We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Boutique Hotel in the heart of Old San Juan”
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
CasaBlanca Hotel
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Wife and I stayed here one night post cruise on Super Bowl Sunday. Easy walk from the cruise ship pier. As mentioned on their website and reviews there is no elevator but the front desk will help get your bags upstairs and down. Just be sure to tip the young man. We had a queen bed room, room 4C I think. The room is small by today's standards and if you are of the plus size your gonna feel a little cramped. But as with Real Estate, the three words that best describe this hotel is Location, Location, Location. You are right on Fortaleza street with an easy walk to everywhere in Old San Juan. Awesome, can't beat it.

When we got off the cruise ship we walked to the hotel dragging our bags along and got to the hotel. No issues with storing our backs from mid morning until we could check in that afternoon. They had already moved a couple of our bags up by the time we returned at 3:30 in the afternoon. The young man working that afternoon was working hard, I gave him a good tip considering he helps with luggage non-stop up and down those stairs. The minute he hears the clunking of a suitcase coming down the stairs he bounds up the stairs to help. I hope they pay him well, he deserves every penny and he got a good tip from me that's for sure.

The only "real" issue we had was in the morning we had to leave for the airport at 545am, we advised the lady the day before and she noted the time down and said they would have a cab arranged. We got downstairs at 530 and desk clerk was not around, a note was left with the phone saying to call the phone number for help. I called, just rang and rang no answer and desk clerk no where to be found. I knew we were 15 minutes early coming down but I would think someone would be around. About ten minutes later he emerged from a back room. Poor kid looked like he was asleep (having worked graveyards before I can be empathetic). He called for a cab and we made it to the airport no problems but had caused us a little concern for 10-15 minutes. If you're going to leave a phone # to call while you take a little snooze, at least answer it, Ha!

I won't downgrade the property for that because we are all human. I give it 4/5 stars simply because of the size of the room and no elevator but that is not the owner/operators fault, just the way the building is designed because its old. As a father of 3 children I would not stay here with kids, its just not a place for kids. I would definitely recommend this place for adults.

Room Tip: Stay on a lower floor if you don't like stairs
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sbnuggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (961)
There are newer reviews for CasaBlanca Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

731 - 737 of 961 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2014

This hotel is in the heart of Old San Juan. The staff was wonderful in every aspect. Everything is close from here. The trolley is pretty much right outside, cabs are easy to get, but if you wanted to just walk around, you could.
Only downfall is that they have no elevator. We were on the 4th floor in a VERY nice room. Not real big but everything you would need. They do offer help with your bags. When I return to San Juan I will book this hotel again

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevwat63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Room was very small and basic: no coffeemaker, fridge, hairdryer (bathroom too small for it LOL), no window to outside (and, ergo , no streetnoise. But great location and super nice staff in very gift, funky (Casablancaish) lobby. But skip the breakfast in the lobby for a while - they have new owners and it will need a bit of time until it works. Breakfast was not fun. But that can change with some work :-)

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Helga H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

This hotel is well located to visit the sites of old San Juan, Puerto Rico. And if I were a bicyclist I would be giving this hotel 5-stars, but I'm not a bicyclist. One morning half of the tables in the restaurant were inaccessible due to bicycles leaning against the tables and chairs... so much for breakfast.
Our room was 2F, on the second floor. The room had no windows and the walls were paper thin so that you could here conversations from the adjoining rooms.
One night the front desk attendant became unavailable and we were locked out of the hotel for almost half an hour banging on the front door trying to get his attention, wherever he might have been.
Price, location, cleanliness and a reasonably comfortable bed were the pluses for this hotel.

Room Tip: Remember, this is a five story hotel and no elevator.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delMar13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce O, Manager at CasaBlanca Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear DelMar3,

Thank you so much for your review! We are so disappointed our visitors from La Vuelta PR with their bicycles and tools made you down grade us from 5 to 2 stars. We certainly hope to give every guest the most welcoming experience and understand completely how this can be an inconvenience.

We have targeted who our midnight attendant was and we will make sure he receives proper training on guest service experience so this does not happen again in the future. We will also look into noise coming from adjoining room as there might be a fake wall somewhere that we can soundproof.

Thank you so much and we hope to see you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed in a 2nd floor balcony room the night before a cruise. The hotel staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. The room, while very small, was also very clean. It was fun to stand on the balcony and see the streets of Old San Juan. While there is no elevator, the staff will assist carrying your bags to your room. If you are the type who likes to stay in a newer, modern hotel, this is not the place for you. If, however, you want to experience authentic Old San Juan, this place will do the trick. The location is the best thing about this hotel. It is right in the middle of Old San Juan. You can walk to many bars and restaurants in a matter of minutes. Old San Juan is very clean and we felt very safe everywhere we went. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice place to stay in Old San Juan.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank WilliamOmaha O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

The rooms are small and yes, there are no elevators. However, the hotel is located within walking distance of all of old San Juan. Other positives include comfortable beds, terrific view at night from the roof, friendly staff, and all the reminders of a great movie. So, pack light, look at the stairs as built in exercise, and enjoy the wonderful Casablanca ambiance.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for a larger room.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We booked the Casablanca for a 3 night stay precruise. This is a very nicely decorated boutique hotel. Yes it has no elevator. Staff will help if you need it. Everyone who works at Casablanca was super helpful. Our room was small but clean and we really enjoyed the balcony.

We had breakfast in the restaurant a few mornings and it was very good. Portions were decent. We enjoyed the fruit and yogurt as well as the oatmeal.

Wonderful location and accommodations! Love being in the heart of OSJ. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: If you can not do the stairs, ask for a room on a lower floor.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cruisin_kls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
2.5 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,758 reviews
2.5 mi away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 47 in San Juan
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
2.1 mi away
Ciqala Luxury Suites
Ciqala Luxury Suites
#12 of 47 in San Juan
880 reviews
0.3 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 47 in San Juan
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CasaBlanca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasaBlanca Hotel

Address: 316 Fortaleza St. | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range: $101 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — CasaBlanca Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Elevator is up and running! CasaBlanca is a Boutique Hotel with 32 guestrooms with a lot of character and a personalized experience. We want you to love San Juan as much as we do by making sure your stay is pleasant and memorable. The structure is Spanish from the 1900's therefore rooms are mid to small sized, air conditioned and impeccable. Our beds are comfortable and equipped with microfiber linens and Hypoallergenic pillows, our bathrooms are small but private and unique, with amenities from the organic brand - Archive. Please ask front desk for complimentary items you might have forgotten to pack. Also available are: steamer, hairdryer, in room coffee maker and ice machine in lobby. Our Sun Deck offers guests a memorable experience with magical views of Old San Juan, watch the cruises as they disappear into the bay or enjoy the historical views of San Cristobal Fort next to the open Caribbean Sea. From tanning to reading, enjoy our comfortable lounge chairs, as well as our stone bathtubs provided for a deep relaxation in fresh water at your own desired temperature and time as it is open 24 hrs. Everything from our menu is available with one quick call to guest services from our service phone. Still worried about catching up with friends and family or posting your recent vacation pictures online, or maybe send a late work related email, not a problem, our high speed Internet is available everywhere in Hotel grounds. We are a smoke free, environmentally friendly, historically preserved Hotel where you will find a smiley face where ever you go! Cafe Americain conveniently located in the lobby serves a delicious breakfast every morning from 8 - 12 pm while streaming our favorite Hollywood movie CasaBlanca. Restaurant hours are 8am - 10pm Wed to Sun and 8am-11am for Mon to Tue. Offers a lunch menu selection of local cuisine as well as light options as sandwiches and salads. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your CasaBlanca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing