We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best location in old San Juan”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel El Convento

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel El Convento
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best location in old San Juan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Hotel El Convento is located in the heart of all the action in old San Juan. Walking distance to Historic sites,shopping and great restaurants. If taking a cruise ship a 5 minute Taxi ride.
The rooms are spacious with an old world charm. Great free wine and cheese at 6pm every evening.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor are near the open coffee/tea bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bikram_Mom_Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,910
    500
    133
    76
    28
See reviews for
416
1,525
97
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

This hotel is beautiful and in a great location in the heart of old San Juan. Made it very easy to do a day-long walking tour of all the major sites. The wine and cheese reception is a nice and relaxing way to wind down the day. Weekend brunch was delicious. Room service food was solid. The on site tapas restaurant and pizzeria are both very good. The service in all espects of the hotel was great. The rooms are clean and nicely furnished. Our tv was a little tempermental, but that wasn't really an issue.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kgm721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a long weekend in San Juan. We stayed at El Convento for four nights and it was absolutely wonderful!, My sister lived in Puerto Rico for 20 years and we have been there many times but never stayed in Old San Juan. The hotel is wonderful - a retreat from a stressful world. We had breakfast in the courtyard restaurant every morning and it was great. Their coffee is divine and their orange juice is squeezed from local oranges - it tasted like the oranges we had in the mountains and it was, in fact, made from local oranges. We had lunch there every day and dinner one night. The food was great and our room wonderful. We got a full ocean view room on the 4th floor and we loved it. The bathrooms are great and the beds are too. The terrace is absolutely beautiful. There is a plunge pool and hot tub on the 4th floor terrace and I did water aerobics in the plunge pool every morning (it's too small for swimming laps) and they have a cocktail hour on the 3rd floor every evening which is great. They also have a beautiful terrace on the 4th floor called the Mirador Terrace where my husband and I went with our wine during cocktail hour on nights when we weren't feeling social where there were no people at all and they had pots of herbs and lounge chairs and you sat in the tree top watching the cocktail hour bats fly around (our friends - they eat mosquitoes). We also had some wonderful cocktail hours on the 3rd floor terrace with great conversations and socializing. In sum: El Convento is a wonderful oasis in old San Juan with great food and spaces and we will go back there. We didn't go to their beach club but we will do that next time. Aside from El Convento we dined twice at Carli's Fine Bistro and Piano in the Banco Popular building which is a world class music and dining place and which I will review separately. Carli's place was the reason we went to San Juan - we met him through my sister when she lived there and his place is as good as the Village Vanguard in New York. All in all we had a perfect 4-day vacation in San Juan, staying at El Convento and going
to Carli's twice for dinner and music. There can be some minor lapses in the service but El Convento is a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adeliamisskitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the El Convento for 3 nights, and we were very pleased without stay. The hotel is lovely, with wonderful character. The rooms are spotless and well maintained. WIfi worked well in rooms once we unplugged and replugged the router. The daily wine and cheese reception is a nice touch. The staff was universally polite, professional and helpful. El Convento is located within easy walking distance of the entire Old San Juan area, but it is somewhat separated from the cruise ship area, which is a good thing.

If we return to San Juan, we'll stay at El Convento.

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
Thank WilderW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

It is interesting to stay in a 350 year old building. The rooms have all the modern amenities but still you feel the old feeling. Sleeping quality is very good (no noise around this area of the town). The wine and cheese hour (6-7 pm) should not be missed. Good quality cheeses and wines in a very nice environment. I had no time to try the restaurants of the hotel. I got the hotel for a good price but the regular price i think it is too much. But your pocket will decide. The personnel was very helpful with any inquires you may have had.

Room Tip: rooms in the south side had a nice view of the cathedral and the small and nice park in fron of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FelipeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at the El Convento for six days at the end of December 2012. The hotel overall was a great experience -- the style, decor, attention to detail and location were everything that all the reviews mention and more.
We had some interesting experiences with some of the staff and the tour companies that the hotel arranged, but when the issues were brought up to the management, they were addressed and done so in a classy way. The housekeeping staff is somewhat of a hit or miss -- some of them are outstanding while others are incompetent. Nevertheless, the management tries their best to respond and address concerns as best as they can.
My only quibble is that for the money you pay, you should not have to complain to get things done right.

Room Tip: Pick the second floor -- the tall ceilings make up for the small lateral dimensions of the roon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank traveller61222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have stayed 2 different times at El Convento. If you truly want to experience old San Juan this is the place. The rooms are small and the baths smaller but the property is incredible. You feel like you have stepped back in time and can visualize the nuns walking about. The food was very good. I wouldn't hesitate staying there again but you have to appreciate the historic experience.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Donnats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
2.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
2.2 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,769 reviews
12.0 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
2.0 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
20.0 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Convento

Property: Hotel El Convento
Address: 100 Cristo St | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Juan
#1 Family Hotel in San Juan
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel El Convento 4.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Old San Juan, Hotel El Convento has set new standards of luxury, comfort and service while preserving the rich character of this former 16th century convent. This landmark treasure, a member of Historic Hotels of America and Small Luxury Hotels of the World, has earned four diamonds from AAA each year since its opening. This is the exclusive hotel experience to indulge the most discriminating of travelers, and is a hotel like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TravelClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel El Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Convento San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing