We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“World Class w/ Old World Charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel El Convento

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel El Convento
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“World Class w/ Old World Charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Simply Fantastic. Worth the $$$. This place is dripping with charm and elegance. The courtyards, the rooftop pool, the details in the room, the mojitios...ohhh the mojitossssss. A hotel that I will not soon forget.
We capped our 9 day trip with this gem and it was so worth it. The bathroom alone would have sold me. The beds are very comfortable, the AC is great.
You can't beat the location, sounds from the church across the street fill the hallways. You can walk the cobble stone streets anywhere you want to go but its hard to find an excuse to leave.
Typically I hate spending time in hotels, but I really didn't want to leave this wonderful place.
It's ranked #1 for a reason, and It's going to be very hard to beat it.
The service was impeccable as well.
MUY BIEN.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmanphs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,914
    502
    133
    76
    28
See reviews for
418
1,527
97
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Junction CO
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

When I travel, I try to stay at smaller boutique hotels that offer some local atmosphere. Hotel El Convento was a good choice! We stayed here our first 3 days in Puerto Rico. The hotel is a lovely boutique place right in the midst of Old San Juan. The staff - everyone from valet to front desk - was exceedingly friendly and ready with directions, suggestions or any kind of help.

The rooms are small, well decorated and manage to combine all the modern amenities without losing the ambiance. Overall a welcoming and comfortable atmosphere that we completely enjoyed.

Little extras like the bottled water and fruit available 24/7, live piano in the evenings, and lots of comfy pillows were things that we missed at our other hotels during our stay in PR.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynthia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel in the heart of San Juan. It has a lot of history attached to it that makes it very special. Totally loved the evening wine and cheese sessions.
We had arrived very early to the hotel (8 am) and did not expect to get a room till noon. However, the lady at the front desk was very helpful and got us a room right then.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ankit495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Chose El Convento for location and reputation.

Not impressed by an 18% surcharge on top of $295 a night bill. This was hidden as 'TAX' on my reservation. The tax is only 9% , the hotel added the other 18% bundled it into one figure and called it tax when I booked via their own website [see photo]. I am challenging this with credit card company.

The air conditioning was so noisy we could not sleep without ear plugs.

Wanted to try the tapas patio but the open kitchen just looked too dirty so we did not.

Other than that, the location is good and hotel was fine but expensive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marknadel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Loved every bit of our stay. Beautiful place. Great genius loci. My and my friend spent delightful two night in El Convento. Enjoyed the wine and cheese reception in the afternoon on the gorgeous terrace. Amazing experience as Puerto Rico itself. Definitely will come back to explore a bit more. Simply a great spot.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PavlinaHaklova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarburg, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

The staff make you feel like a guest in their house rather than a customer. Everyone-- the front desk receptionist, the porter, the waitstaff, the bartenders, housekeeping-- LITERALLY EVERYONE we interacted with at the hotel greeted us with a warm smile and asked if/how they can help us. It was miles away from the customer service you get at the big corporate chain hotels.

The property itself is beautiful. Seemingly everything is stone, wood, or wrought iron. No cheap plastic or cold modern industrial stainless steel here. The place looks old without feeling old. Everything is very clean and well-maintained. I loved coming out of our room in the morning and the first thing we see is a the large, open-air atrium in the center of the hotel.

We stayed in a Queen Vista room on the fourth floor with a beautiful view of the bay. The bed was comfortable.

The complimentary coffee, tea, and bottled water on the 3rd floor was very much appreciated and always well-stocked. The coffee was delicious and there was a nice variety of teas.

The location, right in the middle of Old San Juan, was perfect. We could walk to both castles (which are a must see for the views, if nothing else!) as well as to a nice variety of restaurants and shops. The front desk was able to set us up with a tour of the El Yunque rainforest and a trip to the beach for very reasonable rates.

We will definitely be back again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington,DC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We spent 4 nights at El Convento- a small boutique hotel in Old San Juan. Great, quiet rooms, very clean and comfy. Excellent, safe location, close to Fort El Morro. It was worth every penny. I was concerned that the wedding in the lobby/ restaurant would be too loud and interfere with our stay, but rooms are perfectly insulated and isolated, so there was absolutely no noise getting through. One of my favorite things was to sit on the terrace and enjoy the wine and cheese offered every evening to hotel guests. Or simply sit there with a cup of coffee and enjoy the view. I would like to go back to El Convento.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
2.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
2.2 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,780 reviews
12.0 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
2.0 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
20.0 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Convento

Property: Hotel El Convento
Address: 100 Cristo St | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Juan
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#1 Business Hotel in San Juan
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel El Convento 4.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Old San Juan, Hotel El Convento has set new standards of luxury, comfort and service while preserving the rich character of this former 16th century convent. This landmark treasure, a member of Historic Hotels of America and Small Luxury Hotels of the World, has earned four diamonds from AAA each year since its opening. This is the exclusive hotel experience to indulge the most discriminating of travelers, and is a hotel like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel El Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Convento San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing