We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming, centrally located, professional staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
CasaBlanca Hotel
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Margaretville, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming, centrally located, professional staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

We enjoyed our too-short stay here so much that we are already considering staying here longer for our next trip to PR!

We love Old San Juan and worked it in to our vacation plans again this year. We saw this hotel and found it charming, so we booked. We were not disappointed! The Casablanca movie theme is prevalent throughout the hotel and the movie is playing on screens and walls in the common areas downstairs all day. It was a quirky attraction that we enjoyed quite a bit.

The room was a bit smallish but very comfortable and VERY clean! The bed was great, sheets and towels were soft, and the balcony was a nice escape. We didn't have a great view, per se, but it was nice to relax a while with a nice breeze. We could see down the street as people shopped and we could see the stars at night.

We peeked in to a few of the other rooms while they were being turned-over by housekeeping and some are larger and there are two-bedroom suites as well.

There is a wonderful rooftop space with chaise lounges and some over-sized bathtubs! We did not have the time for a soak but we considered it. Must be nice after a long day of walking around OSJ to soak below the stars!

The customer service was an equal part of what made our stay here such a delight. Always friendly; always helpful; everyone was knowledgeable about the hotel, the area, and Puerto Rico overall. We felt like we were the only ones in the hotel (even though it was obvious we were not). Every employee went so far out of their way for us that we FELT like we were the only guests! This level of customer service is a rarity in most places but it was so wonderful to experience it here. I wish I could give more than five stars for service!

NOTE: The hotel is being upgraded and there was some work going on during the day. We were told of this ahead of time and it was NOT a big deal! Work ended around 2 - 3:00 in the afternoon and it was never inconvenient to us. It was nice to see that they were invested in making the place even better. The day we left, the room next door was being painted... i didn't think it needed to be painted, but apparently the hotel did!

The hotel currently has no elevator but they are working on that! They have lower floor rooms available if necessary. Otherwise it's a schlep up the beautiful marble steps. The bellman eagerly helped with the luggage!

Room Tip: We preferred a room with a balcony. Some rooms have windows that look out over the courtyard. They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce O, Manager at CasaBlanca Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Hello Jason,

Thank you so much for your raving review! We are both thrilled and with an immense sense of achievement. Our entire team works very hard to be where we are today, it is the sense that no one is perfect but can do better with love and perseverance. Everything is done better when service comes from the heart.

As the Hollywood movie quotes: "This is the beginning of a beautiful friendship" we hope to see you and your friends back sometime in the near future.

All the best,
Joyce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    281
    82
    27
    16
See reviews for
126
553
26
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

I booked this hotel without really knowing what to expect but was surprised at the high price. Upon arriving though, I fell in love. We were travelling with our two children (aged 5 and 7) and had a two room suite. The view from the balcony was lovely, overlooking the street. The rooms were clean and large. The hotel has a perfect location in Old town San Juan. There is a free trolley tour of San Juan if you are interested, ask at reception. The food and drinks at the bar were tasty and we enjoyed our breakfast here as well. There is a free computer with internet access in the lobby for guests use and the hotel would hold your bags on the date of departure in case you wanted some more time in San Juan. The hotel is eclectically but tastefully decorated. Next time I am in San Juan I would definitely say here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canada098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Indiana
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

My wife and I stayed her on the first night of our honeymoon before our cruise. We stayed here because we really enjoy staying in locally owned hotels, and this was awesome. When we checked in Miguel greeted us, and acknowledged that we were on our honeymoon. He helped us up to our 4th floor room. There is no elevator, but we were prepared as we saw that on the website. When we went in our room we had rose petals in the shape of a heart, two towel animals, a note from the hotel, and soft flickering LED candles, a very nice touch. Our king room was very cozy and cute. We had a frosted window that opened up to the hallway, and an amazing bathroom. We decided to skip breakfast in there hotel since it was a buffet for $19.99. Even though you get a 20% discount, we opted for a local place about two blocks down from the hotel. If you need a place to stay in Old San Juan, this is the place!!

Room Tip: Road was closed in front of hotel. Taxi dropped us off about 2 blocks away and we had to walk. Not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MattW0329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Oregon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed here with another couple for our pre cruise hotel. We choose it because of it's quirky, artsy, uniqueness as well as we wanted in Old San Juan.

Check in was easy enough, I could see if multiple people checked in at once that it cause a wait problem as there is only 1 person for the front. It is an older building so no elevator which was fine as they did have a someone that could help with the bags to our room. We stayed on the 3rd floor. But we were more then able to do it ourselves too. We did find it funny that people still complained about no elevators there. It clearly says it on their website as well if you read any reviews!!

The king room while tiny was functional and so cute! Could use a bit more counter space in the bathroom but I worked around that. I could see if your are a couple of larger portions that walking around the bed would be difficult. I am only 5'2" and some what petitie so it was easy enough to slide between the the bed and hutch but my husband 6' pretty fit squeezed sideways between the two. For us too, it worked and thought it was very romantic looking with the netting framing the bed.

The tubs upstairs are worth checking out...if not for the view. It's a walk up the 6 flights of stairs. I'm not sure who really uses the tubs except maybe honeymooners?! ;)

The restaurant/bar...it didn't open later but they opened the bar up for our friends who were waiting for us. I thought that was really nice of them. The breakfast buffet was interesting had some salty but tastey soups and your normal fruit, bread, etc. We only got the basic buffet as you can also get the full buffet. Basic was enough for me.

Overall the people were so nice there and we really just enjoyed talking to the bartender. We would definately go back here to stay!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank troyandkaylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Everything from when you walk through the door makes you want to stay a moment longer and cherish the moment. My daughter was working on a movie and she arranged a special room for one of the actresses. Everything was perfect! The suite was perfectly tended to with the most amazing bed scarves and pillows that even had their logo on them! It was like they paid attention to every detail... We were told the actress even took a bubble bath with champagne on the roof under the stars with her date! How amazing!!! The front desk was their 100% of the time to help with any logistics that came up and even let them keep some of their gear in a storage facility. The one on one attention and care was truly exceptional. For anyone that comes in to town I will recommend The Casablanca Hotel for sure!

Room Tip: The Suite with a Balcony overlooking Fortaleza St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TerriElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

I have stayed in this hotel twice. It has the best prices of any hotel in Old San Juan. Both times I had a balcony on Calle Fortaleza, and both times the room was great. Just remember that you are not staying in a 5 star hotel.

Service was excellent during my first stay (January 2011), but the hotel changed ownership before my second stay (January 2012) and the service was not as good. Friends we were travelling with got locked out of their room on the top floor (a guest in another room locked the passage door). The problem was nobody in the hotel knew where the key for the door was. They had to stay in another room without access to their belongings.

So I have mixed feelings about this hotel. I would try staying there again.

Room Tip: Spend the extra to get a balcony room, but be aware there can be street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a historical building. There is no elevator and no pool or fitness center. There are five bath tubs on the roof terrace which is six flights up and a good workout.
That being said the free trolley can drop you off right in front of a nice beach (no lifeguards) that is perfect for cooling off. Not the best for swimming due to a sometimes strong under current. A mile hike down the road from here can take you to escambron beach which is better for swimming but much more populated.
Back to the hotel, the bed was perfect and very comfortable after long days exploring Old San Juan. Breakfast was not included but guests get 20 percent off and was pretty good. Staff was very nice and helpful. The shower was very large but in a seperate but adjacent room from the sink and toilet.Nice large television to watch before falling asleep.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miller1081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
2.5 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,613 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#12 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hyatt House San Juan
Hyatt House San Juan
#8 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CasaBlanca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasaBlanca Hotel

Property: CasaBlanca Hotel
Address: 316 Fortaleza St. | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — CasaBlanca Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Elevator is up and running! CasaBlanca is a Boutique Hotel with 32 guestrooms with a lot of character and a personalized experience. We want you to love San Juan as much as we do by making sure your stay is pleasant and memorable. The structure is Spanish from the 1900's therefore rooms are mid to small sized, air conditioned and impeccable. Our beds are comfortable and equipped with microfiber linens and Hypoallergenic pillows, our bathrooms are small but private and unique, with amenities from the organic brand - Archive. Please ask front desk for complimentary items you might have forgotten to pack. Also available are: steamer, hairdryer, in room coffee maker and ice machine in lobby. Our Sun Deck offers guests a memorable experience with magical views of Old San Juan, watch the cruises as they disappear into the bay or enjoy the historical views of San Cristobal Fort next to the open Caribbean Sea. From tanning to reading, enjoy our comfortable lounge chairs, as well as our stone bathtubs provided for a deep relaxation in fresh water at your own desired temperature and time as it is open 24 hrs. Everything from our menu is available with one quick call to guest services from our service phone. Still worried about catching up with friends and family or posting your recent vacation pictures online, or maybe send a late work related email, not a problem, our high speed Internet is available everywhere in Hotel grounds. We are a smoke free, environmentally friendly, historically preserved Hotel where you will find a smiley face where ever you go! Cafe Americain conveniently located in the lobby serves a delicious breakfast every morning from 8 - 12 pm while streaming our favorite Hollywood movie CasaBlanca. Restaurant hours are 8am - 10pm Wed to Sun and 8am-11am for Mon to Tue. Offers a lunch menu selection of local cuisine as well as light options as sandwiches and salads. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your CasaBlanca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing