We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, but...”
Review of Hotel El Convento

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel El Convento
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2013

El Convento is the place to be if you are looking to explore old town San Juan and find old world charm. The location is great. The staff is also by most interactions... was excellent. (Even though they appeared pulled in too many directions at times). The turn down service and free ice water was a nice surprise.
However, a couple of things a guest may want to know.
1. Air conditioning: be aware the entire complex has no A/C except your immediate room. That would be fine, but the A/C units in the two rooms I was in had trouble keeping up. The room never got cooler than 76, running all day and night. (No ceiling fans) Be ready to be perspiring in and out of your room.
2. Valet and signage: there was never a valet/porter on the front patio helping you with your luggage from the parking across the street, getting a cab, or in general. I had to call at least 3 times for directions driving into town (and drove around the block twice) and never saw where to valet the car until a local pointed me the parking lot. (I would have thought some one would be ever present in this critical welcoming area outside). Also, I think its safer when a representative of the hotel directs you to a taxi, rather than cab drivers hailing you.

Also Note: the only guest elevator was out our entire 5 day stay. We were fine, but I saw many guests and staff struggling with this. Signs went up on day 2, directing us to service elevators if we wanted. I would have thought this would be a emergency for the establishment.

Over all the visit was good and if you are looking to soak in Old San Juan you will be fine here.

Room Tip: Make sure they don't put you next to the plunge pool. The pool motor runs all night. We had to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BJCKMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,800)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,293 - 1,299 of 2,800 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2013

This small, multi-centurian hotel (a former convent) in the center of Old San Juan is your first choice unless you care nothing about the history of this part of the world. In spite of the age of the bones of the building, the rooms, bathrooms, public spaces and amenities are up to date and comfortable, and the staff – without exception -- is friendly and helpful. Spend some time with the first floor afternoon bartender, Luis, and you will have made a new friend for life. For breakfast, lunch and dinner, there are many wonderful restaurants within a short walking distance in addition to the hotel restaurants.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LocalCitizen3939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

My wife and I celebrated an occasion for a few days. We were treated like very special guests and had a fine time. Our room was comfortable, well decorated, and quiet, with a window overlooking a silent pedestrian street, viewing a slice of ocean over the roofs. The third floor coffee/water bar turns into a wine and cheese happening each evening at six. Its terrace, and the pool/sun deck just above, offer super views over the roofs, a shady plaza, and the cathedral just opposite. It is perfectly central, and one may easily walk everywhere. I suggest you not drive, but take a taxi to and from the airport, as the narrow streets are choked and parking is almost non-existent. Those streets are great for walkng and taking a million pictures.
We at a fine meal at their middle restaurant (there are three), and found some super dining spots in the area very close. OSJ is interesting, colorful, friendly and fun. We felt safe on the streets at night, too.
Again, we received what felt like exceptional treatment. One evening at the pool, we were seen by the asst. manager, who returned momentarily with an ice bucket, two glasses, and a bottle of bubbly. What a nice gesture for a special moment under the stars! When we checked out, we were waitng for an evening flight. They offerd us a key to the public spaces, so we could pass the afternoon lounging by the pool. Again...pretty special.
This hotel is, for me, a big splash-out. But.. the cost/value ratio is tops; it's well worth what they ask. I hope to be back soon.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fine, comfortable, quiet, and very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thrilldog99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Hotel El Convento is right in the middle of Old San Juan, which is exactly what we wanted. We were able to easily walk to all of the main points of interest with no problems. Hotel El Convento was very charming and we enjoyed lounging in its patios overlooking the city. The coffee is delicious and the wine and cheese hour from 6-7pm was definitely a perk. There are cats everywhere outside the hotel, but we only saw one or two actually inside the hotel. The cats didn't bother us anyway. The concierge was extremely helpful and I felt like they were really looking out for us. Special shoutout goes to Franklin for helping us find a rental car last minute! The restaurant inside the hotel's courtyard was delicious and if you stay here, consider eating here at least once. We felt very safe walking around Old San Juan during the day and only a little unsafe at night. There were police officers at most of the main intersections which really eased my mind. Overall, staying at Hotel El Convento was a great experience and I would recommend it to anyone considering a stay in Old San Juan!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank acnwtb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stopped in for a cold drink and had a great time. Luis, our bartender, spent quality time with us telling us what to see and even drawing directions on our map. He also gave us pointers on nightlife, other eating establishments, and where to find live music. Our youngest daughter is engaged so when we mentioned this to Luis he provided us wedding information and even gave us a private tour of the ballroom. Needless to say, we were very impressed with Luis and his professionalism. Thank you Luis!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigbearfatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

El Convento helped us coordinate and put together our dream wedding! We cannot put in words how grateful we are to have Ruben Alvarez and his staff help plan the wedding. Many guests thought the food was the best they've ever had at wedding. In addition to the wedding itself, our guests and ourselves really enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Everyone from the front desk and valet are so helpful and carry a positive attitude. We look forward to our next visit to Puerto Rico and plan on staying at El Convento again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apagan4182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Words can't express how thankful we are to the team at El Convento for making our wedding day a night to remember. The historic, and charming hotel is truly a spectacular site and was the perfect venue for our magical and truly memorable wedding. The architecture, and setting wowed our guests and was the perfect backdrop for an amazing wedding in beautiful Old San Juan.

We can't say enough about Ruben, Milagros and their team for their top notch customer service, and kindness. The wait staff and bartenders were amazing -- showing our guests how to have fun island style.

We can't wait to come back to Puerto Rico again. It will forever be a special place for Dave and I -

Thanks again to all our new friends at Hotel El Convento.

Warm regards,

Mel and Dave

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
2.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.1 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 48 in San Juan
256 reviews
0.3 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 48 in San Juan
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 48 in San Juan
855 reviews
3.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
0.2 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#13 of 48 in San Juan
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Convento

Address: 100 Cristo St | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Juan
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#1 Business Hotel in San Juan
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: $254 - $545 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel El Convento 4.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Old San Juan, Hotel El Convento has set new standards of luxury, comfort and service while preserving the rich character of this former 16th century convent. This landmark treasure, a member of Historic Hotels of America and Small Luxury Hotels of the World, has earned four diamonds from AAA each year since its opening. This is the exclusive hotel experience to indulge the most discriminating of travelers, and is a hotel like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelClick, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel El Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Convento San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing