We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and Comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
CasaBlanca Hotel
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean and Comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

This was our first trip to San Juan and we throughly enjoyed it. After much research we choose the Hotel CasaBlanca due to location to the cruise ship pier. It was a very easy 10 minute walk with luggage to the pier. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful with easy check in and taking our luggage to the room.

There is no elevator and there are 5 stories with about ten rooms per floor. Our room 2c was clean but small. The only complaint we had was that our shower did not produce hot water. I endured it but my wife could not. The sink had hot water so this was apparently simply a problem with the shower valve.

We ate breakfast at the hotel restaurant. It was good and a good value because you get 20% of as a guest. Food in San Juan is more expensive than in Ohio. For example, we walked to Ben & Jerry's and it was $15 for 2 double scoops.

The highlight for us at this hotel was the 5 concrete tubs on the roof. Both nights we were there we went to the roof and filled a tub with hot water and just relaxed. You have an obstructed view of the water but it was still nice to see cruise ships coming and going. We have decided that when we cruise from the San Juan port again we will stay here again.

We do recommend the Hotel CasaBlanca.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rnmvml99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    285
    83
    27
    16
See reviews for
128
564
27
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

From the many previous reviews it is already known about the lack of elevators. The hotel and rooms were small but very artfully decorated. Our room had a horribly strong smell of bleach that was affecting my husband, but the staff was very gracious and changed our location without any hesitation. We also had their breakfast downstairs with a 20% discount and it was the best breakfast I had on our entire trip! The staff was very pleasant.and efficient. Since we were able to embark on the cruise around 1:00p, we just checked out at noon, walked with our suitcases in tow and got in line for the boat. After checking in, we were able to go back to tour San Juan. This worked for a pre-cruise night, but couldn't see us staying here for more than that, but that is more a personal taste for this hotel rather than anything wrong with the hotel.

Room Tip: Eat breakfast here as it was wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
159 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

The hotel is on Fortaleza Street which is currently under construction, but PLEASE don’t let that dissuade you from staying here. The taxis are able to drop you off very close and it really didn’t negatively affect our trip whatsoever. The location is close to so many wonderful restaurants and bars and you can walk to everywhere in Old San Juan from here easily. The building is old which adds to the charm, but also causes some inconveniences. Of course, you should know by now that there isn’t an elevator. Getting your bags to and from your room won’t be an issue because the staff will take it for you. However, if you feel like climbing the stairs will be a problem, you should look elsewhere. The hotel is very upfront about this and would not want a guest to arrive unable to get to their room. As far as I can tell, no 2 rooms are alike. Some are larger, nicer than others. But even a larger room doesn’t have a ton of room, so unfortunately there is not a lot of space for you to put or hang your clothes. I am a light sleeper, and some of the rooms have issues with light coming into the room. This is an issue they are working to resolve and when I told them after our first night, they moved us to a different room.

To continue on that note, the owner Rick is very interested in every guest having a great experience. If you have a problem, there is nothing he and the staff won’t do to fix it. It is impossible for things to run entirely smoothly in an older building, but from what we experienced, that will not be an excuse for you to not receive a good night’s sleep. We appreciate everything the staff did for us during our stay, and that’s what we’ll remember most about the Casablanca.

We had breakfast at the hotel and thought it was great. The Mallorca sandwich was so good, we got 2 “to go” for our trip to the airport the next day. Very affordable too, as hotel guest receive 20% off.

We would certainly stay here again, just ensuring that the room we had didn't have any light issues. The young staff members here, as well as the owners, really stood out for caring about our experience at the hotel. That is not something you can always receive at a larger hotel. I would love to be sitting in the lobby, eating a Mallorca sandwich, watching Casablanca right now.....

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MofromMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

We were going on a cruise leaving out of San Juan and flew in the day before. We were looking for something other than the usual chain hotel and we found it! The road in front of the hotel is being redone so we were dropped off about a block away. The hotel had emailed us ahead of time and made us aware of this and it was no problem. Also, there is no elevator, but we knew that ahead of time also. The hotel brings your luggage to your room for you and also back down when you check out. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The room was small, but clean and comfortable. We were on the 5th floor and there is a nice sitting area at the top of the steps. We did not eat at the restaurant, so I can't comment on that. The hotel is in a great location with lots of restaurants very close by. We were also able to walk to the port the next morning to get on our ship. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pc2425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Husband and I stayed at this super charming & stylish hotel in December 2012. Casa Blanca surprised us in many good ways; super easy to find, well located in the heart of Old Town and with a very helpful & warm staff.
Our room was really cute, spacious & functional. Everything was working perfectly (shower, A.C etc.)
Having a system a la carte, we had an amazing breakfast including egg hollandaise with juice & fruits. Everything was very delicious and well prepared. The staff was just so attentive and warm. They gave us many tips & info about tours and things to do on the island. Needless to say, just booked my stay for December 2014. Woo-hoooo!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danieleconnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We got an awesome rate on this hotel. The location was perfect and the room was comfortable. The rooftop experience was amazing- we drank champagne in the stone tubs overlooking the city. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ufrebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

I was heading for a 2 week stay in Vieques (my 3rd trip there) and this time I wanted to spend some time exploring old San Juan before heading to the island. I wanted a hotel that was within walking distance to the sites I wanted to see, specifically El Morro (the fort) and San Cristobel, as well as the cafes and restaurants. Also since I was here to experience the old city, I wanted a hotel that represented that time period/architecture. After a lot of research I chose CasaBlanca and I was not disappointed. Upon walking in the lobby for the first time I knew I made the right choice. It did not feel like a hotel, it felt like a guest house. The check in process was quick and the staff extremely friendly. In order to retain the authenticity of the architectural structure, there was no elevator (of which I was made aware of through my research). It is also noted on their website during the reservation process. However, our luggage was brought up to our room by a staff member. I had the 2 room suite as I was staying with my daughter and her friend. The room was small but nicely appointed and the beds were SO comfortable. The main room had a small balcony on which we could sit and view the foot traffic below. Also, the roof contained a great sitting area! We went up there on our first night to relax and brought with us some drinks. The view of the entire city and harbor was wonderful.
If you want to enjoy the feel of Old San Juan, this is a great hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
2.5 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,649 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
0.2 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#8 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
1.8 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CasaBlanca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasaBlanca Hotel

Property: CasaBlanca Hotel
Address: 316 Fortaleza St. | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — CasaBlanca Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Elevator is up and running! CasaBlanca is a Boutique Hotel with 32 guestrooms with a lot of character and a personalized experience. We want you to love San Juan as much as we do by making sure your stay is pleasant and memorable. The structure is Spanish from the 1900's therefore rooms are mid to small sized, air conditioned and impeccable. Our beds are comfortable and equipped with microfiber linens and Hypoallergenic pillows, our bathrooms are small but private and unique, with amenities from the organic brand - Archive. Please ask front desk for complimentary items you might have forgotten to pack. Also available are: steamer, hairdryer, in room coffee maker and ice machine in lobby. Our Sun Deck offers guests a memorable experience with magical views of Old San Juan, watch the cruises as they disappear into the bay or enjoy the historical views of San Cristobal Fort next to the open Caribbean Sea. From tanning to reading, enjoy our comfortable lounge chairs, as well as our stone bathtubs provided for a deep relaxation in fresh water at your own desired temperature and time as it is open 24 hrs. Everything from our menu is available with one quick call to guest services from our service phone. Still worried about catching up with friends and family or posting your recent vacation pictures online, or maybe send a late work related email, not a problem, our high speed Internet is available everywhere in Hotel grounds. We are a smoke free, environmentally friendly, historically preserved Hotel where you will find a smiley face where ever you go! Cafe Americain conveniently located in the lobby serves a delicious breakfast every morning from 8 - 12 pm while streaming our favorite Hollywood movie CasaBlanca. Restaurant hours are 8am - 10pm Wed to Sun and 8am-11am for Mon to Tue. Offers a lunch menu selection of local cuisine as well as light options as sandwiches and salads. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your CasaBlanca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing