We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, historic hotel, but.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Convento

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel El Convento
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
142 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Wonderful, historic hotel, but.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The hotel is lovely and has been kept up exceptionally well, but we were unlucky to get one of their smaller rooms on the 2nd floor. The hotel was very full and even though it was supposed to be rated a queen deluxe, I saw a queen deluxe on the 4th floor that looked much nicer. However, in general, we were happy. I think they need to upgrade the quality of their restaurant. We had dinner there one night, breakfast each day and lunch one day. The food was mediocre at best. However, they do have a very nice wine and cheese hour each evening up on the rooftop patio, with quite a good selection wine, so that was a real plus. I do think its the best hotel for location - we loved being in Old San Juan.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ytc50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EROSA, Food and Beverage Director at Hotel El Convento, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Mr. or Mrs. YTC50.

Allow me to introduce myself to you as the Director of Food and Beverage at Hotel el Convento. I want to take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your feedback in regards to your experience in our restaurants. I am very sorry to hear that we didn’t meet your expectations regarding the quality of our food. I seriously take our guest’s outcome in consideration and do my best to gather as much information as possible in order to improve our product. I will be very grateful if you may call or e-mail me at your earliest convenience and share your suggestions so we may take action and continue improving the service provided to our customers. My direct line is 787-723-9003 and my e-mail address is ralvarez@elconvento.com . If you wish, you may also send me an e-mail with your phone number and let me know when would be a good time for you to receive my call and I will plan accordingly.

I look forward to hearing from you soon

Warm regards,

Rubén Alvarez
Food & Beverage Director

Hotel El Convento
100 Cristo Street
San Juan, Puerto Rico
ralvarez@elconvento.com
T. 787-723-9020 ext.339
F. 787-723-0754
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,759
    455
    116
    73
    27
See reviews for
367
1,405
90
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Situated in the Old San Guan El Convento is ideally placed to explore the old San Guan.Admittedly, a little price at $450 a night, we stayed there prior to joining a Royal Caribbean Cruise. The Hotel is a converted Convent and one has to accept that rooms/bathrooms will not be big, although it is well appointed. The service is excellent and you could regard it as a boutique/family hotel that is stepped in history: Indeed it is a city landmark and a recognised historic site. It overlooks the cathedral and could not be better positioned for exploring the old city. It has the usual pool, deck and (rather surprisingly a laundry-great for cleaning clothes on a long trip). The food is Ok but not great: There are great restaurants close by so that's not a grat problem. All in all a great place to stay a few days in San Guan!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brianpatterson273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statham, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I led a group of 24 university students studying the Caribbean on a tall ship. At the conclusion of the class, we spent 2 nights experiencing Viejo San Juan by staying at El Convento. Few boutique hotels could accomodate such a group in the professional manner that El Convento showed us. Nothing could have been better: a room for our meeting, special attention, great food and personized treatment at every turn. Its an easy thing for a hotel to blow off a group of traveling college students. But not these people - they are true professionals. I'll take my classes back here any time.

Oh, and I know you are wondering: did my group disturb the other guests? Certainly not - we follow the Italian rule of "fare una bella figura" at all times, something traveling Americans should also do at all times. The students discovered the joys of salsa and paella and la isla encantada outside the walls of this special place on the cobble stone streets of Old San Juan ( did you know that they were laid down by the early colonists, using ballast from the incoming Spanish treasure ships?)

Recommendation: watch those monster cruise ships come and go from the pool deck at the hotel. And then go have a mojito under the ancient branches of the nespero tree (read: lowquat tree) in the hotel's atrium.

Prof. Joe

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up on the west side and watch the ships entering and leaving San Juan harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

This place deserves its number 1 rating.
True, it is very expensive at $450 per night. However, paying a little extra for a few days is worth it.
The location in Old San Juan, gets you a five minute walk from El Morro and the crashing breakers of the north coast.
You are centrally located in the coolest walking, observing, and shopping area I have ever visited. There are restaurants galore within a 5 minute walk.
The hotel is built like a classic beautiful Spanish hacienda, with a large, open court in the center, replete with birds, tropical vegetation, and open sky above. Breakfast in the court is a memorable experience, to be sure. Rooms rise for 5 stories above the open court.
Rooms are comfortable, with great towels, robes, and a very comfortable shower. They have marble floors as do the bathrooms.
Spend time lounging on the top floor hot tub/pool, and make sure not to miss the daily 6pm complimentary wine, cheese, and crackerfest!
They are very attentive to your every need, from the sumptuous towels at the hot tub, to their answering each call to the front desk by addressing you by name.
Do yourself a favor. Spend your money and allow yourself to be enveloped by the relaxing ambiance.

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank MarkA93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel Dec. 27th and 28th, 2012, prior to embarking on a cruise. We arrived at the hotel at approx. 2:30 from the airport and we were told that we could not check in until 4:00 p.m. as the room was not ready. The only place to change was a bathroom stall (which was a little awkward at best). They did take our luggage and secure it, which helped as we passed the time walking around the area. The hotel itself is lovely and there are positives and negatives. The positive is the wine and cheese reception in the evening (6:00 p.m.) is lovely - we really enjoyed that. The negative is in the restaurant. When we were waiting for check in we went to the bar and ordered drinks - $10.00 for a cocktail and $9.00 for a beer was a little steep. We had reservations for that evening in the restaurant and the service was terrible. We stood at the entrance for at least 10 - 15 minutes and no one even came to greet us. I finally had to go the the front desk and ask to speak to a manager. She, in turn, accompanied us back to the dining room and then she disappeared for another 5 minutes before she returned with the Food and Beverage Manager. He informed us that he was short staffed and he was in the back "doing paperwork". Maybe it's just me, but I would think that if you are short staffed and you are in charge of the restaurant that just maybe you should assume some duties and pitch in(?) Anyway, the food was fine and the rest of the stay was good. The really nice thing about this hotel is the location - right in the heart of old San Juan. A little tip - while out walking we discovered the best Mexican Restaurant I have ever eaten at - it was fabulous!! It is called Restaurante La Madre and it is located at 351 Call San Francisco (within walking distance to the hotel). Best crab cakes ever and everything (food and drinks) are so fresh. It was delightful!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sandyfoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Hotel El Convento is located in the heart of all the action in old San Juan. Walking distance to Historic sites,shopping and great restaurants. If taking a cruise ship a 5 minute Taxi ride.
The rooms are spacious with an old world charm. Great free wine and cheese at 6pm every evening.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor are near the open coffee/tea bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bikram_Mom_Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This hotel is beautiful and in a great location in the heart of old San Juan. Made it very easy to do a day-long walking tour of all the major sites. The wine and cheese reception is a nice and relaxing way to wind down the day. Weekend brunch was delicious. Room service food was solid. The on site tapas restaurant and pizzeria are both very good. The service in all espects of the hotel was great. The rooms are clean and nicely furnished. Our tv was a little tempermental, but that wasn't really an issue.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kgm721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
2.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
3.6 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
0.2 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#3 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 stars 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#18 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 stars 6,084 reviews
12.0 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
2.8 mi away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#10 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 stars 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Convento

Property: Hotel El Convento
Address: 100 Cristo St | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Juan
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#1 Family Hotel in San Juan
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel El Convento 4.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Old San Juan, Hotel El Convento has set new standards of luxury, comfort and service while preserving the rich character of this former 16th century convent. This landmark treasure, a member of Historic Hotels of America and Small Luxury Hotels of the World, has earned four diamonds from AAA each year since its opening. This is the exclusive hotel experience to indulge the most discriminating of travelers, and is a hotel like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel El Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Convento San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing