We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great - unless you're light sensitive”
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
CasaBlanca Hotel
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great - unless you're light sensitive”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Terrific location, charmingly decorated, quiet (away from street side ... across the hall not so much), nice staff, good value breakfast, but beware to those who are light sensitive. Some rooms have a 7'x2' window to an interior open area that is lighted until 11pm and lets the sun in as soon as it rises. Also, our king room on the 3rd floor had a 2'x2' window with glazed glass to the hallway where the light is never turned off. Rearranging pictures and a mirror and hanging/stacking suitcases/clothing solved the problem for me, but it was a hassle. Also, be sure to look at your reservation on checking in - we were handed someone else's room ( with a queen bed vice the king I paid for).

Room Tip: Specify sensitivity to light before locking into a room ... there are only so many in the hotel, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank siestanow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    290
    83
    27
    17
See reviews for
132
581
29
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We arrived here at about 10pm to be told that our room was not available as the air con was not working. To the hotel's credit they had found a solution and we were informed that we were being accommodated in one of the overflow rooms across the street (fortaleza suites). But the first room we were taken to had no working air con, the second was really hot, had two beds and no window and so we were given a two bed suite. Although that may seem a good deal, we were not too pleased as we were outside the hotel and the suite was not serviced. So we were disappointed especially as the hotel and staff seemed so friendly. As a result we cannot really review the hotel or its facilties as we did not use them.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ros T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce O, Manager at CasaBlanca Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Ron,

We are so very sorry you did not have the opportunity to stay with us. We were so worried about you and your accommodations. We fully understand your disappointment with the apartments in front as they are just up and coming and not fully setup as a hotel as of yet. Fortaleza Suites is both conveniently located and very very clean. And in the near future they will be fully booked I am sure.

We were able to fix the air conditioning unit but not without much labor and patience. Can you imagine, just at the peak of the season where everyone is getting ready for vacation!

Please contact us directly next time for a special upgrade!

Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luquillo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for one night and let me assure you, the hotel is as perfect as it can get. We arrived close to noon and we were welcomed by a warm and friendly staff, checking was a breeze and our room was a gem, king size bed, flat screen tv and wifi, we had a perfect night sleep. The next morning we had breakfast which was delicious and very, very affordable.

We will be staying there again and it will be recommended.

Thanks to Rafael and Joyce for your hospitality.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank costabrava773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesboro, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Gorgeous hotel in the center of Old San Juan. Lots of shops and restaurants nearby. My husband and I stayed for our honeymoon and intend on coming back annually. After we got in, apparently there was a miscommunication between front desk and the rest of the staff because 2 staff members attempted to enter our room. The front desk immediately rectified the situation by providing a complementary bottle of champagne!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lekbla20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Stayed at Casablanca for our 1st cruise departing from Puerto Rico. Hotel is in Old San Juan, a favorite spot of mine since childhood. Located a short walk from most attractions in Old San Juan like fine restaurants, bars and historical sites. The road was being re-done at the time so we had to put up with some construction, obviously not their fault. The hotel itself is no frills. Our room was on the third floor (no elevator), but help was provided by the front desk getting our luggage up the stairs. If you don't mind stairs, the hotel will be just fine for you. Our room had no windows, which didnt matter since we spent very little time there. Overall the accomodations served their intended purpose of our visit and did it well. Hotel was clean, we had a little problem getting our room changed over one day and we brought it up and it was corrected. The front desk staff was helpful for the most part. Noise levels were normal. The decor was latin inspired and was cozy and welcoming. The reservations were honored without any issues and check in and out was pretty painless. Again, the main issue was the road repairs and we just worked around that. Old San Juan did not disappoint us, we had a great time. The area can be somewhat iffy at night, they need to increase police presence since I felt unsafe a couple of times with the itinerant troupe of panhandlers and assorted vagabonds that come out in certain areas at night. The area immediately around the hotel is well lit and safe. Some areas of Old San Juan consist of poorly lit alleyways we stayed clear away from. They don't call it "Old San Juan" for nothing. Like with any place, stay in the populated, well lit areas and you'll be fine. We didn't drive, we walked everywhere. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Lower floor room if you don't like stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingBugman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

This hotel was amazing. Parking was kind of a nightmare but that isn't their fault. The guy at the front desk let us know where the best/cheapest place was to park overnight so we didn't get reamed by the expensive garage. The room was on the smaller side but it was clean and beautifully decorated. The lobby so cute and they had a projector playing Casablanca on the wall, we loved it and we bummed that we were only staying one night. It's perfectly located in old san juan nearby lots of restaurants and El Morro. We'll definitely be booking again on our next trip to Puerto Rico.

My only negative was that there was a weird door to some empty space that was set up in the wall and it kept the room really bright while we slept because the room was separated by a glass door. We had no idea what it was or why it was there. Plus it's stairs only but we were on the 3rd floor so it wasn't bad.

Room Tip: Try to get a lower floor, it's stairs only!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Level Contributor
148 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

This hotel is in an outstanding location. It's within walking distance to the cruise ships and it was a $25.00 taxi to the airport. The construction on the street is finished so that wasn't a problem with the noise.

The hotel has excellent character and charm. We stayed in room 5D and yes they are very small but adequate. As stated in an earlier review not any smaller than a room in Europe. The rooms are very basic. No blow dryer in room, but they do have a T.V, phone and free WiFi that will work in your room. If you travel with a lot of bags you would have a space problem. I saw one room that kept their bags in the hallway.

The roof top terrance could be absolutely amazing, with the view, but at this moment it looks more like a storage area. It also has much trash and litter scattered about. They have 5 large tubs out there that you could actually use.

They front desk was always very pleasant and helpful. If the size room didn't matter on our next trip would stay their again.

Room Tip: If walking stairs due to no elevator matters to you pick a lower level
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheri J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
2.5 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 48 in San Juan
2,691 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
0.3 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 48 in San Juan
203 reviews
1.8 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 48 in San Juan
6,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CasaBlanca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasaBlanca Hotel

Property: CasaBlanca Hotel
Address: 316 Fortaleza St. | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — CasaBlanca Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Elevator is up and running! CasaBlanca is a Boutique Hotel with 32 guestrooms with a lot of character and a personalized experience. We want you to love San Juan as much as we do by making sure your stay is pleasant and memorable. The structure is Spanish from the 1900's therefore rooms are mid to small sized, air conditioned and impeccable. Our beds are comfortable and equipped with microfiber linens and Hypoallergenic pillows, our bathrooms are small but private and unique, with amenities from the organic brand - Archive. Please ask front desk for complimentary items you might have forgotten to pack. Also available are: steamer, hairdryer, in room coffee maker and ice machine in lobby. Our Sun Deck offers guests a memorable experience with magical views of Old San Juan, watch the cruises as they disappear into the bay or enjoy the historical views of San Cristobal Fort next to the open Caribbean Sea. From tanning to reading, enjoy our comfortable lounge chairs, as well as our stone bathtubs provided for a deep relaxation in fresh water at your own desired temperature and time as it is open 24 hrs. Everything from our menu is available with one quick call to guest services from our service phone. Still worried about catching up with friends and family or posting your recent vacation pictures online, or maybe send a late work related email, not a problem, our high speed Internet is available everywhere in Hotel grounds. We are a smoke free, environmentally friendly, historically preserved Hotel where you will find a smiley face where ever you go! Cafe Americain conveniently located in the lobby serves a delicious breakfast every morning from 8 - 12 pm while streaming our favorite Hollywood movie CasaBlanca. Restaurant hours are 8am - 10pm Wed to Sun and 8am-11am for Mon to Tue. Offers a lunch menu selection of local cuisine as well as light options as sandwiches and salads. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your CasaBlanca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing