We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful boutique hotel in Old San Juan”
Review of Hotel El Convento

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel El Convento
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Isla Verde, Puerto Rico
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful boutique hotel in Old San Juan”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

If you are more interested in historic San Juan than the beach hotels, then this is the place for you. Very nice rooms, that are all air conditioned and have insulated doors to keep the noise out. The service is very friendly and helpful. Especially nice for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelhwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,964
    509
    134
    76
    28
See reviews for
434
1,562
98
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highland Park, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed here for two nights before attending a wedding on Condado beach. After our two nights, we really wished we could have stayed longer. The service was excellent. Our bed was extremely comfortable, and the room was beautiful. We had a beautiful view of the ocean, as well. However, our other window was right above the 24 hour pool, which meant we could hear people in the pool all the time and that was a bit annoying. Every evening, there's a wine reception that my boyfriend and I took full advantage of while sitting on their patio overlooking great views of Old San Juan. We had lots of friends staying on Condado beach and with wedding prep and activities underway, we were always rushing in and out. But, I'm looking forward to returning here and enjoying a relaxed stay that we got a glimpse of during this trip!

Room Tip: They upgraded us to a room with a view, which was great! However, while one window had beautiful vie...
See more room tips
Helpful?
Thank TheAimlessWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We chose to stay our first night in San Juan at the El Convento before heading east on the island. After a wonderful night we were torn to leave, and ended up wishing we would have evenly split our time at the EC, with our time at the beaches. All of our rooms were more luxurious than we had expected for the price, and the location is unmatched. I stayed in a first floor room, which initially worried me because of it's proximity to the bar and breakfast area, but it was far from a problem. The room had the original door followed by a modern sound proof door. The same existed for our covered terrace with couch, and water feature.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RabUlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Staying in Old San Juan at Hotel El Convento was a fabulous experience. It is an island of relaxation and peace on the island. Everything was suberb, from the ambience to the furnishings, amenities, and staff. Personnel at the front desk were knowledgeable about the city and eager to help in any way-when we returned from a walk rather hot and sweaty, they immediately brought us bottles of ice water. Thecomplimentary daily wine and cheese reception and the hot coffee, tea, and fresh fruits as well as the ice cold bottles of water available 24 hours a day on the 3rd floor reception/patio area were a really nice touch. It was easy to socialize with others at the reception and at the 4th floor plunge pool and hot tub. The open courtyards and fountains and the adjacent park added to the atmosphere. The restaurants were a bit pricy but the atmosphere was worth it. I will definitely recommend El Convento to my friends.

Room Tip: Our room at the front of the 4th floor near the door to the patio leading to the pool and hot tub wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VirginiaS642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

From the moment I walked into the foyer I was in love. What a fantasticl place! The architecture, the art, the location, the bar, the 3rd floor salon, the room, the wine & cheese reception... all fantastic. The hallways open to the courtyard below where the little fountains scattered about echo all around. There's a glass sound proof door between the sleeping room and the door; all hotels should have these! The bedding, towels and bathrobes are all plush and comfy. I wish we could have stayed more than one night; but next time, we will.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed at El Convento for 4 nights. Its a 300 yrs old convent converted into a hotel. The hotel is beautiful and charming. The restaurants are fantastic and wine mixer in the evening is lots of fun. You can't beat the location of this hotel. Its right in the center of old San Juan.

We were debating between El Concho and this place and decided to stay here because we can still use El Concho's pool and beach as they are sister hotels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjindal79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

wonderful hotel as soon you step in the hotel you can sense the peace the hotel its beautiful the rooftop pool and hot tub was amazing the hospitality terrace with tea coffe and bottled water it was nice the only negative its the expensive prices on the restaurant but there is many places to outside of the hotel so that wont be a major problem very nice hotel i will recomend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greypam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
2.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
12.0 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
0.3 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#6 of 47 in San Juan
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 47 in San Juan
7,050 reviews
20.0 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
2.0 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Convento

Property: Hotel El Convento
Address: 100 Cristo St | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Juan
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#1 Business Hotel in San Juan
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel El Convento 4.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Old San Juan, Hotel El Convento has set new standards of luxury, comfort and service while preserving the rich character of this former 16th century convent. This landmark treasure, a member of Historic Hotels of America and Small Luxury Hotels of the World, has earned four diamonds from AAA each year since its opening. This is the exclusive hotel experience to indulge the most discriminating of travelers, and is a hotel like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel El Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Convento San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing