Address: 100 Cristo St | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Juan
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#1 Business Hotel in San Juan
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel El Convento 4.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Old San Juan, Hotel El Convento has set new standards of luxury, comfort and service while preserving the rich character of this former 16th century convent. This landmark treasure, a member of Historic Hotels of America and Small Luxury Hotels of the World, has earned four diamonds from AAA each year since its opening. This is the exclusive hotel experience to indulge the most discriminating of travelers, and is a hotel like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel El Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Convento San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing