We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, wonderful staff, tasty breakfast, older building”
Review of CasaBlanca Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
CasaBlanca Hotel
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2013

The hotel is on Fortaleza Street which is currently under construction, but PLEASE don’t let that dissuade you from staying here. The taxis are able to drop you off very close and it really didn’t negatively affect our trip whatsoever. The location is close to so many wonderful restaurants and bars and you can walk to everywhere in Old San Juan from here easily. The building is old which adds to the charm, but also causes some inconveniences. Of course, you should know by now that there isn’t an elevator. Getting your bags to and from your room won’t be an issue because the staff will take it for you. However, if you feel like climbing the stairs will be a problem, you should look elsewhere. The hotel is very upfront about this and would not want a guest to arrive unable to get to their room. As far as I can tell, no 2 rooms are alike. Some are larger, nicer than others. But even a larger room doesn’t have a ton of room, so unfortunately there is not a lot of space for you to put or hang your clothes. I am a light sleeper, and some of the rooms have issues with light coming into the room. This is an issue they are working to resolve and when I told them after our first night, they moved us to a different room.

To continue on that note, the owner Rick is very interested in every guest having a great experience. If you have a problem, there is nothing he and the staff won’t do to fix it. It is impossible for things to run entirely smoothly in an older building, but from what we experienced, that will not be an excuse for you to not receive a good night’s sleep. We appreciate everything the staff did for us during our stay, and that’s what we’ll remember most about the Casablanca.

We had breakfast at the hotel and thought it was great. The Mallorca sandwich was so good, we got 2 “to go” for our trip to the airport the next day. Very affordable too, as hotel guest receive 20% off.

We would certainly stay here again, just ensuring that the room we had didn't have any light issues. The young staff members here, as well as the owners, really stood out for caring about our experience at the hotel. That is not something you can always receive at a larger hotel. I would love to be sitting in the lobby, eating a Mallorca sandwich, watching Casablanca right now.....

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MofromMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (970)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

785 - 791 of 970 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2013

We were going on a cruise leaving out of San Juan and flew in the day before. We were looking for something other than the usual chain hotel and we found it! The road in front of the hotel is being redone so we were dropped off about a block away. The hotel had emailed us ahead of time and made us aware of this and it was no problem. Also, there is no elevator, but we knew that ahead of time also. The hotel brings your luggage to your room for you and also back down when you check out. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The room was small, but clean and comfortable. We were on the 5th floor and there is a nice sitting area at the top of the steps. We did not eat at the restaurant, so I can't comment on that. The hotel is in a great location with lots of restaurants very close by. We were also able to walk to the port the next morning to get on our ship. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pc2425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Husband and I stayed at this super charming & stylish hotel in December 2012. Casa Blanca surprised us in many good ways; super easy to find, well located in the heart of Old Town and with a very helpful & warm staff.
Our room was really cute, spacious & functional. Everything was working perfectly (shower, A.C etc.)
Having a system a la carte, we had an amazing breakfast including egg hollandaise with juice & fruits. Everything was very delicious and well prepared. The staff was just so attentive and warm. They gave us many tips & info about tours and things to do on the island. Needless to say, just booked my stay for December 2014. Woo-hoooo!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danieleconnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We got an awesome rate on this hotel. The location was perfect and the room was comfortable. The rooftop experience was amazing- we drank champagne in the stone tubs overlooking the city. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ufrebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I was heading for a 2 week stay in Vieques (my 3rd trip there) and this time I wanted to spend some time exploring old San Juan before heading to the island. I wanted a hotel that was within walking distance to the sites I wanted to see, specifically El Morro (the fort) and San Cristobel, as well as the cafes and restaurants. Also since I was here to experience the old city, I wanted a hotel that represented that time period/architecture. After a lot of research I chose CasaBlanca and I was not disappointed. Upon walking in the lobby for the first time I knew I made the right choice. It did not feel like a hotel, it felt like a guest house. The check in process was quick and the staff extremely friendly. In order to retain the authenticity of the architectural structure, there was no elevator (of which I was made aware of through my research). It is also noted on their website during the reservation process. However, our luggage was brought up to our room by a staff member. I had the 2 room suite as I was staying with my daughter and her friend. The room was small but nicely appointed and the beds were SO comfortable. The main room had a small balcony on which we could sit and view the foot traffic below. Also, the roof contained a great sitting area! We went up there on our first night to relax and brought with us some drinks. The view of the entire city and harbor was wonderful.
If you want to enjoy the feel of Old San Juan, this is a great hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patty590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed here this week with two friends on a four day trip to explore old town. We had a reasonably priced room on the third floor, nice bed and small bathroom, shower only. No elevator in the hotel but there is someone around to help ladies with heavy bags. Quaint lobby, Bogart on the loop movies of course, 24/7. Free coffee with a small cafe for a decent breakfast, brunch on weekends. Guests enjoy a price reduction.
We always tip daily for the room service, but once had no extra tp, solved that by getting some downstairs, also a miscue left the room undone one day. It was quickly remedied by staff. Overall, very good deal, air in the room was nice after a long hot day of touring, walking. Wear very comfy shoes.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank TopSarge41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

I would have given this place a 10/10 if not for the construction right outside the hotel. But well, this was beyond their control.
The hotel is well designed, the furniture were hand-picked, creating a wonderful feel to the place. A sanctuary amidst the noise and dust outside.
The best part of this hotel has got to be the staff. They were so helpful, going out of the way to assist us. Special mention to Juan and one more spectacled guy (so sorry for not remembering his name). We were so amazed by their hospitality.
If you're visiting old san Juan, this place is a must stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank genhxa2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce O, Manager at CasaBlanca Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Genhxa2707!

Thank you so much for your review, we are very excited about your comments about Juan and other employees. We all take pride and satisfaction in what we do, and you on the other hand make it all worth it with your comments and pleasant visit!

We are so over the construction and it's only been 43 days. Yes, we are counting! Thankfully they have finished pouring concrete entirely in front of the Hotel and have moved to our right side past the intersection. We have had only one complaint from noise on the rooms towards that side of the hotel when they were drilling up the old concrete but that part is over. We are very thankful to all the hard working crew in the construction, and to our San Juan Mayor for tripling up efforts in order to affect tourism the least.

We hope you can visit us again when we are completely beautiful again!

All the best to you in your travels!
CasaBlanca Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
2.5 mi away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 47 in San Juan
844 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ciqala Luxury Suites
Ciqala Luxury Suites
#12 of 47 in San Juan
891 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,769 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#8 of 47 in San Juan
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CasaBlanca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasaBlanca Hotel

Address: 316 Fortaleza St. | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range: $134 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — CasaBlanca Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Elevator is up and running! CasaBlanca is a Boutique Hotel with 32 guestrooms with a lot of character and a personalized experience. We want you to love San Juan as much as we do by making sure your stay is pleasant and memorable. The structure is Spanish from the 1900's therefore rooms are mid to small sized, air conditioned and impeccable. Our beds are comfortable and equipped with microfiber linens and Hypoallergenic pillows, our bathrooms are small but private and unique, with amenities from the organic brand - Archive. Please ask front desk for complimentary items you might have forgotten to pack. Also available are: steamer, hairdryer, in room coffee maker and ice machine in lobby. Our Sun Deck offers guests a memorable experience with magical views of Old San Juan, watch the cruises as they disappear into the bay or enjoy the historical views of San Cristobal Fort next to the open Caribbean Sea. From tanning to reading, enjoy our comfortable lounge chairs, as well as our stone bathtubs provided for a deep relaxation in fresh water at your own desired temperature and time as it is open 24 hrs. Everything from our menu is available with one quick call to guest services from our service phone. Still worried about catching up with friends and family or posting your recent vacation pictures online, or maybe send a late work related email, not a problem, our high speed Internet is available everywhere in Hotel grounds. We are a smoke free, environmentally friendly, historically preserved Hotel where you will find a smiley face where ever you go! Cafe Americain conveniently located in the lobby serves a delicious breakfast every morning from 8 - 12 pm while streaming our favorite Hollywood movie CasaBlanca. Restaurant hours are 8am - 10pm Wed to Sun and 8am-11am for Mon to Tue. Offers a lunch menu selection of local cuisine as well as light options as sandwiches and salads. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your CasaBlanca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing