We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Hotel in Old San Juan”
Review of Hotel El Convento

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel El Convento
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Perfect Hotel in Old San Juan”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We just had a fantastic stay at Hotel El Convento. The staff was extremely friendly and always eager to assist us, answer questions, suggest activities, and set up tours for us. The food at all three restaurants was so good, my husband did not want to eat anywhere else! We had breakfast in the beautiful courtyard every morning. We did try some local cuisine, but we always made sure to be back at the hotel for the nightly complimentary wine and cheese reception. Water, tea, coffee, and fruit are also available 24 hrs. a day. The hotel is beautiful and the location in Old San Juan is excellent. If you want to visit the beach, you can get a pass to one of their sister hotels and spend the day enjoying their amenities. We will definitely return to Hotel El Convento!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bunk01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,964
    509
    134
    76
    28
See reviews for
434
1,562
98
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cruz Bay, St. John
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

If you're looking for authentic lodging in Old San Juan, this is your place. The property is a restored convent in the heart of the city. I'm normally not one for historic hotels but this one has been done right - modernized enough to make you feel right at home but with an original feel with wrought iron, tile and color. It's small enough that the staff makes every effort to make you feel more like family than just another guest. You'll be within a mile walking distance to plenty of Old San Juan sites, right across the street from a famous cathedral where Ponce de Leon's remains are contained, and a few blocks away from El Morro and San Cristobal fortresses. You really can't beat the location. There's a small pool and hot tub, a number of gathering spots, pots of fresh herbs growing on the sun deck, outdoor dining, a couple of good restaurants on site and a library with complimentary fresh fruit, coffee and water handy. We would stay here again in a heartbeat. We were celebrating an anniversary and to our surprise, the hotel sent us a bottle of champagne our first night. Very thoughtful. The only thing we would change is the beds - we prefer soft beds and ours was quite firm. Not uncomfortable, just firmer than our taste. TIP: I found a better rate on Expedia than on the hotel website.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CarolJ388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Highly recommend this hotel. The staff was super friendly and helpful. We loved Franklin at the front desk - he always gave us good food recommendations and greeted us with a smile. It is a quiet and peaceful hotel in a neat city!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank busymomDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel is a historic hotel, but they have done a great job updating it. The environment of the hotel is very nice. There is a center courtyard that is open. This is where the restaraunt and the Tapas bar are. The walkways are created into a large patio with small tables that you can sit outside your room. It feels very old spanish. The things you read about in books.

There were beautiful wedding receptions held here both nights we stayed. Truly an exquisite location.

One thing I don't think I truly understood until I stayed was that if you do not need to rent a car, don't! The streets are very narrow. There is a lot across the street, but really, seriously, if you are only staying in Old San Juan, you don't need it. I cannot tell you how many cars I saw with dented fenders or missing mirrors.

You can walk anywhere you need to go. Apparently September and October are their slow seasons so some of the shops were closed for holiday.

Really nice...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FloridaHoneybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was my first visit and after reading so many wonderful reviews, we had to stay here.

The service is amazing. They took our bags and personally delivered them to the room. They asked about our flight and prepared us with maps fo the city and where to eat outside the hotel. The manager even gave us the bets room in the house. A room with two windows over looking the square out front (Room #202).

The restaurant's breakfast was great! We didnt eat any other meals here because it was pricey. We wanted to venture out anyways.

There is nightly turn down service that closed our windows, prepared our bed and even provided chocolates. The personal touches were noticed and appreciated.

There is a nightly cocktail hour at 6pm near the free business center. The roof top pool looks more like a pond, but it was a gorgeous view of the city.

Room Tip: Room #202 was our beautiful room with 2 windows and a view of the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Harbor Islands, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Hotel El Convento is in Old San Juan, across the street from the Cathedral of San Juan. This small hotel has charm, excellent service and is convenient to shopping, sightseeing venues and restaurants. The staff is to be commended. Facilities are way above what can be expected. We found the daily wine and cheese hour a welcome respite after being out all day. Complimentary water and fruit are available on the third floor on a 24 hour basis. When needing to check our email and confirm airline reservations, the computer center was a definite plus. I will return next time I am in San Juan.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StellaCruz954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

You are located right in the old city and in walking distance to many key sites. The hotel is a little pricy but well worth it. The restaurant was good (not great) and the drinks were also a little pricy compared to many of the side street options. The best part of the hotel is the center courtyard areas that allow you to sip on a nice rum and feel the peace and tranquility of an old world charm. The rooms are nice and comfortable with outside your door a couple of chairs and table to sit and what the courtyards. The pool area is a good thought and can see some of the city skyline. We enjoyed it more at night with the city lights.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDMAN68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
2.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
12.0 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
0.3 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#6 of 47 in San Juan
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 47 in San Juan
7,052 reviews
20.0 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
2.0 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Convento

Property: Hotel El Convento
Address: 100 Cristo St | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#1 Family Hotel in San Juan
#1 Business Hotel in San Juan
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel El Convento 4.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Old San Juan, Hotel El Convento has set new standards of luxury, comfort and service while preserving the rich character of this former 16th century convent. This landmark treasure, a member of Historic Hotels of America and Small Luxury Hotels of the World, has earned four diamonds from AAA each year since its opening. This is the exclusive hotel experience to indulge the most discriminating of travelers, and is a hotel like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel El Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Convento San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing