We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely character”
Review of Hotel El Convento

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel El Convento
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
St Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely character”
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the El Convento for 3 nights, and we were very pleased without stay. The hotel is lovely, with wonderful character. The rooms are spotless and well maintained. WIfi worked well in rooms once we unplugged and replugged the router. The daily wine and cheese reception is a nice touch. The staff was universally polite, professional and helpful. El Convento is located within easy walking distance of the entire Old San Juan area, but it is somewhat separated from the cruise ship area, which is a good thing.

If we return to San Juan, we'll stay at El Convento.

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
Thank WilderW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,947
    505
    134
    76
    28
See reviews for
428
1,548
98
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (543)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

It is interesting to stay in a 350 year old building. The rooms have all the modern amenities but still you feel the old feeling. Sleeping quality is very good (no noise around this area of the town). The wine and cheese hour (6-7 pm) should not be missed. Good quality cheeses and wines in a very nice environment. I had no time to try the restaurants of the hotel. I got the hotel for a good price but the regular price i think it is too much. But your pocket will decide. The personnel was very helpful with any inquires you may have had.

Room Tip: rooms in the south side had a nice view of the cathedral and the small and nice park in fron of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FelipeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at the El Convento for six days at the end of December 2012. The hotel overall was a great experience -- the style, decor, attention to detail and location were everything that all the reviews mention and more.
We had some interesting experiences with some of the staff and the tour companies that the hotel arranged, but when the issues were brought up to the management, they were addressed and done so in a classy way. The housekeeping staff is somewhat of a hit or miss -- some of them are outstanding while others are incompetent. Nevertheless, the management tries their best to respond and address concerns as best as they can.
My only quibble is that for the money you pay, you should not have to complain to get things done right.

Room Tip: Pick the second floor -- the tall ceilings make up for the small lateral dimensions of the roon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank traveller61222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have stayed 2 different times at El Convento. If you truly want to experience old San Juan this is the place. The rooms are small and the baths smaller but the property is incredible. You feel like you have stepped back in time and can visualize the nuns walking about. The food was very good. I wouldn't hesitate staying there again but you have to appreciate the historic experience.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Donnats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
125 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

A wonderful place to stay in Old San Juan and a stark contrast (thankfully so) from the resort we stayed in Dorado the previous 4 nights. In our journey to El Convento we met barricades because on January 2nd the government changes- so there is a big procession/parade- so we had to park about a mile from the hotel and haul our backpacks to the hotel. The front desk attendant was sympathetic and welcoming. Room was cute and elegant. The plunge pool is just that- small, but on the rooftop (with a hot tub next to it) and the view of the sunset was wonderful. They have a wine and cheese reception that is free between 6pm-7pm---that was fantastic, and a good way to socialize with other guests if you wish. We then ate at their Tapas restaurant- we only had 2 dishes because we were so full from the cheese, and the 2 dishes we had were very good.
They have bottled water, coffee and tea available 24/7. There is a fitness center open 24/7 but we did not visit it. Supposedly there is wifi, but we were unable to log on despite using the password they gave us.
We did fetch our car after dinner and parked in valet parking ($20/day---you must get your valet card stamped by the front desk) which is really the only way to go because parking on the streets is tight.
A quiet, relaxing, personable place to stay....we will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We first went to San Juan a few years ago and stayed in a small condo. We kept walking by El Convento and thought one day we'd love to stay there. It looked so beautiful and full of history and just seemed like a place we'd loved. Thankfully, we were right. We stayed for a few nights in October 2012 after doing a road trip throughout the western half of Puerto Rico. El Convento was everything we thought it'd be - gorgeous, comfortable and in the heart of everything. We especially loved the rooftop dipping pool, from which you can see a beautiful view of the city. And it was great that you can take advantage of its sister hotel's beach front in Condado. Just perfect all around. Note to tea drinkers: Unlike many hotels ... this one provides a nice sampling for tea for free. ; )

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We had a wonderful three night stay during the second week of December. My husband, five year old daughter, and I loved Hotel El Convento. The location in Old San Juan is perfect for exploring and we found the service and staff to be exceptional. The front desk was more than willing to go above and beyond to accommodate and they even managed to book us a rental car on a couple hours notice so that we could travel to Fajardo and see the bioluminescent bay.

I can't say enough about how beautiful the hotel and surrounding neighborhood are. We were able to walk to all the historic attractions and were thrilled to find that there is a children's museum right across the street. A word of caution though, avoid driving in Old San Juan if you can. The road are so old and narrow that it is a bit of a harrowing experience that you can easily avoid by taking cabs.

The rooms are very nice but small (though this is to be expected since you are staying in a VERY old building). There is a great plunge pool and hot tub on the roof and if you want to go to the beach they will arrange transportation to take you to one of their sister properties right on the beach.

We tried each of the restaurants and Patio del Nispero (especially for breakfast) and Pizza e Birra were excellent. We thought El Picoteo was ok but not as good as the other two options.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
2.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
12.0 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
2.2 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 48 in San Juan
6,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#6 of 48 in San Juan
934 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
20.0 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Convento

Property: Hotel El Convento
Address: 100 Cristo St | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#1 Family Hotel in San Juan
#1 Business Hotel in San Juan
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel El Convento 4.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Old San Juan, Hotel El Convento has set new standards of luxury, comfort and service while preserving the rich character of this former 16th century convent. This landmark treasure, a member of Historic Hotels of America and Small Luxury Hotels of the World, has earned four diamonds from AAA each year since its opening. This is the exclusive hotel experience to indulge the most discriminating of travelers, and is a hotel like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel El Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Convento San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing