We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful experience”
Review of Hotel El Convento

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel El Convento
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This hotel is a must in Puerto Rico. It is conveniently located in the old Puerto Rico and has agreements with hotels to enjoy the beach when you are fed up with walking.
The rooms are very nice, spacious, clean and quiet. The inside garden is very relaxing.
The staff is very friendly and helpful to give your good addresses of restaurants and activities.
Finally the happy hour is just the cherry on the cake since you can enjoy a glass of wine and cheese just in front of one of the oldest cathedral in Americas.
Highly recommended hotel !

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elodiemontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,762)
There are newer reviews for Hotel El Convento
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,611 - 1,617 of 2,762 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

Very beautiful hotel in a quiet part of Old San Juan. The room was spacious with a nice view of the harbor. Complimentary wine and cheese in the evening. The staff was very accommodating with my request for a very early check-in. My only concern was with the air condtioning. I did not make an issue of it as I was only staying one night. It was set at 70 degrees but never dropped lower than 74-75. I would definetly stay here again. Sleep quality would have been rated at 5 green circles of not for the A/C.

Room Tip: Be nice. I have seen others make bold demands. Try a softer touch.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsandoval562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EROSA, General Manager at Hotel El Convento, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Mr. JSandoval562,

I am glad that you enjoyed our complimentary wine reception every evening. It is one of our guests' favorite amenities. Thank you as well for the heads up with the AC in your room. We read guest reviews each day to learn what we are doing right, and more importantly, what we can do to improve our hotel and the services we provide. We are in the process of verifying every unit to ensure that it is no longer an issue. Thank you for sharing and please feel free to send me a note on your next visit to Puerto Rico to greet you personally upon arrival.

Best regards,

Efrain Rosa
General Manager
erosa@elconvento.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Everything about this hotel is wonderful. We had a great experience with the staff. The front desk upgraded us to an ocean view room and the bellhop (I wish I could remember his name) was very friendly and recommended several things to see during our trip. They offer bottled water complimentary (which is good because this island is HUMID) and have the wine/cheese reception every night. The breakfast is normal hotel prices and there's a nice tapas restaurant on the 2nd floor, but they also have a little pizza place on the premises which is more reasonably priced if you're looking to save a little bit of money. You are also within walking distance to most of what Old San Juan has to offer. San Juan Cathedral is right across the street, the main San Juan gate is about a block away and El Morro is a 5-mins walk up Calle de Cristo. From there you can jump on the free trolley that goes around town. They also have coin laudry, which turned out to be a miracle because the humidity caused us to go through clothes MUCH faster that we had anticipated. We washed all our clothes before we headed out to our 2nd hotel in Fajardo. The soundproofing door is great so you don't hear the coqui frogs or any noise from the restaurants. Would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to sightsee in Old San Juan. Sidenote - the rooftop pool is NOT large. But it's a beautiful spot up there. If you're staying longer, they can arrange for you to go on a day trip to a cooperating hotel in Condado for a more resort style pool/beach. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Loved this hotel! Walking through the hallways, you feel a real sense of history and character. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are clean, classy, and well maintained. Your stay includes free WIFI internet in the rooms, 24-hour coffe/tea/bottled water, fresh fruit for breakfast, daily wine and cheese happy hour, a clean pool and hot tub, several beautiful seating areas (shade and sun), and two very good restaurants. The hotel is within walking distance to several wonderful restaurants, stores, and historic sites, so taxis are not necessary. We loved our stay at El Convento!! We cannot imagine a better place for our honeymoon.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This is a terrific spot with tons of character. Right in the heart of Old San Juan and within walking distance to great restaurants and entertainment. I have been here for business twice in the last month and have stayed here both times. Lots of charm, great service and perfect location. No pool or resort type amenities, but terrific terraces with great views and lots of options for dinner right on site. Highly recommend this if you appreciate unique hotels.

Room Tip: Room 519 is cool. Has its own private terrace.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bouvierlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I recently stayed at the Hotel El Convento for my anniversary with my wife. First off, the location of the hotel is great. They are right in the middle of the Old San Juan area. If you are looking for a resort to sit by the pool / beach, this isn't the right place. But if you want to be near all the historic sights and restaurants then it is a great place. Since the Old San Juan area is so small, you are never more than a 10 minute walk to any site in the area.

One of the best aspects of the hotel is the free wine and cheese every night at 6 PM. Plus throughout the day they have free tea, coffee, and fruit in the room. My wife and I loved going for the free wine and cheese and sitting outside in the pool area.

However, we did run into a few issues with the hotel. First off, on the first night we arrived we came to find out that the diverter in the shower was broken and they didn't have anyone available to fix the shower until the next day. While they did offer us a free continental breakfast, it still left us with a bad taste being that was one of the first impressions of the hotel.

Another issue we had was with the front desk staff. While they were all super friendly and tried to make our stay a pleasant experience, they were a little flaky at times. It took us three times to arrange a tour to the rainforest with the front desk. It was frustrating to have a few people at the front desk tell us that they will have the tour arranged, to come back and find out that nothing was ever done.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikeyBoynton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is in the perfect location to visit all of old San Juan. lots of shops and restaurants and museums are just a few blocks away. The rooms are amazing and the hotel courtyard is a breathtaking open air, multi level restaurant / veranda.

Watch out for the front desk. They are slow and working with a dated system so that process is painful. Also, they are very strict about their 3pm checkin. Not 2pm or 2:45, but it must be 3 or later even on a weekday when the hotel is empty.

Besides that this place is great. The restaurants are all amazing here. Great tapas, breakfast and Italian food. We will definitely be staying here the next time in town.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoshS55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
2.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
12.0 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
20.0 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 47 in San Juan
962 reviews
2.2 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 47 in San Juan
7,192 reviews
2.8 mi away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 47 in San Juan
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Convento

Address: 100 Cristo St | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Juan
#1 Family Hotel in San Juan
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: $203 - $598 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel El Convento 4.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Old San Juan, Hotel El Convento has set new standards of luxury, comfort and service while preserving the rich character of this former 16th century convent. This landmark treasure, a member of Historic Hotels of America and Small Luxury Hotels of the World, has earned four diamonds from AAA each year since its opening. This is the exclusive hotel experience to indulge the most discriminating of travelers, and is a hotel like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel El Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Convento San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing