We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just plain GREAT”
Review of Hotel El Convento

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel El Convento
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The pictures do not do this place justice. A true Spanish feel all around. Room was spacious with a very private balcony. Nightly wine and cheese party a very pleasant surprise. Within walking distance to all of old San Juan. Free trolley bus close by will take you around when you tire of walking. Last Sunday of the month, great party at the city walk, local food ,crafts and music with lots of dancing. A very large Police presence made us feel safe day or night while wondering the city.

Room Tip: Judging by the layout I don't there are any bad rooms. We had a private patio, no view from our...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CHUCKYinKENTUCKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,762)
There are newer reviews for Hotel El Convento
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,297 - 1,303 of 2,762 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel with old world charm. The courtyard is scenic, our room was very nice. The service was excellent. A couple little things that made it so good. The rooftop pool is a great way to end a hot day - nice view and always a breeze. The wine and cheese in the evening is something you don't get at the big chains. Our room had a second interior door that had a sound seal so it was very quiet. All in all, a wonderful place to stay and right in the heart of the historic area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JBSK89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

I heard/read a lot of great reviews from this hotel and decided to stay there on our latest trip to Old San Juan. I'm glad to say it is all true! The hotel itself is beatifully maintained, service was great, rooms were adecuate, bed was comfortable and the daily wine reception was all I could ask for.

I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisandra2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Perfect location in lovely Old San Juan - can walk everywhere in this historic area. Hotel is lovely and romantic with an airy, tropical ambience. We felt as if we were time-travelled back to the mid-1800's! Hotel was originally a convent built in 1846. Rooms are small but comfortable and charming. Would definitely stay there again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank momdad44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Its not over the top fancy by any means.. a restored old convent and pretty cool historic place, and if you don't like cats beware.. they are all over Viejo San Juan city and may try to venture in to your room ( I'm not a cat lover , but there seems to be a friendly house cat here)...but this is THE place... everyone knows it- it's the Waldorf of San Juan. Gorgeous old world, great service, nice large rooms with 12 foot ceilings( if you stay on the 2nd floor), Fabulous wine and cheese hour on the terraces ( Met GREAT new friends from all over )and has reciprocal deal to go and hang at 5 star hotels on "the strip "in San Juan if you want casinos and beaches for the day(Which is perfect). Then it's back to fabulous Viejo SJ... THIS is the place to stay if you are planning a PR San Juan trip - accessible to great restaurants and historic sights... and if you want the beach- jump into one of the many 24hr cabs always waiting nearby( $15 ride to the sister hotels). or hang in the hot tub or splash pool on the top floor overlooking the water... it's AWESOME.

Room Tip: 2nd floor is a must., 12 foot ceilings... unless you really want to go for the big bucks on 5th...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Great service from check in to breakfast to check out. Only downside, one very slow and creaky elevator. Quiet rooms, AC works, cold water each day in in room refrigerator. Great location, easy walk to harbor and all of Old San Juan. Restaurants on premises are good, and there are dozens within a 5 minute walk. Will stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a water view room-upper floors.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steven E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Location: I can't imagine staying anywhere else in San Juan other than Old San Juan. It's a city, parts of which go back back to the early 1600's. Most of what is there now was built in the late 1700's and 1800's. It's a Spanish city filled with history, restaurants, and world class (read: cruise ship) rshopping. You want to trade this for some anyplace resort? The city is small enough that there are no bad locations. The hotel is situated near the old fort and only a couple of blocks from the best shopping.

Ambience: the hotel was formerly an old convent and it is built on the classic Spanish colonial plan of rooms around a central courtyard. The public rooms are decorated with Spanish colonial paintings, tapestries and furniture.

Rooms. The rooms are large with 12foot beamed ceilings. There was a 32 inch flat tv. The Bathroom was 5 feet by 10 feet with a large shower/tub. The airconditioning is ample. Our room looked out onto a small pcturesque plaza. The beds were comfortable.

Service: The staff could not be more friendly and helpful.

Facilities: We only ate at one restaurant. The Paella was good. The menu looked a bit overpriced for what was served. There is a good sized work out room with the usual machines and dead weights. There were towels and it was airconditioned. On the fourth floor is a small dipping pool with a lounging terrace overlooking the city. On the third floor is a lounge and terrace where wine and cheese are served from 6:00 to 7:00 (good place to see the other guests) and coffee is available around the clock.

Parking: I stronly urge a car because the driving is exactly as in the US. Traffic is not bad unless you travel at rush hour with the traffic. the Hotel has a parking concession on the cathedral grounds. It costs $20 perday with unlimited in and out. It is very quick and convenient.

THE BEACH: as mentioned by others the hotel guests have use of the beach facilities at the La Concha Hotel and Casino about 10 minutes away. The beach is superb and there is a large pool and hot tub complex to rinse off. There is bar service at the beach and pool. We went there four out of the five days at the end of our touring and sightseeing. Then back to great nights in the city.

I stayed there with my two kids, 21 and 25. We all would return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tango9111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
2.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
12.0 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
20.0 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 47 in San Juan
961 reviews
2.2 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 47 in San Juan
7,192 reviews
2.8 mi away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 47 in San Juan
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Convento

Address: 100 Cristo St | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Juan
#1 Family Hotel in San Juan
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: $204 - $598 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel El Convento 4.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Old San Juan, Hotel El Convento has set new standards of luxury, comfort and service while preserving the rich character of this former 16th century convent. This landmark treasure, a member of Historic Hotels of America and Small Luxury Hotels of the World, has earned four diamonds from AAA each year since its opening. This is the exclusive hotel experience to indulge the most discriminating of travelers, and is a hotel like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelUp, TravelClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel El Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Convento San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing