We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and elegant”
Review of Hotel El Convento

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel El Convento
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Quiet and elegant”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Lovely, historic, serene, with an exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. But please note: This is not the place for your "destination wedding" of 20- or 30-something friends! No bar scene, no beach, but plenty of people (like us) who will glare at you for being your normal loud boisterous obnoxious selves.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms ending in "009." They are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank obscurename
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,947
    505
    134
    76
    28
See reviews for
428
1,548
98
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (543)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
211 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Another wonderful stay at El Convento. Staff is friendly, rooms are nicely decorated, it is a truly historic place, and the location could not be better. Complementary wine and cheese are definitely a plus. The atmosphere is simply great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Royalcot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

As previous reviewers have stated, this is a beautiful historic boutique hotel in Old San Juan. Friendly helpful staff, great location in a safe area. If you love architecture, history and walking this is the place for you. Lots of good restaurants and shopping within walking distance, the Plaza de Armas is two blocks away.
We took advantage of their sister hotel, La Concha, which is a short $20-$25 cab ride away depending on traffic and how much you like to tip - confirm the price before you get in the cab. It was well worth the trip as you get all the benefits of La Concha hotel guests: access to the beach, beach chairs, towels, water, showers, change rooms, and restaurants. La Concha is a beautiful, super modern resort style hotel. Since I'm not a resort style traveller having access to it without being stuck there was a great option. The best of both worlds.
As much as I loved El Convento there are a few things travellers should consider when choosing a hotel in OSJ. You do pay for location, and Christmas in the Carribbean you pay double, so if money is an issue this is probably not the time or place for you. The El Picoteo, the tapas bar/restaurant was pricey but excellent: Pizza e Birra yummy and reasonably priced; but I would agree that Patio del Nispero needs some work. The service was a bit inconsistent as there never seemed to be enough staff to keep the place tidy and the service moving.
Overall the staff through out the hotel were friendly always greeting us with a smile and offering assistance. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Okanagan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbank, Washington
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed here for 2 days before a cruise and had a really wonderful time. The hotel is full of character and charm, not to mention the fact that it is in a great location to see the sights in Old San Juan. It was easy to walk everywhere. The staff was very helpful and recommended great restaurants for dinner. The nightly wine and cheese was great. We had a couple of minor issues with the room - a toilet that ran and the phone battery had died so it was beeping. Both were fixed immediately once we let the front desk know. We really enjoyed the roof top pool and hot tub. One night we were the only ones there - we really enjoyed the view. The hotel is across the street from the catherderal and there was always activity there. The great thing about our room was the fact that there was an interior door in addition to the main door so we did not hear any noise at all and had a great night sleep each night. I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Old San Juan.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kpost100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We really enjoyed El Convento, the history, charming rooms, restaurant and friendly staff make this hotel a great place to stay in the heart of Old San Juan. We especially enjoyed the wine and cheese hour when all the guests gathered around the bar and patio area. The hotel may be a little pricey but well worth it for the unique experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cecper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
167 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

First, you are staying in old convento(convent) in the oldest part of San Juan so you are surrounded by history. It is very, very safe to walk all throughout the historical areas, all times of day, with security everywhere in Old San Juan. Just step out the door and you have the forts, shopping and outstanding restaurants within 10 minutes of walking on the blue bricked streets. You don't need to drive anywhere( a big plus considering the challenges of driving in PR). The staff, from the housekeepers, the front desk personnel, to all the waiters we had in both restaurants-every single one we met was so very friendly, and willing do anything possible to make your stay enjoyable. All workers were responsible and thorough. We arranged 2 tours through the hotel, and both were outstanding- E & B Tours to El Yunque and a historical tour of Old San Juan with David, a wonderful historian. Rooms very clean, spacious, lots of room to spread out. We were even able to catch a favorite basketball team's game evening from the midwest USA. We did participate in the wine and cheese hour, but it was hit or miss with the fruits and cheeses being available after about 20 minutes into the hour. Did enjoy sitting in the evening outside our room at the table/chairs, with a glass of wine, overlooking the interior fruit trees and watching the bats fly through the trees. On the top of hotel you find the pool and hot tub, and a wonderful view of the city. It's a small pool, but since we were not big swimmers it was perfect for soaking after a long day of touring. To get to a beach you will take a taxi- not practical for walking, Their two restaurants had excellent service and food, though pricey. But we went to local restaurants for breakfast (spending almost 2 hours usually) and lunches, and evening fine dining- and the service could not top the El Convento waiters. Think about walking to Supermax (south of Calle San Francisco on Calle Cruz) for pastries and fruit, and then get the outstanding coffee at the hotel hospitality area. You might find less expensive lodging, but at El Convento you get the standards and service, plus the security, that is worth every dollar.

Room Tip: easy to walk to top floors, and our 4th floor room had view of roof tops- and cats- and in the dista...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

we took a day trip to Old San Juan and stumbled upon the hotel El Convento. we had a wonderful breakfast there. have to try their Caribbean eggs benedict. wow! the staff was very friendly, even though they knew we weren't stayin there. very gorgeous hotel. plan on stayin there next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hippeewannabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
2.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
12.0 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
2.2 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 48 in San Juan
6,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#6 of 48 in San Juan
934 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
20.0 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Convento

Property: Hotel El Convento
Address: 100 Cristo St | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Juan
#1 Business Hotel in San Juan
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel El Convento 4.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Old San Juan, Hotel El Convento has set new standards of luxury, comfort and service while preserving the rich character of this former 16th century convent. This landmark treasure, a member of Historic Hotels of America and Small Luxury Hotels of the World, has earned four diamonds from AAA each year since its opening. This is the exclusive hotel experience to indulge the most discriminating of travelers, and is a hotel like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TravelClick, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel El Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Convento San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing