We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT LOCATION”
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
CasaBlanca Hotel
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
arizona
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT LOCATION”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

This hotel is in an outstanding location. It's within walking distance to the cruise ships and it was a $25.00 taxi to the airport. The construction on the street is finished so that wasn't a problem with the noise.

The hotel has excellent character and charm. We stayed in room 5D and yes they are very small but adequate. As stated in an earlier review not any smaller than a room in Europe. The rooms are very basic. No blow dryer in room, but they do have a T.V, phone and free WiFi that will work in your room. If you travel with a lot of bags you would have a space problem. I saw one room that kept their bags in the hallway.

The roof top terrance could be absolutely amazing, with the view, but at this moment it looks more like a storage area. It also has much trash and litter scattered about. They have 5 large tubs out there that you could actually use.

They front desk was always very pleasant and helpful. If the size room didn't matter on our next trip would stay their again.

Room Tip: If walking stairs due to no elevator matters to you pick a lower level
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheri J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    293
    84
    27
    14
See reviews for
138
586
31
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

My husband & I stayed here 5/2013. It was a great experience. The rooms clean, hotel staff very helpful. The breakfast at the cafe is amazing. We ate there everyday. Great views from the rooftop patio. No elevator for the upper levels. Can be noisy at night from street parties.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
all over, currently NYC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We have been looking forward to our stay in Old San Juan for months and we were more than pleasantly surprised by the hospitality and cool décor. The hotel is super centrally located and since it was raining a lot, we were able to leave our luggage in the hotel after check-out and even borrow umbrellas. We'll be back for sure! Gracias!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weltenbummler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

The above would be an appropriate name for this hotel. My wife and I stayed here for a night and we were so glad that it was over the next day.
Feeling like we are finally out of a prison cell.
Here are the pros and cons.

The good:

- location - old san juan and restaurants are close by and walkable

- Flat screen tv with directtv in the room

- Exotic and quirky decor if you like it

- Fairly clean room.

The bad:

- The room is the size of a prison cell.
- Very laid back staff. We waited for 30 min before check-in.
- No ironing board.
- No tissues
- No hair drier.
- No elevators and steep stairs.
- Noisy air conditioner.
- Road blocked due to construction and had to drag my luggage for about 10 min to get to the entrance.
- Can hear the other person in the adjacent room
- Transparent glass offering a clear view into the toilet from the room.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank najoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce O, Manager at CasaBlanca Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Naveen,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We were confused, almost believed you had mistaken us with another Hotel when we first read your comments. We respectfully accept all comments and apologize for your discomfort. We will work on all the details we can to make future guests more comfortable.

I apologize we were not able to provide you with a complimentary early check-in as we were fully booked the night before. We fully understand traveling is tiresome and specially when traveling from so far away.

For future guests; please request for an iron, iron board and hair dryer at front desk by dialing 0 from your room. We also have complimentary amenities should you forget something from home. This includes but is not limited to: toothbrush, tooth paste, comb, razors, amongst others. Please remember we offer complimentary high speed WiFi in your room as well!

Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

This hotel is absolutely amazing! The location is the first thing that anyone can appreciate, right in the heart of Old San Juan just minutes away (walking) from local restaurants and attractions. The rooms are small but oh so cozy! And the staff is just wonderful. I foolishly left my glasses in the room when checking out and got on my flight home without realizing until I landed back in the states. When I called, housekeeping had already found them and they promised to mail them out in the morning back to me. Just received them today! Amazing service!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tyler W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce O, Manager at CasaBlanca Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Hello Tyler,

Thank you for your wonderful review! It really means the world to us to read such great anecdotes from your stay and the service you received at CasaBlanca. We are delighted that we were able to get your glasses back to you and that you had a great time in Puerto Rico. Please continue to spread the world about your new home away from home.

Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

CasaBlanca Hotel is a fantastic deal right in the heart of Old San Juan! I was looking for a hotel that had some local flair (i.e. not the casino hotel where all of the cruisers stay) and CasaBlanca fit the bill. The rooms are quite small, but nothing out of the ordinary if you have stayed in any hotels in Europe. Like others have said, there is some construction going on outside, but I did not find it distracting. There are some fantastic restaurants right around the corner, I highly recommend Toro Salao for their tapas and amazing mojitos! The rooftop area was not all that special and I think with a little TLC, it could be quite the spectacle.

Do not let the other complaints of no elevator deter you from this gem of a hotel. If you are in any sort of decent physical condition, the stairs are not nearly as bad as other reviewers makes them out to be. My husband and I laughed at these complaints during our stay, considering the amount of walking that is done on a daily basis in OSJ, especially stairs-wise at the forts. Like really, you're going to complain about the stairs here?

I loved this hotel and the hospitality helped make our stay in Old San Juan muy bien!

Room Tip: There are four levels of rooms (2-5)....obviously the higher up from 2 you go, the more stairs you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FullOfWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Casablanca Hotel for a total of 4 days during November and December 2013. The first 3 days were prior to a cruise and an extended trip to the island of Vieques and the last day was a farewell to San Juan before heading back home.

As others have stated, the basic rooms are very dark with only a small window opening to the corridor. We opted to pay approx. $20US more each night for a balcony and this was substantially better. There are also some rooms without balconies that open to the outside instead of a hallway, but they are few and far between. The balcony facing the street was a bit noisy in the early morning (due to construction), but the light and patio chairs for enjoying an evening cocktail far outway the disturbance.

The rooftop patio is disappointing, but could be spectacular if the hotel management spruced it up and perhaps offered a cocktail hour a couple of days a week. I think it could be a real money maker (hint, hint!) Otherwise, it's unremarkable and not really worth the trek up the stairs.

Breakfast was adequate the first day but thereafter we ventured out to local places and REAL coffee. Warning***the coffee at the Casablanca left a lot to be desired. However the hotel offers 20% discount to guests dining there so it is worth it.

While in Viejo San Juan:
Do check out the El Convento Hotel. It is beautiful architecture and a great spot for an afternoon cocktail.
Do visit El Morro and the adjacent cemetery. Stunning headstones and infinite views make for a true "Rican" experience.
Do dine at Café Puerto Rico around the corner from the hotel. Good food, unpretentious and honest prices.
Do visit the Botanical Gardens for a wonderful treat.
Do wander the streets with no explicit destination. You will find great shops, cafes and one of a kind photo opportunities.

Buen Viaje!

Room Tip: Spring for a balcony or room with an exterior window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chictraavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
2.5 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,737 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 47 in San Juan
824 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ciqala Luxury Suites
Ciqala Luxury Suites
#12 of 47 in San Juan
864 reviews
6.1 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CasaBlanca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasaBlanca Hotel

Property: CasaBlanca Hotel
Address: 316 Fortaleza St. | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — CasaBlanca Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Elevator is up and running! CasaBlanca is a Boutique Hotel with 32 guestrooms with a lot of character and a personalized experience. We want you to love San Juan as much as we do by making sure your stay is pleasant and memorable. The structure is Spanish from the 1900's therefore rooms are mid to small sized, air conditioned and impeccable. Our beds are comfortable and equipped with microfiber linens and Hypoallergenic pillows, our bathrooms are small but private and unique, with amenities from the organic brand - Archive. Please ask front desk for complimentary items you might have forgotten to pack. Also available are: steamer, hairdryer, in room coffee maker and ice machine in lobby. Our Sun Deck offers guests a memorable experience with magical views of Old San Juan, watch the cruises as they disappear into the bay or enjoy the historical views of San Cristobal Fort next to the open Caribbean Sea. From tanning to reading, enjoy our comfortable lounge chairs, as well as our stone bathtubs provided for a deep relaxation in fresh water at your own desired temperature and time as it is open 24 hrs. Everything from our menu is available with one quick call to guest services from our service phone. Still worried about catching up with friends and family or posting your recent vacation pictures online, or maybe send a late work related email, not a problem, our high speed Internet is available everywhere in Hotel grounds. We are a smoke free, environmentally friendly, historically preserved Hotel where you will find a smiley face where ever you go! Cafe Americain conveniently located in the lobby serves a delicious breakfast every morning from 8 - 12 pm while streaming our favorite Hollywood movie CasaBlanca. Restaurant hours are 8am - 10pm Wed to Sun and 8am-11am for Mon to Tue. Offers a lunch menu selection of local cuisine as well as light options as sandwiches and salads. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your CasaBlanca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing