We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel El Convento
Nearby Hotels
$289
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$275
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$263
$199
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
CasaBlanca Hotel(San Juan)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
El Canario by the Lagoon(San Juan)(Great Value!)
$96
$93
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Tres Palmas Inn(San Juan)(Great Value!)
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$239
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$339
$319
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,845)
Filter reviews
2,845 results
Traveler rating
2,070
530
138
79
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,070
530
138
79
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine and cheesetapas restaurantold san juancourtyard restaurantwine receptionformer conventevery eveningplunge poolpuerto ricoopen courtyardcentral courtyardvista roomthird floorturn down serviceacross the streetour honeymoonbottled water
Filter
Updating list...
1,263 - 1,268 of 2,845 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We were lucky enough to get a reservation at this Old San Juan location. We could walk everywhere. We loved the wine and cheese in the afternoon and enjoyed the hot tub on the top floor open to the moon and the sky.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay! It was perfect from start to finish! I highly recommend this lovely hotel - for the location, the ambiance and the food. Old San Juan is filled with great shops and wonderful food!

Room Tip: Room 519 has a private terrace
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Deborah I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We were fortunate enough to book the Hotel El Convento for a Saturday evening in January. We checked in around 3:00 pm and while finding our way to the 'front desk' was quite an adventure (taxi dropped us off on the wrong side of the hotel) up and down stairs dragging our luggage around, we finally made it. Checked into room 302 overlooking the park across the street from the hotel. Room was quiet, larger than expected, two double beds with nice linens, towels and amenities while clean, clean, clean!! High beamed ceilings with a ceiling fan and heavy wooden doors to close out the early morning sun. The ambiance of this hotel with the courtyard, trees, plants and just quite peacefulness was perfect for us. The patina on the floor was one that can only be found in a centuries old building and gets better with age, BEAUTIFUL! Dropped our bags and hit the sidewalks. Great location with many quality restaurants and bars along with ease of walking to the fort. Diagonal to San Juan Cathedral that was having a very posh wedding at the time - great to sit on the outside common terrace and watch all the goings on with a bit of wine and cheese!
Did not use the plunge pool but looked like people were enjoying it. Did have morning coffee and fruit in on the common terrace and it was a beautiful way to start the day. A street festival was going on a few blocks away and we strolled along and enjoyed it for a few hours, as I mentioned, this hotel is in the heart of a beautiful and vibrant city. Romantic, pretty, peaceful and a great location.
This hotel is also very secure. A key is needed to gain access to common areas and to gain access to all floors. I thought it weird and inconvenient at first but realized the importance later in the evening.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kneadsdough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

My wife and I recently spent a week in Puerto Rico. One of the pleasures when travelling is of course eating out. We did not stay at this hotel but we did eat there twice during our seven days on the island. That says something really great about the food and service.

We ate lunch there twice and it provided a tranquil oasis during the San Sebastian festival. We were lucky enough to have the same waiter, Jose Luis, both times. He was excellent, we were parched from walking and he kept the water coming.

The food was also excellent, my wife got the same thing both times - the chicken wrap - she loved it. I tried the burger the first time and I had the grouper ceviche the second time. Both excellent.

I can only rate this hotel on the food and waiter service but if the rest of the hotel hits the standards we encountered, it would be a great place to stay. The location is probably the best in Old San Juan.

Room Tip: Lunch - don't miss the restaurant.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rykman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

very charming historic hotel in old san juan.comfortable beds.very clean rooms.
just a walk to all the important and historic places like san cristobal fort and la fortaleza(governors house) .In front of the san juan cathedral.near "museo del niño"
breakfast is very good.the pizzeria on the premises pizza e birra has the best pizza in san juan.
the only thing we (my family and i) din't like was that in the interior patio and in the halls
there were a lot of mosquitoes.they bite our legs,and if you don't close the door soon enough
they enter your room and this can be very annoying.
they have a cocktail hour every day were they serve wine and cheese and some fruits in a terrace were you can see the bay and the cathedral.
very nice place to stay .!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yramPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews