We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”
Review of Hotel El Convento

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel El Convento
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Penfield, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We couldn't be happier with our stay. The location to everything in Old San Juan was perfect. The view of the cathedral from the rooftop patio was lovely as was the patio itself. We enjoyed the wine and cheese reception every night. Was it coincidental that it was timed perfectly with gorgeous sunsets over the city? The free coffee and bottled water available all day was a nice perk. The pool is small but exactly what we needed after walking around all day in the heat.
The size of the room not huge but more than adequate for the two of us. The sound door seemed odd at first but it definitly kept the noise down as the birds in the courtyard are a bit loud. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The architecture of this building is exceptional. The only minor downsides were that our air conditioning was a little noisy and there is little counter space in the bathroom. That being said I can't imagine staying any where else in Ol San Juan. We look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,930
    504
    134
    76
    28
See reviews for
422
1,538
98
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Festus, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the El Convento on our honey moom this past summer. We absolutely loved the hotel and the location was perfect. It was clean, friendly and cozy. The free wine and cheese every evening was our favorite thing to do before we'd go out for the night. The rooftop pool is small but has a very nice view. The atmosphere at the hotel was very friendly and you get to meet a lot of new people. The location of El Convento was great because you could walk to everything. If we go back to Puerto Rico I would not stay anywhere else but here!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kasey f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

The reviews of this hotel on this web-site, in addition to positive recommendations from Caribbean friends and family, made us all the more delighted when we managed to grab a room for the weekend by booking direct rather than through a reseller which all showed the hotel to be fully booked.

The location is superb right in the middle of Old San Jaun and the architecture of then building is beautiful. We drive early so after a few hours sightsing and a lovely tapas lunch in the adjoining restaurant we checked in to our room and had a quick siesta (to respect Spanish traditions!).

Perhaps our expectations were too high of the daily food and wine and food reception on the terrace so we were a little dissapoointed that it was self service wine and a few crackers and some cheese rather than waiter served canapés and engaging conversation with the staff. That said, the location and views made up for it.

Later in the evening we came back for a nightcap and were surprised the honesty bar was no longer (apparently this was curtailed a couple of months back). We did get served at the ground floor bar though it looked closed and the waitress went AWOL between orders.

In the morning we complained our shower which had only one setting (red hot) but returned to our room without it having been fixed (or an explanation as to why). Also getting back at 3 pm we were surprised our room hadn't been cleaned although it was after we had a quick dip in the lovely rooftop pool. After dinner thou the downstairs bar was closed altogether before 10:30.

So overall a beautiful historic hotel in an amazing location. But we both came away with an impression that things were on the slide given given the fantastic reviews on this site. Maybe the owners think their changes might improve their return on investment by cutting a few corners? Or maybe the commitment to excellence and service that made this hotel number one on tripadvisor might help it stay there?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Punterinparadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Real nice. Cool story behind the hotel and nice ambiance. Hot in the lobby but ice cold in the rooms. Would definitely stay there again! Pool is not great but free wine happy hour makes up for any flaws. Good free coffee as well.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jared B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

A very nice place to stay. Great rooms and nice service. Breakfast service could be a little better since not all waiters are trained to deliver 5stars service. Some are better then others. In general I think it is the best place to stay in old San Juan.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kot74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I can't imagine going back to Old San Juan and NOT staying here! An absolute superb boutique hotel in a lovely setting. There was a small glitch with our 1st nights stay, but we were moved to the correct room type on the 2nd night and it was perfect. I might also add that we thought the value to be a A++++++++++!! The views from the roof-top pool area was breathtaking; especially at night.

Room Tip: Stay away from room 319 or 320. Lovely rooms, but a bit on the small side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KentShuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We discovered this beautiful, unique boutique style hotel several years ago when we ate at the Spanish tapas restaurant on the grounds. Wow, we were smitten by its Spanish villa style and were more intrigued when we found out about the history of this historical gem.
So on our recent vacay we booked 5 days for the 1st part of our trip! We were SO excited to discover our room was right by the veranda patio with a dipping pool all overlooking the ocean, island and historical buildings! The staff so accomodating & polite, on our 1st night they made a phone call to squeeze us in to the Spanish tapas restaurant right across the way with Flamenco night........so awesome! Be adventurous & try new foods! We also ate different meals at their own restaurants & were very pleased. Every evening they have a great happy hour social with wines, awesome assortment of cheeses & crackers plus fresh fruit on the alfresco patio dining area. We had the moon, the stars and beautiful views.......
WE NOW HAVE LIFETIME MEMORIES HERE.......we were happy with our entire experience!

Room Tip: End of hall more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
2.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
2.2 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,881 reviews
12.0 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
2.0 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
20.0 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Convento

Property: Hotel El Convento
Address: 100 Cristo St | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Juan
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#1 Family Hotel in San Juan
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel El Convento 4.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Old San Juan, Hotel El Convento has set new standards of luxury, comfort and service while preserving the rich character of this former 16th century convent. This landmark treasure, a member of Historic Hotels of America and Small Luxury Hotels of the World, has earned four diamonds from AAA each year since its opening. This is the exclusive hotel experience to indulge the most discriminating of travelers, and is a hotel like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel El Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Convento San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing