We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Second Honeymoon"”
Review of Hotel El Convento

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel El Convento
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2012

In May,2012,I surprised my wife of 42 years with a 2nd Honeymoon to San Juan,Puerto Rico. We had gone there in 1973 for a belated honeymoon. After 3 years and a son & daughter my wife deserved it. We couldn't stay at the Hilton Hotel as in 1973 because a disgruntled employee had attempted to burn it down. We decided to stay at the Hotel El Convento. This hotel is absolutely breathtaking. The ocean view, the gentle breezes, the sand and the waves tumbling on to the beach. My wife said it was like a dream come true. So many things had changed,but the Fort El Morro stood proudly as ever to defend the city.
The food at El Convento is 5 Star with a menu and wine list beyond compare.
The room was very elegant and my wife said she felt like a queen. Which is what she is to me.
The shops in Old San Juan are fantastic with a variety of merchandise to satisfy any visitor.
We went out on the beach and soaked up the rays and drank several pina colada's. They are to die for. Pineapple juice,coconut milk and the finest rum you have ever tasted. They bring them to you with a large piece of pineapple on the rim of the glass that was picked from the fields that morning. In the states the pineapples are a tangy sweet,but in puerto rico by picking them fresh that morning they are like biting into a piece of sugar. So sweet beyond belief.
One afternoon we drove to LaQuiluo Beach. A breathtaking Lagoon completely encircled by tall palm trees. My wife said she was so glad I had surprised her with her 2nd honeymoon,and she hoped we could return in 8 years to celebrate our 50th Anniversary!
My mother always told me when you meet " miss right" there will be no doubt in your mind that she is the one for you!
Go to Puerto Rico,your best girl deserves it!

Room Tip: There are no rooms at Hotel El Concerto that you won't enjoy! "Really"!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osvaldo S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel El Convento, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear Jerry S,

Congratulations on your wedding anniversary! Thank you for telling us how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Our entire El Convento family looks forward to celebrating your 50th wedding anniversary with you. Please feel free to contact me directly if you were to need further assistance.

Sincerely,

Osvaldo Soler
Guest Service Manager
osoler@elconvento.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,769)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,633 - 1,639 of 2,770 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012

Twenty minutes from the airport, stay in the arms of a world class historical experience. This four diamond hotel is truly a great place to stay. Across from the 1520s Municipal Cathedral, we stayed on the 2nd floor of the hotel which was part of the convent built in the 1630s. The experience was special from doorman to front desk to restaurants and the room itself. A small private patio off the room and what must have been a 20 feet tall ceiling gave a Spanish colonial flavor to our retreat in the heart of Old San Juan World Heritage site. For over 400 years Spain ruled Puerto Rico and our two day stay at Hotel El Convento was an eye opener to an important part of America's history. The hotel underscored the experience. We loved the manager's reception in the evening. Seven or eight wines, cheeses and fruit on the large third floor patio, watching the sunset on the bay and the full moon rise over the Cathedral: magic! If you want to carry away a very special memory of a delightful Caribbean experience, stay at the El Convento Hotel for at least a part of your vacation.

Room Tip: Choose a tall ceiling room on the original 1630s floors. Don't miss the manager's receptions...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BenS154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Loved this hotel. Charming, historic one of a kind experience. The sky high ceilings, dark wood furniture, the central courtyard was my bliss. The mattress was not old, rather properly firm and comfortable. Room a/c worked well/ LG flat screen tv. A blend of old and new. Service very good. Enjoyed on Thursday night live music including a 3 man combo with spanish guitar and free champagne. Lively scene with the music and locals and guests. Dinner at tapas bar at hotel good. Ejoyed rooftop pool and hot tub. Small but fits the bill and LOVE it's open 24 hours. Night sky and a dip is awesome. Great touch to have on 3rd floor complimentary tea, coffee and water and fruit. It's not uber uber luxury but it is unique and comfortable and 5 star for those travelers who don't want the same thing every trip.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Folkgroupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Hotel El Convento is a wonderful upscale property in the heart of Old San Juan. The building has been thoroughly updated while retaining the colonial Spanish architecture. Its proximity to the Cathedral (across the street), shopping, dining and El Moro make it an excellent, if not expensive choice.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HowdyDoody4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Positives:

+ Location, location, location. Perfect to see all the sites in Old San Juan.
+ Room was large and comfortable. Room 519 has it's own private patio. Very nice.
+ Hotel staff are friendly and very helpful
+ 24hr water, tea, coffee available
+ Daily wine happy hour
+ History and architecture of the hotel transports you back in time.
+ Rooftop patios and plunge pool are small but nice
+ Has arrangement with two hotels on Condado beach if you are in need of a day of bigger pools or beach experience.

Negatives:

- Breakfast not included for a fairly high priced room. Go to Cafeteria Mallorca for cheap excellent breakfast.
- Tapas restaurant inside the hotel is $$$$ but very good. Head down Calle San Fransisco for excellent cheaper alternatives.
- Plunge pool is tiny but keeps you cool so it gets the job done.
- No parking (that I saw) for the hotel, but you shouldn't be driving there anyways as all the sites are in walking distance.

Overall an excellent hotel in beautiful old San Juan. I highly recommend it and would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Masemoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The best hotel to stay in old San Juan. Because the location is in the heart of the city, I could walk around and visit several museums, castles and churches during the day. After a wonderful shower in the renovated ancient room, at 6 pm I used to have a classy complementary happy hour with all the hotel guests on the terrace of the hotel. For dinner or a restaurant in old San Juan or in Condado at trendy La Concha hotel. Ex Carmelitan Convent, el Convento hotel offers good services, in an ambience of pure old colonial and spiritual atmosphere.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefania G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EROSA, General Manager at Hotel El Convento, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Ms. Stefaniaglamour,

I could not have said it any better. Thank you for you great comments about our location, guest rooms, hotel ambiance and daily manager's reception. We enjoy having the opportunity to provide an unforgettable positive experience for all our guests. We look forward to having you with us again.

Best regards,


Efrain Rosa
General Manager
erosa@elconvento.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed here right after our honeymoon cruise. Perfect location...right in the middle of Old San Juan. We arrived several hours before check-in and the staff immediately offered to hold our luggage for us (and in a secured locked room). The rooms are beautiful and surround a gorgeous open courtyard in the middle. Breakfast was yummy...we didn't get a chance to try dinner at the hotel - as we were always out and about. The pool is on a top floor with breathtaking views of the city.

San Juan is PERFECT for couples -- romantic, historic, relaxing, exciting, etc!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
2.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
2.8 mi away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 47 in San Juan
845 reviews
0.3 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 47 in San Juan
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#9 of 47 in San Juan
773 reviews
0.1 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 47 in San Juan
232 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Convento

Address: 100 Cristo St | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Juan
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#1 Family Hotel in San Juan
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: $301 - $740 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel El Convento 4.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Old San Juan, Hotel El Convento has set new standards of luxury, comfort and service while preserving the rich character of this former 16th century convent. This landmark treasure, a member of Historic Hotels of America and Small Luxury Hotels of the World, has earned four diamonds from AAA each year since its opening. This is the exclusive hotel experience to indulge the most discriminating of travelers, and is a hotel like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel El Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Convento San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing