We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Old San Juan
from $40.00
More Info
from $95.00
More Info
from $107.98
More Info
from $103.69
More Info
Reviews (14,648)
Filter reviews
12,493 results
Traveler rating
8,965
2,847
554
81
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8,965
2,847
554
81
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cobblestone streets colorful buildings old city beautiful city souvenir shops great shopping free trolley every corner street vendors walk around historic sites el morro great place to visit cruise ship wear comfortable shoes walking tour lots of history
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 12,493 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised. didnt know what to expect but very cosy streets, good vibes, colorful city, amazing view from el.moro national site!

1  Thank 540charlotteb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago

Most visitors take the trolley or a cab to get to the forts, but they are missing the wonderful sights and historic buildings. The cobblestones in the streets came over as ballast on the ships as far back as the times of Columbus, so take the time to enjoy the beautiful city.

1  Thank JustDriving71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago

It's the kind of place where you could walk around for days and just enjoy all the buildings, shops, restaurants etc.
A GREAT little town that's perfect for you to enjoy life and feel alive. :)

1  Thank MagnusB72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Amazed by the streets en colorful houses. We want to come back soon. Great food and drinks all around the city.

1  Thank WouterC102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

It’s a lot of walking to get to the fort but the scenery was beautiful. The streets are beautiful but steep in sports. It was a workout in the sun. We should have taken a cab to where we wanted to go and walked back, it was more downhill. The streets are beautiful and shops were quaint and had lots of things to browse. Love this town.

Thank jackandpatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago

Very cool place to visit with lots of food options. Nice place to walk around the town and shops. Parking can be expensive and crowded in parking garages.

Thank jtr803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Nice view , friendly people everywhere . I went there night time and It was ok , but day time is better . Can appreciate the view , the colors and the artist on the street , even we saw a artisan market ..

1  Thank llasaeventos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago

Old San Juan is a must-see, but be warned - park on the street and you'll be ticketed. We found on-street parking on a Saturday, checked for no-parking signs, saw we were parked inside the yellow lines, and went on our way. When we came back to the car we saw we had a ticket - the meter maid was close by so I asked her why and she brought me to the no-parking sign which was against a building, and hidden by a tree. Completely hidden. I tried to explain that it's impossible to see, but she wouldn't budge. We ended up having to pay the $250 parking fine, which soured the experience and makes me not want to go back anytime soon. It felt like a tourist scam.

Thank Chililizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

If history is your bag, old San Juan is a must to visit. So much history right in San Juan.

This was their main defence from enemies of the people of Puerto Rico.

There are tours and information for visitors as well as guides. The fort is well preserved and taken care of as this is such an important part of their history.

Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Nice atmosphere
Historic place
Free trolley with two different routes
Close to the fort, is a street with restaurants, really good mexican food
Lots of shops who sell gems

Worth a day spending in old San Juan

Thank 475maritab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews